Important question about Skyfire - Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums
40k Rules Discussion Post any Warhammer 40k rules queries and discussions here.

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 15 (permalink) Old 01-16-13, 06:20 PM Thread Starter
Autarch of Heresy
 
Ragewind's Avatar
Ragewind's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 886
Reputation: 20
Default Important question about Skyfire

So we all know if you do not have the Skyfire rule you are shooting Snap Shots at a Flyer.

So if you do have the Skyfire rule are you still considered to be shooting Snap Shots?

The rule itself simply says you fire at full BS, but never actually says if you are or are not still making use of the Snap Shot rules.

thoughts?>

The Eldar, more than any other army, should not only look at the output of each unit individually, but the synergy of multiple units together and their role in the force as a whole. - Fable

Ragewind is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 15 (permalink) Old 01-16-13, 08:04 PM
Senior Member
Arcane's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 1,811
Reputation: 13
Default

If you mean in regards to firing templates and blasts at fliers then I believe the answer would be no, you cannot.
Arcane is offline  
post #3 of 15 (permalink) Old 01-16-13, 11:03 PM
Entropy Fetishist
 
Mossy Toes's Avatar
Mossy Toes's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Eä
Posts: 4,249
Reputation: 117
Default

I think Rage means units(/Flyers) with both Skyfire and Interceptor, as it sounds like Interceptor says "you may fire at full BS," not "you may fire normally." This means you would still be unable to fire template or blast weapons, since you're technically still making Snap Shots at full BS.

Seeing as this would mean the Heldrake could never fire its Baleflamer, I think this is a craptastical interpretation of the rules that sits squarely in GW's lap.

CSM Plog, Tactica

What sphinx of plascrete and adamantium bashed open their skulls and ate up their brains and imagination? Imperator! Imperator!
Mossy Toes is offline  
 
post #4 of 15 (permalink) Old 01-16-13, 11:24 PM
Banned
Magpie_Oz's Flag is: Australia
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Not every shadow, but any shadow
Posts: 7,889
Reputation: 74
Default

Page 81

Shots resolved at zooming flyers can only be resolved as Snap Shots (unless the model has the Skyfire rule....)

I take that to mean it is no longer a snap shot.


The flat "templates cannot hit flyers" covers the others I reckon, it is a straight no rather than "because they can't snap shot"

The Baleflamer can hit ground targets can't it?

Last edited by Magpie_Oz; 01-16-13 at 11:53 PM.
Magpie_Oz is offline  
post #5 of 15 (permalink) Old 01-16-13, 11:25 PM
Senior Member
Arcane's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 1,811
Reputation: 13
Default

I don't believe any unit like that exists? In the case of something like a Hydra armed with a Heavy Flamer, I believe the Flakk Cannon has Skyfire, not the whole unit, so the Heavy Flamer may be fired at ground units as per usual.

The Heldrake is a flyer, so it can choose to either use skyfire mode or not.
Arcane is offline  
post #6 of 15 (permalink) Old 01-17-13, 02:53 AM Thread Starter
Autarch of Heresy
 
Ragewind's Avatar
Ragewind's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 886
Reputation: 20
Default

I was interested in this question because the FAQ in relation to Lines, and Nova's or Beams says things that hit automatically miss a Flying unit because they are snap firing. Well if you give it skyfire and its no longer using the Snap Shot rules could it then hit normally? Not talking about blasts as their default rules exclude hitting flyers.

These two specifically jumped out at me with the new FAQ's

Q: Does a weapon that hits automatically, still hit automatically
when making a Snap Shot? (p13)
A: Yes

Q: How do maelstroms, novas and beams – or indeed any weapon
that doesn’t need to roll To Hit or hits automatically – interact with
Zooming Flyers and Swooping Flying Monstrous Creatures? (p13)
A: Only Snap Shots can hit Zooming Flyers and Swooping
Flying Monstrous Creatures. Therefore, any attacks that use
blast markers, templates, create a line of/area of effect or
otherwise don’t roll to hit cannot target them. This includes
weapons such as the Necron Doom Scythe’s death ray or the
Deathstrike missile of the Imperial Guard, and psychic
powers that follow the rule for maelstroms, beams, and
novas.

Its very confusing

The Eldar, more than any other army, should not only look at the output of each unit individually, but the synergy of multiple units together and their role in the force as a whole. - Fable

Ragewind is offline  
post #7 of 15 (permalink) Old 01-17-13, 04:07 AM
Senior Member
Arcane's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 1,811
Reputation: 13
Default

I think the implication and intention is clear, weapons like Doom Scythes, Novas and Beams cannot hit flyers period

There are other instances where one may have to make a snap shot? Perhaps if the flyer used Jink?
Arcane is offline  
post #8 of 15 (permalink) Old 01-17-13, 04:19 AM
Banned
Magpie_Oz's Flag is: Australia
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Not every shadow, but any shadow
Posts: 7,889
Reputation: 74
Default

Again GW are a bit weak in the language but I'm fairly happy with the intent of this one being quite clear. Pretty much anything beyond vanilla shooting isn't gong to hit a flyer.
Magpie_Oz is offline  
post #9 of 15 (permalink) Old 01-18-13, 12:52 AM Thread Starter
Autarch of Heresy
 
Ragewind's Avatar
Ragewind's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 886
Reputation: 20
Default

Ah but my point is lets say you have a Auto-Hitting attack (not necessarily a line or beam or whatever) that you use to shoot at a flyer. One FAQ answer says you still hit without needing to roll that 6, the other says you cannot hit them at all, DESPITE you following the snap shot rules and thus being able to shoot a flyer.

See what i'm saying?

The Eldar, more than any other army, should not only look at the output of each unit individually, but the synergy of multiple units together and their role in the force as a whole. - Fable

Ragewind is offline  
post #10 of 15 (permalink) Old 01-18-13, 01:22 AM
ZOMGZOR CUSTOM USER TITLE
 
scscofield's Avatar
scscofield's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Finger Lakes Region of NY
Posts: 6,195
Reputation: 56
Default

I would say no it doesn't autohit. Your best bet is to bring those printouts to whatever game your playing and hash it out before the game.

http://i.imgur.com/aPfHUHy.gif?1




scscofield is offline  
Reply

  Lower Navigation
Go Back   Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums > Warhammer 40K > 40k Rules Discussion

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome