Command barge - Vector strike and sweep attack - Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums
40k Rules Discussion Post any Warhammer 40k rules queries and discussions here.

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 11 (permalink) Old 02-21-13, 03:29 PM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
falcoso's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 1,384
Reputation: 23
Default Command barge - Vector strike and sweep attack

So a command barge was FAQ'd to be a chariot, meaning the occupant can perform a vector strike when it moves. Also in the rules for the command barge it says that the occupant can make a sweep attack. I can't find anywhere that this rule has been removed so am I right n thinking you can do both?

Me: To be honest im amazed there isn't a chaos god of not revising or at least chaos god of procrastination

MidnightSun: There will be, when enough people do it. Y'know when the Eldar were all engaging in their hedonism and Slaanesh ripped open the Eye of Terror with his creation? Slaanesh will have NOTHING on the God of Procrastination, and his vile minions will carve the galaxy asunder in a thousand year reign of blood.... Tomorrow
falcoso is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 11 (permalink) Old 02-21-13, 03:56 PM
WFB Moderator
 
Tim/Steve's Avatar
Tim/Steve's Flag is: United Kingdom
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Worcestershire, UK
Posts: 8,248
Reputation: 13
Default

Technically yes, practically no.

They are obviously the same rule so trying to use them both isn't something that'll win you any friends, but yes, technically they are different and you have both.

Just because something isn't against the rules doesn't mean it isn't cheating...

Tim/Steve is offline  
post #3 of 11 (permalink) Old 02-21-13, 05:45 PM
Senior Member
 
The Sturk's Avatar
The Sturk's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 959
Reputation: 9
Default

I've been wondering this same thing.

Technically, the Necron rule wasn't removed in any erratas, so in theory, it can still work.

But of course, it is exactly the same rule as the one in Chariots.

I say user discretion. Ask your friends about it (or ask them after you do it >:D).
The Sturk is offline  
 
post #4 of 11 (permalink) Old 02-21-13, 06:44 PM
Senior Member
 
Taggerung's Avatar
Taggerung's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Washington
Posts: 870
Reputation: 3
Default

What Steve/Tim said...Just don't be that guy lol



Check out my DKOK Project Log!

Armies : Raven Lords Chapter, 219th Siege Regiment and Da Grotteef Waaaaghhhh

Currently Painting : 219th Siege Regiment, about 25% done! Last updated 3/7/2013
Taggerung is offline  
post #5 of 11 (permalink) Old 02-21-13, 09:28 PM
Senior Member
 
Archon Dan's Avatar
Archon Dan's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Columbus, Ohio
Posts: 1,825
Reputation: 17
Default

Umm. Not sure what copy of the BRB you are reading. Mine says that Chariots perform Sweep Attacks, not Vector Strikes. The Necron codex also calls them Sweep Attacks. There is no mention of Vector Strike.

Of course, being a Chariot, the Overlord can Sweep Attack a unit, shoot it with the Command Barge and then assault with D6 HoW attacks.

"Fetch me another plaything. This one seems to have broken." -Urien Rakarth

Space Marine- "This planet is ours, witch."
Eldar- "No ... This planet is theirs ..."
Archon Dan is offline  
post #6 of 11 (permalink) Old 02-21-13, 10:53 PM
Banned
Magpie_Oz's Flag is: Australia
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Not every shadow, but any shadow
Posts: 7,889
Reputation: 74
Default

I'd be saying the Codex sweep attack overrules the BRB sweep attack, if they are any different that is.
Magpie_Oz is offline  
post #7 of 11 (permalink) Old 02-22-13, 12:05 AM
Senior Member
 
The Sturk's Avatar
The Sturk's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 959
Reputation: 9
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Magpie_Oz View Post
I'd be saying the Codex sweep attack overrules the BRB sweep attack, if they are any different that is.
They are virtually identical except on one aspect. The BRB says the Sweep Attack can only be performed on unengaged units, while the Necron Codex says nothing regarding the status of the target unit.
The Sturk is offline  
post #8 of 11 (permalink) Old 02-22-13, 12:20 AM
Banned
Magpie_Oz's Flag is: Australia
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Not every shadow, but any shadow
Posts: 7,889
Reputation: 74
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by The Sturk View Post
They are virtually identical except on one aspect. The BRB says the Sweep Attack can only be performed on unengaged units, while the Necron Codex says nothing regarding the status of the target unit.
I'd have thought the general principal of not being able to attack units locked in combat would cover that anyway.
Magpie_Oz is offline  
post #9 of 11 (permalink) Old 02-22-13, 12:34 AM
Senior Member
 
The Sturk's Avatar
The Sturk's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 959
Reputation: 9
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Magpie_Oz View Post
I'd have thought the general principal of not being able to attack units locked in combat would cover that anyway.
You would think so. But, like that "issue" with Zahndrekh's rule, there are always people who will try to take advantage of every situation.
The Sturk is offline  
post #10 of 11 (permalink) Old 02-22-13, 12:52 AM
Banned
Magpie_Oz's Flag is: Australia
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Not every shadow, but any shadow
Posts: 7,889
Reputation: 74
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by The Sturk View Post
You would think so. But, like that "issue" with Zahndrekh's rule, there are always people who will try to take advantage of every situation.
Yeh I think that is why the BRB rule is a bit different. There does seem to be a lot of that in the rulebook in general, trying to tighten things up I guess.
Magpie_Oz is offline  
Reply

  Lower Navigation
Go Back   Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums > Warhammer 40K > 40k Rules Discussion

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome