Question RE: Gun Emplacements and Dreadnoughts - Page 2 - Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums
40k Rules Discussion Post any Warhammer 40k rules queries and discussions here.

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #11 of 23 (permalink) Old 12-15-12, 07:12 AM
Banned
Magpie_Oz's Flag is: Australia
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Not every shadow, but any shadow
Posts: 7,889
Reputation: 74
Default

So what's your point?

The Gun emplacement has a base and the vehicle has a hull, so long as they are touching you good to go.
Magpie_Oz is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #12 of 23 (permalink) Old 12-15-12, 07:35 AM
Senior Member
 
Klaivex's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 502
Reputation: 3
Default

None of my quadguns came with bases. Perhaps yours are special.
Klaivex is offline  
post #13 of 23 (permalink) Old 12-15-12, 11:25 AM
Banned
Magpie_Oz's Flag is: Australia
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Not every shadow, but any shadow
Posts: 7,889
Reputation: 74
Default

OK so you can never use your Quad gun then.
Magpie_Oz is offline  
 
post #14 of 23 (permalink) Old 12-15-12, 02:45 PM
Senior Member
 
Klaivex's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 502
Reputation: 3
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Magpie_Oz View Post
OK so you can never use your Quad gun then.
Unless, you know, a model with a base is in contact with it. Base contact and all. I like to use my archon personally.
Klaivex is offline  
post #15 of 23 (permalink) Old 12-15-12, 11:55 PM
Banned
Magpie_Oz's Flag is: Australia
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Not every shadow, but any shadow
Posts: 7,889
Reputation: 74
Default

But by your logic if the Gun doesn't have a base you can't be in base contact.
Magpie_Oz is offline  
post #16 of 23 (permalink) Old 12-16-12, 12:08 AM
Entropy Fetishist
 
Mossy Toes's Avatar
Mossy Toes's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Eä
Posts: 4,249
Reputation: 117
Default

I'm going to have to side with Magpie here. As weird as it seems, I'm inclined to rule that a vehicle can fire a quad-gun.

CSM Plog, Tactica

What sphinx of plascrete and adamantium bashed open their skulls and ate up their brains and imagination? Imperator! Imperator!
Mossy Toes is offline  
post #17 of 23 (permalink) Old 12-16-12, 12:42 AM
Senior Member
 
Klaivex's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 502
Reputation: 3
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Magpie_Oz View Post
But by your logic if the Gun doesn't have a base you can't be in base contact.
That is not my logic at all.

"One model in base contact with the gun emplacement can fire it..."

On model, with a base, who's base is in contact with the gun can fire it.

The gun does not need to have a base for a base to be in contact with it.

Some of my tyranid warriors have have a 1-2inch overhang because of claws or tails. If i move 6 inches and get a just a claw in contact with the gun, i'm in contact, but i'm not in base contact.

If i move a rhino into contact with a gun, i'm in contact (hull contact), but not base contact. I don't meet the first requirement to be able to shoot that gun.

Last edited by Klaivex; 12-16-12 at 12:46 AM.
Klaivex is offline  
post #18 of 23 (permalink) Old 12-16-12, 01:40 AM
Senior Member
 
Klaivex's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 502
Reputation: 3
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mossy Toes View Post
I'm going to have to side with Magpie here. As weird as it seems, I'm inclined to rule that a vehicle can fire a quad-gun.
What would be the rational behind your decision if you don't mind me asking?
Klaivex is offline  
post #19 of 23 (permalink) Old 12-16-12, 04:06 AM
Banned
Magpie_Oz's Flag is: Australia
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Not every shadow, but any shadow
Posts: 7,889
Reputation: 74
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Klaivex View Post
If i move a rhino into contact with a gun, i'm in contact (hull contact), but not base contact. I don't meet the first requirement to be able to shoot that gun.
The rules for Chariots show that "Hull Contact" and "Base Contact" are the same thing
"As long as the charge range is sufficient to bring the hull (or base) into contact with the target unit, the charge is successful." (Pg82)

The Fortress of Redemption solidifies the notion that you don't need a base to be in base contact
"the Fortress of Redemption must be placed in base contact with at least one other section." (Pg 117)

Same with the Aegis Defence Line
"must be placed in base contact with at least one other section"

There is of course no such thing as being in contact but not base contact, there are numerous examples through out the rule book where near enough is good enough for base contact. Disembarking and assaulting in ruins are two.

Last edited by Magpie_Oz; 12-16-12 at 04:23 AM.
Magpie_Oz is offline  
post #20 of 23 (permalink) Old 12-16-12, 04:31 AM
Senior Member
 
Klaivex's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 502
Reputation: 3
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Magpie_Oz View Post
The rules for Chariots show that "Hull Contact" and "Base Contact" are the same thing
"As long as the charge range is sufficient to bring the hull (or base) into contact with the target unit, the charge is successful." (Pg82)
Chariots, like skimmers have bases.

Quote:
The Fortress of Redemption solidifies the notion that you don't need a base to be in base contact
"the Fortress of Redemption must be placed in base contact with at least one other section." (Pg 117)

Same with the Aegis Defence Line
"must be placed in base contact with at least one other section"
These are fortifications, not vehicles.

Quote:
There is of course no such thing as being in contact but not base contact, there are numerous examples through out the rule book where near enough is good enough for base contact. Disembarking and assaulting in ruins are two.
There indeed is such a thing as being in contact, but not base contact. It is covered under ramming, because tanks do not have bases and thus can not be in base contact.

"...if the ramming tank comes into contact with an enemy vehicle..."
Klaivex is offline  
Reply

  Lower Navigation
Go Back   Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums > Warhammer 40K > 40k Rules Discussion

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome