Units with multiple blast template shots - Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums
40k Rules Discussion Post any Warhammer 40k rules queries and discussions here.

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 4 (permalink) Old 02-11-13, 04:00 PM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 1
Reputation: 1
Default Units with multiple blast template shots

I'll preface this with I'm a beginner in this game. I did look through the rules but I didn't find/interpret how this works.

I have a squad of 10 necron warriors, 5 are pinched so a small template can take out all 5. I get this. A squad of 3 obliterators intend to fire on the squad. Here is how my opponent played the shooting on this:
1. Said all 3 templates will line up on the 5 necrons
2. Rolled 3 times with scatter dice, 2 dead hits other scattered off and hit nothing
3. Rolled wounds for 2 hits on 5 units. He got 8 wounds.

Here are my questions.
1. Is this how you roll the shooting on this? All concurrent or one at a time?
2. Can wounds be applied to models (in the same unit) but outside of the blast template?

I can see how this is the case because wounds go to a pool. But with how GW seems to try and rationalize how stuff works, it seems if you throw 2 blast shots in the same spot and the first destroys all targets the second just goes in a crater and does nothing. I figured the way my opponent played it is right and didn't make a difference in the outcome, but I want to know 100% in case this comes up again. If there is a post that clarifies this or a page that I'm missing or mis-reading please point me to them. Sorry if I'm just that much of a noob that I don't understand the rules.

Thanks!
Maximus006 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 4 (permalink) Old 02-11-13, 04:56 PM
Senior Member
 
ntaw's Avatar
ntaw's Flag is: Canada
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Mississauga, Canada
Posts: 6,323
Reputation: 99
Default

I'm pretty sure you have it right. All shooting from a squad happens at the same time, regardless of how you play it out with your rolls. With blast weapons they can even hit things out of line of sight with the scatter.

You pick the model you want to centre the blast marker around and roll your scatter, you can put all the markers on the same model if you'd like. It's up to the shooter.

Removal of units still comes from the front of the squad (front being whichever side is facing the unit shooting them) with blast templates unless they are non-LOS barrage shots, then they start with those closest to the centre of the blast marker and work their way out.

Hope this helps!

Unfortunately Canada got rid of the penny and now my two cents rounds down to zero, so...take it for what you will.

40k Army Projects

Industrial Table WIP
ntaw is offline  
post #3 of 4 (permalink) Old 02-11-13, 09:57 PM
Banned
Magpie_Oz's Flag is: Australia
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Not every shadow, but any shadow
Posts: 7,889
Reputation: 74
Default

Yep you've played i correctly as Ntaw says.

Just imagine the missile or what ever is coming at the squad at a flat trajectory and so hits the front of the squad first then explodes in a cone of shrapnel, which is represented by the blast template.

Note that Barrage weapons always go from the centre of the template regardless of LOS
Magpie_Oz is offline  
 
post #4 of 4 (permalink) Old 02-11-13, 10:51 PM
Senior Member
 
ntaw's Avatar
ntaw's Flag is: Canada
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Mississauga, Canada
Posts: 6,323
Reputation: 99
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Magpie_Oz View Post
Note that Barrage weapons always go from the centre of the template regardless of LOS
Good call. Just got home to my rulebook

Unfortunately Canada got rid of the penny and now my two cents rounds down to zero, so...take it for what you will.

40k Army Projects

Industrial Table WIP
ntaw is offline  
Reply

  Lower Navigation
Go Back   Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums > Warhammer 40K > 40k Rules Discussion

Tags
blast multiple template

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome