Ordnance Weapons - Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums
40k Rules Discussion Post any Warhammer 40k rules queries and discussions here.

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 16 (permalink) Old 03-08-13, 05:45 AM Thread Starter
Senior Member
Iniquity's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 197
Reputation: 1
Default Ordnance Weapons

I have two questions relating to ordnance weapons on a walker with slow and purposeful.

1) If I fire an ordnance weapon, are all other shots snap shots? (Page 71, last 2 sentences. I read the two sentences together, I can move and fire ordnance, but other shots are snap shots when I do this.)

2) I fire at unit A in the open and scatter onto unit B that is out of line of sight. Am I unable to hit them since they are out of line of sight? (Page 33, ricochets and such)

I played a game tonight and both of these came up and want to know where to reference for next time. Page numbers are helpful.
Iniquity is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 16 (permalink) Old 03-08-13, 05:55 AM Thread Starter
Senior Member
Iniquity's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 197
Reputation: 1
Default

One more as an aside,

3) Can a model shoot itself with a blast weapon? (I thought I read somewhere that you couldn't.)
Iniquity is offline  
post #3 of 16 (permalink) Old 03-08-13, 06:20 AM
WFB Moderator
 
Tim/Steve's Avatar
Tim/Steve's Flag is: United Kingdom
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Worcestershire, UK
Posts: 8,248
Reputation: 13
Default

1- yes to everything. You can move and fire with ordnance but if you fire ordnance everything else is a snap fire. I believe ordnance barrage is still move or fire if firing indirectly (not 100% on that though).

2- I actually don't know... never really worked it out with the new rules. We play that they're hurt as normal...

3- yup, you can kill yourself with blast weapons if your unlucky enough with the scatter (and can't choose to place the blast covering friendly models, even yourself).

Tim/Steve is offline  
 
post #4 of 16 (permalink) Old 03-08-13, 12:13 PM
Senior Member
 
darklove's Avatar
darklove's Flag is: United Kingdom
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Hampshire
Posts: 3,648
Reputation: 2
Default

Scattering blast weapons are able to hurt units that are not in LoS.

All that is important is known.
Praxis
darklove is offline  
post #5 of 16 (permalink) Old 03-08-13, 12:27 PM
Banned
Magpie_Oz's Flag is: Australia
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Not every shadow, but any shadow
Posts: 7,889
Reputation: 74
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Iniquity View Post
2) I fire at unit A in the open and scatter onto unit B that is out of line of sight. Am I unable to hit them since they are out of line of sight? (Page 33, ricochets and such)
The rule on page 33 does say that a scattering blast can hit UNITS out of range and Line of Sight but RAW there is nothing to say you can actually allocate those wounds to the models in the unit as they are out of range and out of LOS.

Pretty sure that they really mean that the models can be wounded, they just tripped up on the wording...... again.
Magpie_Oz is offline  
post #6 of 16 (permalink) Old 03-08-13, 04:10 PM
Senior Member
 
psactionman's Avatar
psactionman's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Utah, USA
Posts: 287
Reputation: 8
Default

I am 100% positive you are right Magpie. What would be the point of saying a unit can be hit if wounds cannot be allocated to any models in that unit? I know GW does some things that make absolutely no sense, but not being able to wound a unit you can hit is a little far fetched even for GW.
psactionman is offline  
post #7 of 16 (permalink) Old 03-08-13, 07:47 PM Thread Starter
Senior Member
Iniquity's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 197
Reputation: 1
Default

The description for blast says can hit and wound units out of range and line of sight, but after wounding I'm unable to actually allocate those wounds to the unit?
Iniquity is offline  
post #8 of 16 (permalink) Old 03-08-13, 07:55 PM
Banned
Magpie_Oz's Flag is: Australia
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Not every shadow, but any shadow
Posts: 7,889
Reputation: 74
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Iniquity View Post
The description for blast says can hit and wound units out of range and line of sight, but after wounding I'm unable to actually allocate those wounds to the unit?
If you go strictly of the RAW yes on two counts.

There is no exception granted to the prohibition on allocating wounds to a model that is out of LOS of the firing unit and the new FAQ that says you can't allocate wounds to a model that is out of range of all models in a unit.
Magpie_Oz is offline  
post #9 of 16 (permalink) Old 03-08-13, 09:04 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 398
Reputation: 2
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Magpie_Oz View Post
If you go strictly of the RAW yes on two counts.

There is no exception granted to the prohibition on allocating wounds to a model that is out of LOS of the firing unit and the new FAQ that says you can't allocate wounds to a model that is out of range of all models in a unit.
If you can hit and wound them, then wouldn't you have to be able to allocate the wounds to them (maybe not strictly RAW) in order to be able to do the allowed wounding?

In other words you have a string of events A, B, C and they expressly allow A and C to happen to the model. It wouldn't make any sense to say C happens to the model if they would never allow B to happen. Allowing B to happen is implied due to saying C is allowed since C can only happen after B.

Wife: "How much do you have invested in these ... miniatures?"

Me: "I don't think invested is the right word."
Suijin is offline  
post #10 of 16 (permalink) Old 03-08-13, 09:30 PM
Banned
Magpie_Oz's Flag is: Australia
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Not every shadow, but any shadow
Posts: 7,889
Reputation: 74
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Suijin View Post
If you can hit and wound them, then wouldn't you have to be able to allocate the wounds to them (maybe not strictly RAW) in order to be able to do the allowed wounding?

In other words you have a string of events A, B, C and they expressly allow A and C to happen to the model. It wouldn't make any sense to say C happens to the model if they would never allow B to happen. Allowing B to happen is implied due to saying C is allowed since C can only happen after B.
It's A = Hit, B = Wound and C = Allocate.

So by the RAW we can do A and B but not C because the rule says you can hit and wound a UNIT but makes no comment on wound allocation other than to "allocate as normal"

I agree that it probably isn't meant to be played like that but you do have a contradiction arise.

What happens if you aim to hit a unit that has a single model in view and range and the shot scatters and hits the rest of the unit that is out of LOS and range?

Can you wound the guys out of range and sight or just the guy who is in range and sight?

"Allocate as normal" says no, but "hit and wound out of range and LOS" says yes.

Last edited by Magpie_Oz; 03-08-13 at 09:34 PM.
Magpie_Oz is offline  
Reply

  Lower Navigation
Go Back   Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums > Warhammer 40K > 40k Rules Discussion

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome