can some please justify how kharn is not over-powered and broken? - Page 2 - Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums
40k Rules Discussion Post any Warhammer 40k rules queries and discussions here.

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #11 of 42 (permalink) Old 03-29-13, 03:41 PM
Vaz
Senior Member
 
Vaz's Avatar
Vaz's Flag is: United Kingdom
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Manchester, UK.
Posts: 12,830
Reputation: 79
Default

If you think Kharn's bad, have you come up against the Biker/Juggerlord (with Daemon allies) yet? He makes Kharn seem merely adequate.



100% free webcam site! | Awesome chicks and it is absolutely free! | Watch free live sex cam - easy as 1-2-3

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bindi Baji View Post
It's not a black and white question really, there are different shades of anal probing,
a rectum spectrum, if you will

Last edited by DeathKlokk; 03-29-13 at 03:51 PM.
Vaz is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #12 of 42 (permalink) Old 03-29-13, 06:51 PM
Senior Member
Iniquity's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 197
Reputation: 1
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by troybuckle View Post
Also, he has internal warrior of some shit and he can't be insta killed by force weapons like bone swords
Sorry, Kharn does not have Eternal Warrior.
Iniquity is offline  
post #13 of 42 (permalink) Old 03-29-13, 07:08 PM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
troybuckle's Avatar
troybuckle's Flag is: Canada
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Goose Bay, Labrador Canada
Posts: 1,177
Reputation: 23
Default

Ok, but he can not be insta killed by a force weapon.
troybuckle is offline  
 
post #14 of 42 (permalink) Old 03-29-13, 07:17 PM
Senior Member
 
Fallen's Avatar
Fallen's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Ohio
Posts: 3,689
Reputation: 19
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by troybuckle View Post
Ok, but he can not be insta killed by a force weapon.
true, good thing that boneswords are not force weapons. (although it has been forever that i have played with my nids). It just says that the character takes a LD check and if he fails is ID'd.

edit: so basically your bitching about a T4 non EW character with a 3+/5++, either send in some LW&BS warriors to his unit and watch him cry, or just shoot the hell out of him.

Quote:
Originally Posted by neilbatte
if you squint the Sigmar stuff doesn't all look like the love children from a Necron and Blood Angel orgy.
Fallen is offline  
post #15 of 42 (permalink) Old 03-29-13, 07:55 PM
Senior Moderator
 
darkreever's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: New Jersey, little ways out of NYC
Posts: 6,992
Reputation: 25
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by troybuckle View Post
AS you can see from above he took out 7 (including 3 MC's) units on fine with only 5 body guards.
Of the seven units Kharn and his buddies took care of, the first unit charged them in cover.

They then charge a mawloc, something that should be expected to die when charged by a dedicated close combat unit like that. Yeah it has a lot of wounds, but low attacks, low weapon skill, and moderate initiative do not mean it can take the likes of them on, not when they are led by a unit champion or Kharn.

The gaunts are little more than a speedbump, the tervigon (low the mawloc) has no right assaulting that unit.

Of all seven units that got charged or charged, only the hive tyrant had any chance to decimate those six models and it either sounds like some bad rolling came your way, or your friend pulled a big one over on you.

Speaking of which:
Quote:
Originally Posted by troybuckle View Post
Also, i think my buddy might have fucked me over a little with the rules as well. Like he didn't tell me that he had to auto challenge my tyrant
Its the champion of chaos rule that their unit champions and leaders all have. Where other characters and leaders have the option of picking and choosing those fights, chaos do not; and sometimes this can lead to a bad situation for the chaos player.

Additionally, it seems like your friend may not have been playing the betrayer rule at all; either that or he had some very good rolls.

In each of those combats he should have been getting one or two 1's, whittling his own unit down until it was just him. Next time you go up against Kharn and a bodyguard keep an eye out for Kharn's 1's to hit; if he has been ignoring that rule and suddenly has to start playing it, you may be surprised how much less threatening Kharn and his unit suddenly become.

Quote:
Originally Posted by troybuckle View Post
and when i assaulted him with my hormagauts when we both were in the forest he waited until i made the move to remind me that i was assaulting though cover and would go at I-1.
Thats rather bad form from your opponent, serving to make him out as a bit of a dick.

Quote:
Originally Posted by troybuckle View Post
Also my Tyrant with L-W bone-sword didn't do any damage against him.
That has to be bad rolling, and any remaining gaunts that attacked Kharn did nothing as well?

How was your tyrant armed?

Quote:
Originally Posted by troybuckle View Post
in two rounds of combat on two charges with my tyrant i rolled a total of 6 ones to wound lol.
Sounds like your tyrant should invest in old adversary. Hello re-rolling 1's.

Damnation is paved on good intentions; subtle and sugar coated or blunt and honest
A hero is someone who steps up when everyone else backs down.
Popularity is what people strive for when they lack the strength to be themselves.


Seriously, is it really that hard to write reviews without spoilers?

Reporting Posts - read this
darkreever is offline  
post #16 of 42 (permalink) Old 03-29-13, 08:30 PM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
troybuckle's Avatar
troybuckle's Flag is: Canada
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Goose Bay, Labrador Canada
Posts: 1,177
Reputation: 23
Default

I should invest in old adversary if it will allow me to re roll ones cause I always roll horribly with him. I think that if I roll better with my tyrant in a challenge I could take him.

I'm not saying he can not be killed I'm saying at 160 points, is two cheap for the power house he is.
troybuckle is offline  
post #17 of 42 (permalink) Old 03-29-13, 08:36 PM
Senior Member
 
Taggerung's Avatar
Taggerung's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Washington
Posts: 870
Reputation: 3
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by troybuckle View Post
I'm not saying he can not be killed I'm saying at 160 points, is two cheap for the power house he is.
I believe most of the internet is saying he priced just about right given his glaring weaknesses.

Unfortunately, you play Nids...and the nids got no love with their last codex...I shudder to think of how you would deal with a Lysander.



Check out my DKOK Project Log!

Armies : Raven Lords Chapter, 219th Siege Regiment and Da Grotteef Waaaaghhhh

Currently Painting : 219th Siege Regiment, about 25% done! Last updated 3/7/2013
Taggerung is offline  
post #18 of 42 (permalink) Old 03-29-13, 09:05 PM
Senior Moderator
 
darkreever's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: New Jersey, little ways out of NYC
Posts: 6,992
Reputation: 25
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by troybuckle View Post
I should invest in old adversary if it will allow me to re roll ones cause I always roll horribly with him. I think that if I roll better with my tyrant in a challenge I could take him.
A lash whip/bone sword tyrant with old adversary should be pretty good for killing Kharn. He strikes last, runs the risk of instant death, and you reroll failed 1's in hitting and wounding.

Damnation is paved on good intentions; subtle and sugar coated or blunt and honest
A hero is someone who steps up when everyone else backs down.
Popularity is what people strive for when they lack the strength to be themselves.


Seriously, is it really that hard to write reviews without spoilers?

Reporting Posts - read this
darkreever is offline  
post #19 of 42 (permalink) Old 03-30-13, 02:06 AM
Senior Member
 
Fallen's Avatar
Fallen's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Ohio
Posts: 3,689
Reputation: 19
Default

how exactly would Kharn's "Betrayer" rule with the USR "Hatred". assuming that Kharn and buddies killed each MC in 1 round of combat then there could be a chance that kharn doesn't kill friends.

that being said i haven't run kharn with the new codex, so i am not all that up-to-date with his rules.

Quote:
Originally Posted by neilbatte
if you squint the Sigmar stuff doesn't all look like the love children from a Necron and Blood Angel orgy.
Fallen is offline  
post #20 of 42 (permalink) Old 03-30-13, 02:17 AM
Banned
Magpie_Oz's Flag is: Australia
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Not every shadow, but any shadow
Posts: 7,889
Reputation: 74
Default

Hatred allows you to re-roll all misses.

Betrayer means any rolls of a 1 are an auto hit on a friendly so that means the aren't misses and wouldn't be re-rolled due to Hatred.
Magpie_Oz is offline  
Reply

  Lower Navigation
Go Back   Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums > Warhammer 40K > 40k Rules Discussion

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome