Doomsday Cannon - Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums
40k Rules Discussion Post any Warhammer 40k rules queries and discussions here.

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 17 (permalink) Old 02-11-13, 11:14 AM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
darklove's Avatar
darklove's Flag is: United Kingdom
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Hampshire
Posts: 3,648
Reputation: 2
Default Doomsday Cannon

I just need to check if I have read this right:

If the Doomsday Ark stands still it can fire the cannon once at full strength.
If the Doomsday Ark moved then it can fire the cannon twice but at a reduced strength.

Have I got that right?

Is it possible to choose which weapon profile to use if you do not move?

All that is important is known.
Praxis

Last edited by darklove; 02-11-13 at 11:17 AM.
darklove is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 17 (permalink) Old 02-11-13, 11:36 AM
Senior Member
 
Archon Dan's Avatar
Archon Dan's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Columbus, Ohio
Posts: 1,825
Reputation: 17
Default

You only fire the reduced version once, just like the stationary shot. So while you technically could elect to fire the reduced shot while stationary there is no benefit to do so. If you want to use the weaker shot, you should at least move to gain the Jink save and WS 1 if assaulted.

"Fetch me another plaything. This one seems to have broken." -Urien Rakarth

Space Marine- "This planet is ours, witch."
Eldar- "No ... This planet is theirs ..."
Archon Dan is offline  
post #3 of 17 (permalink) Old 02-11-13, 11:44 AM
Banned
Magpie_Oz's Flag is: Australia
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Not every shadow, but any shadow
Posts: 7,889
Reputation: 74
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by darklove View Post
Is it possible to choose which weapon profile to use if you do not move?
I'd say no on the basis of the FAQ that says you can't choose to fire a snap shot if you don't have too.

Like for example the Psycannon can be fired Assault 2 or Heavy 4. If you have moved and then want to fire at a Flyer (so you're BS1 anyway) you can't choose to fire the Heavy 4
Magpie_Oz is offline  
 
post #4 of 17 (permalink) Old 02-11-13, 12:02 PM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
darklove's Avatar
darklove's Flag is: United Kingdom
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Hampshire
Posts: 3,648
Reputation: 2
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Archon Dan View Post
You only fire the reduced version once, just like the stationary shot. So while you technically could elect to fire the reduced shot while stationary there is no benefit to do so. If you want to use the weaker shot, you should at least move to gain the Jink save and WS 1 if assaulted.
The iBook Codex: Necrons states that the reduced version is Heavy 2, Blast. Doesn't that mean it can shoot twice?

All that is important is known.
Praxis
darklove is offline  
post #5 of 17 (permalink) Old 02-11-13, 12:37 PM
Banned
Magpie_Oz's Flag is: Australia
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Not every shadow, but any shadow
Posts: 7,889
Reputation: 74
Default

yep Heavy 2 would mean that.

It's a pain if we are going to end up with a Codex that says one thing and an iCodex that says another.
Magpie_Oz is offline  
post #6 of 17 (permalink) Old 02-11-13, 12:58 PM
Embrace the Insanity
 
Insanity's Avatar
Insanity's Flag is: Australia
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Australia
Posts: 1,159
Reputation: 12
Default

Just wondering, how did you think it was 2 shots at combat speed?
Insanity is offline  
post #7 of 17 (permalink) Old 02-11-13, 01:14 PM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
darklove's Avatar
darklove's Flag is: United Kingdom
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Hampshire
Posts: 3,648
Reputation: 2
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Insanity View Post
Just wondering, how did you think it was 2 shots at combat speed?
Because it says so in the codex.

All that is important is known.
Praxis
darklove is offline  
post #8 of 17 (permalink) Old 02-11-13, 01:28 PM
Embrace the Insanity
 
Insanity's Avatar
Insanity's Flag is: Australia
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Australia
Posts: 1,159
Reputation: 12
Default

I didn't read the more in depth version in with the other weapons, but the reference page at the back just says Heavy 1 and their respective blast sizes.
Insanity is offline  
post #9 of 17 (permalink) Old 02-11-13, 01:31 PM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
darklove's Avatar
darklove's Flag is: United Kingdom
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Hampshire
Posts: 3,648
Reputation: 2
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Insanity View Post
I didn't read the more in depth version in with the other weapons, but the reference page at the back just says Heavy 1 and their respective blast sizes.
The digital version has it as Heavy 2 - so two shots.

All that is important is known.
Praxis
darklove is offline  
post #10 of 17 (permalink) Old 02-11-13, 05:28 PM
Senior Member
 
Taggerung's Avatar
Taggerung's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Washington
Posts: 870
Reputation: 3
Default

Most likely a typo; a lot of those in the digital versions.



Check out my DKOK Project Log!

Armies : Raven Lords Chapter, 219th Siege Regiment and Da Grotteef Waaaaghhhh

Currently Painting : 219th Siege Regiment, about 25% done! Last updated 3/7/2013
Taggerung is offline  
Reply

  Lower Navigation
Go Back   Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums > Warhammer 40K > 40k Rules Discussion

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome