Need rules clarification as soon as possible! - Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums
40k Rules Discussion Post any Warhammer 40k rules queries and discussions here.

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 15 (permalink) Old 02-03-13, 12:32 AM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
LukeValantine's Avatar
LukeValantine's Flag is: Canada
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Regina, Sask, Canada
Posts: 4,277
Reputation: 21
Default Need rules clarification as soon as possible!

So a ass hole in a escalation league is using a fortress of redemption at 500pts, and he claims that you can't fire at a building without occupants even when it has automated weapons. Is this wrong and if it is where are the rules for why its wrong? I would look it up but I have 3 hours to prep my army for tommorrow's game.


Medusa: "I'm a witch, its my job to blaspheme against Gods."

Two Slaanesh daemons on the first go...hmm I guess the fates have spoken emperors children here I come
LukeValantine is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 15 (permalink) Old 02-03-13, 12:58 AM
Senior Member
 
CattleBruiser's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 491
Reputation: 10
Default

regrettably, the guy with the fortress is correct. page 93 of the rulebook, 4th sentence of the last paragraph: "You cannot attack an unoccupied building (with shooting or in close combat).

However, here's something that will punish him for not occupying the building.

First of all: all the weapons are emplaced weapons (see page 117)

Now: page 96, second column under the header "Emplaced weapons".

"Automated fire
If a building is occupied, each emplaced weapon that is not being fired manually automatically fires at the nearest enemy unit within range and line of sight..."

Important note: first 5 words under automated fire are "If a building is occupied"

TL:DR your opponent is right that you can't attack the unoccupied building, but they can't use automated fire unless the building is occupied.

We do not fear the flame,though it burns us,
We do not fear the fire, though it consumes us,
And we do not fear it's light,
Though it reveals the darkness of our souls,
For therein lies our power
CattleBruiser is offline  
post #3 of 15 (permalink) Old 02-03-13, 01:21 AM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
LukeValantine's Avatar
LukeValantine's Flag is: Canada
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Regina, Sask, Canada
Posts: 4,277
Reputation: 21
Default

I'll keep that in mind.


Medusa: "I'm a witch, its my job to blaspheme against Gods."

Two Slaanesh daemons on the first go...hmm I guess the fates have spoken emperors children here I come
LukeValantine is offline  
 
post #4 of 15 (permalink) Old 02-03-13, 01:46 AM
Senior Member
 
CattleBruiser's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 491
Reputation: 10
Default

Oh, and if he really is an asshole, then i wouldn't hurry to point things out to him until after he's deployed and it's part way through the first turn when he tries to fire the weapons.

We do not fear the flame,though it burns us,
We do not fear the fire, though it consumes us,
And we do not fear it's light,
Though it reveals the darkness of our souls,
For therein lies our power
CattleBruiser is offline  
post #5 of 15 (permalink) Old 02-03-13, 04:20 AM
Banned
Magpie_Oz's Flag is: Australia
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Not every shadow, but any shadow
Posts: 7,889
Reputation: 74
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by CattleBruiser View Post
Oh, and if he really is an asshole, then i wouldn't hurry to point things out to him until after he's deployed and it's part way through the first turn when he tries to fire the weapons.
+1 !

Learn that sucka real goode

Don't fotget that it isn't occupied you can just walk straight in too. There is only one door in the fort tho'

The battlements and walkways are Battlements in the rulebook sense so they are a separate location to the building, so guyson thr battlements can't fire the emplaced weapons.

Note too that missile silo has LOS to nothing!

Last edited by Magpie_Oz; 02-03-13 at 04:26 AM.
Magpie_Oz is offline  
post #6 of 15 (permalink) Old 02-03-13, 07:17 PM
Senior Member
 
Archon Dan's Avatar
Archon Dan's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Columbus, Ohio
Posts: 1,825
Reputation: 17
Default

If he's going to not occupy it, take it over. Get your guys inside and use the weapons against him. At 500 points, the Fortress is a huge point sink, especially if you don't man the guns.

Hopefully this doesn't come too late.

"Fetch me another plaything. This one seems to have broken." -Urien Rakarth

Space Marine- "This planet is ours, witch."
Eldar- "No ... This planet is theirs ..."
Archon Dan is offline  
post #7 of 15 (permalink) Old 02-03-13, 08:57 PM
Banned
Magpie_Oz's Flag is: Australia
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Not every shadow, but any shadow
Posts: 7,889
Reputation: 74
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Archon Dan View Post
If he's going to not occupy it, take it over. Get your guys inside and use the weapons against him. At 500 points, the Fortress is a huge point sink, especially if you don't man the guns.

Hopefully this doesn't come too late.
The problem with the Fortress is getting into it. There is only one access point and that is at the back of the walkway section, unless you have jump infantry to take the battlements.

Last edited by Magpie_Oz; 02-03-13 at 09:09 PM.
Magpie_Oz is offline  
post #8 of 15 (permalink) Old 02-03-13, 09:12 PM
Spanner in the works...
 
spanner94ezekiel's Avatar
spanner94ezekiel's Flag is: United Kingdom
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Breaking the Fourth Wall
Posts: 5,349
Reputation: 28
Default

Or you could just potentially ram it with a suitably-sized vehicle. And then there are scatters for sufficiently powerful ordnance. But I suppose at 500 pts those are sort of hard to come across.

The Black Typhoons | Dark Angels 3rd Company | Tharrus Draw's Warband | Dark Angels' Corner | Codices: Marvel Heroes and Marvel Villains

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mossy Toes View Post
Spanner's got some great advice as well... Listen to that wise man.

spanner94ezekiel is offline  
post #9 of 15 (permalink) Old 02-03-13, 09:16 PM
Banned
Magpie_Oz's Flag is: Australia
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Not every shadow, but any shadow
Posts: 7,889
Reputation: 74
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by spanner94ezekiel View Post
Or you could just potentially ram it with a suitably-sized vehicle. And then there are scatters for sufficiently powerful ordnance. But I suppose at 500 pts those are sort of hard to come across.
Can't ram a building. Page 86 says (not a building)
Magpie_Oz is offline  
post #10 of 15 (permalink) Old 02-04-13, 05:22 AM
WFB Moderator
 
Tim/Steve's Avatar
Tim/Steve's Flag is: United Kingdom
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Worcestershire, UK
Posts: 8,248
Reputation: 13
Default

Even if you could anything but a deffrolla would just bounce off it...

Tim/Steve is offline  
Reply

  Lower Navigation
Go Back   Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums > Warhammer 40K > 40k Rules Discussion

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome