assaulting snap shots - Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums
40k Rules Discussion Post any Warhammer 40k rules queries and discussions here.

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 16 (permalink) Old 01-23-13, 10:29 PM Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 87
Reputation: 1
Default assaulting snap shots

hey guys when someone is assaulting a player i know the player gets to take snap shots at the charging foe but how many shots does he get to take... say if he is a heavy 4... does he takes 4 shots.... a template, can he use the template, blast (im guessing not), rapid fire, etc thank you!!!

also when you take regular shots where do you guys messure from... the barrel tip... or the base.. and what if its a pyshic power where do u messure it then?

Last edited by Snoopdeville3; 01-23-13 at 10:32 PM.
Snoopdeville3 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 16 (permalink) Old 01-23-13, 11:22 PM
Senior Member
 
Archon Dan's Avatar
Archon Dan's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Columbus, Ohio
Posts: 1,825
Reputation: 17
Default

Overwatch shots get the full effect for the range they are in. Rapid-fire will get two shots(assaulters are almost always in Rapid-fire range), Heavy/Assault X get X shots if within range. Templates are special and get a D3 automatic hits. Blast and Large Blast weapons cannot Overwatch.

Unless it is a vehicle, all shots and Psychic powers are measured from the edge of the base of the model. You can technically measure from anywhere on the base but most pick the closest point to the target. Vehicles, even those with bases, measure from the end of the gun barrels.

"Fetch me another plaything. This one seems to have broken." -Urien Rakarth

Space Marine- "This planet is ours, witch."
Eldar- "No ... This planet is theirs ..."

Last edited by Archon Dan; 01-23-13 at 11:25 PM.
Archon Dan is offline  
post #3 of 16 (permalink) Old 01-29-13, 12:26 AM Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 87
Reputation: 1
Default

awesome ty!
Snoopdeville3 is offline  
 
post #4 of 16 (permalink) Old 01-30-13, 08:51 PM
Senior Member
 
Archaon18's Avatar
Archaon18's Flag is: England
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Teabagging your corpse!
Posts: 622
Reputation: 1
Default

Another thing that maybe useful is that you also needto factor LOS and cover as normal.

Lasguns- You can never have too little firepower
My Tactics Blog - ChaosTactica

Quote:
Originally Posted by KingOfCheese View Post
"Hey babe, want me to Power Fist your Pink Horror?"

"Is it ok if my Old One Eye penetrates your Devilfish?"
Archaon18 is offline  
post #5 of 16 (permalink) Old 01-31-13, 07:54 PM
Senior Member
 
Azrell's Avatar
Azrell's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Utah, yeah we have 40k here too.....
Posts: 548
Reputation: 2
Default

Psychic shooting attacks can not be use for overwatch. its FAQd.

It takes a pack of Wolves to tree a Lion... here is hopping the new DA codex reflects that.
Azrell is offline  
post #6 of 16 (permalink) Old 01-31-13, 08:51 PM
Senior Member
 
Archon Dan's Avatar
Archon Dan's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Columbus, Ohio
Posts: 1,825
Reputation: 17
Default

He wasn't asking if you can Overwatch with a Psychic Power. He was asking where you measure from when using one in general terms.

"Fetch me another plaything. This one seems to have broken." -Urien Rakarth

Space Marine- "This planet is ours, witch."
Eldar- "No ... This planet is theirs ..."
Archon Dan is offline  
post #7 of 16 (permalink) Old 01-31-13, 10:10 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 398
Reputation: 2
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Archaon18 View Post
Another thing that maybe useful is that you also needto factor LOS and cover as normal.
You can't assault something that is out of LOS, but what if only a single model has LOS and that unit charges. Overwatch is fired, but only that single model would be able to be killed? The rest of them are out of LOS and can't be shot/killed?

Is that correct?

Wife: "How much do you have invested in these ... miniatures?"

Me: "I don't think invested is the right word."
Suijin is offline  
post #8 of 16 (permalink) Old 01-31-13, 10:12 PM
Banned
Magpie_Oz's Flag is: Australia
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Not every shadow, but any shadow
Posts: 7,889
Reputation: 74
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Suijin View Post
You can't assault something that is out of LOS, but what if only a single model has LOS and that unit charges. Overwatch is fired, but only that single model would be able to be killed? The rest of them are out of LOS and can't be shot/killed?

Is that correct?
Yes that's right. It's a good way to nerf overwatch and worthwhile if your facing a heap of flamers.
Magpie_Oz is offline  
post #9 of 16 (permalink) Old 01-31-13, 11:52 PM
Entropy Fetishist
 
Mossy Toes's Avatar
Mossy Toes's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Eä
Posts: 4,249
Reputation: 117
Default

But then, as I understand it, the unit can't see the unit they want to charge, so would be unable to roll for charge distance.

CSM Plog, Tactica

What sphinx of plascrete and adamantium bashed open their skulls and ate up their brains and imagination? Imperator! Imperator!
Mossy Toes is offline  
post #10 of 16 (permalink) Old 02-01-13, 02:46 AM
Senior Member
 
Azrell's Avatar
Azrell's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Utah, yeah we have 40k here too.....
Posts: 548
Reputation: 2
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Archon Dan View Post
He wasn't asking if you can Overwatch with a Psychic Power. He was asking where you measure from when using one in general terms.
But you made it sound like you could. Plus what other psychic power would we talking about that happen during snap shots?

It takes a pack of Wolves to tree a Lion... here is hopping the new DA codex reflects that.

Last edited by Azrell; 02-01-13 at 02:49 AM.
Azrell is offline  
Reply

  Lower Navigation
Go Back   Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums > Warhammer 40K > 40k Rules Discussion

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome