Wych weapons and scything talons(hive tyrant) - Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums
40k Rules Discussion Post any Warhammer 40k rules queries and discussions here.

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 7 (permalink) Old 06-18-08, 06:56 AM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 10
Default Wych weapons and scything talons(hive tyrant)

I know that Wych weapons negate the bonus attack given by scything talons. But, me and my friend that plays Tryannid argue about the effect of Wych weapons on a model with two sets of scything talons, getting +2 attacks. He thinks that only one attack max can be negated, but I don't see why the Wych weapons would negate one bonus attack but not the other.

grammar edit
zeebaa is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 7 (permalink) Old 06-18-08, 01:31 PM
Senior Member
 
lordmat0's Avatar
lordmat0's Flag is: United Kingdom
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 134
Reputation: 1
Default

Since this is about wych weapons gonna quicky sneak a question in!

Do powerfist users lose there double str bonus against wych weapons? I know they lose there going through armor bonus.
lordmat0 is offline  
post #3 of 7 (permalink) Old 06-18-08, 04:32 PM
Senior Member
 
Vrykolas2k's Avatar
Vrykolas2k's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Colorado Springs
Posts: 924
Reputation: 1
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lordmat0 View Post
Since this is about wych weapons gonna quicky sneak a question in!

Do powerfist users lose there double str bonus against wych weapons? I know they lose there going through armor bonus.


Read your codex on Wych Weapons; I'm pretty sure the Hive Tyrant is to powerful for Wych Weapons to affect.
No, power fist don't lose their str bonus, and it makes the model too strong to be affected also. So they get to keep the extra attack as long as they're attacking with the power fist (or scorpion's claw, et cetera).

Vae victus.

"Rommel, you magnificent bastard, I read your damned BOOK!"
-Patton

Light a man a fire, and he's warm for a day. Light a man on fire, and he's warm for the rest of his life.
Vrykolas2k is offline  
 
post #4 of 7 (permalink) Old 06-18-08, 05:54 PM
Ex Mod.
 
cccp's Avatar
cccp's Flag is: Great Britain
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Essex, UK
Posts: 4,245
Reputation: 1
Default

its not a str bonus like an upgrade would give - its actually part of the creature, not wargear or a bonus attack for charging.

i dont know the rules that well but i would think the HT stll gets his attack.
cccp is offline  
post #5 of 7 (permalink) Old 06-19-08, 12:51 AM
Senior Member
 
lordmat0's Avatar
lordmat0's Flag is: United Kingdom
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 134
Reputation: 1
Default

Arg played agaisnt a dark eldar player and he said wych weapons made it so that my power fist didnt count as being a powerfist (so my terminators hitted on 6s and wounded on 3s and then he got his armor save!)
lordmat0 is offline  
post #6 of 7 (permalink) Old 06-19-08, 01:19 AM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Vrykolas2k View Post
Read your codex on Wych Weapons; I'm pretty sure the Hive Tyrant is to powerful for Wych Weapons to affect.
No, power fist don't lose their str bonus, and it makes the model too strong to be affected also. So they get to keep the extra attack as long as they're attacking with the power fist (or scorpion's claw, et cetera).
The Wych weapons have two separate effects, one of them halves the weapon skill for opponents under strength 6, and the other effect reduces the attacks without a strength stipulation.

The codex to me seems pretty clear about this, because they are two separate bullet points, with the effect involving attacks mentioned first, and the weapon skill one second, only mentioning the strength of the opponent in the second bullet point.
zeebaa is offline  
post #7 of 7 (permalink) Old 06-19-08, 01:21 AM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lordmat0 View Post
Since this is about wych weapons gonna quicky sneak a question in!

Do powerfist users lose there double str bonus against wych weapons? I know they lose there going through armor bonus.
No, I think the wych weapons only effect the number of attacks, not the effect of the attacks.
zeebaa is offline  
Reply

  Lower Navigation
Go Back   Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums > Warhammer 40K > 40k Rules Discussion

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome