Psychic Abilities and vehicles - Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums
40k Rules Discussion Post any Warhammer 40k rules queries and discussions here.

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 12 (permalink) Old 12-01-12, 10:35 AM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
CellteX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 8
Reputation: 2
Default Psychic Abilities and vehicles

Hi just a quick question or two.

1) I play Eldar and often have my Eldrad In a vehicle, Can he cast psychic abilities From within it and where is the range taken from, and does he need Fire points to cast abilities such as the Storm Or others that shoot at enemy models?

2) If he is within a vehicle that is stunned, Can he 1. Disembark? and or 2. Use any of his psychic abilities from within The vehicle (or is it limited to non witchfire ones) - Or whatever they are called. 3. Can he cast any of his abilities from outside the tank the turn it was stunned if he disembarks and if so is there a limit to those he can use.

Regards, CellteX
CellteX is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 12 (permalink) Old 12-01-12, 10:49 AM
Senior Member
 
Sworn Radical's Avatar
Sworn Radical's Flag is: Germany
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Heavily Spanking Saint Celestine
Posts: 721
Reputation: 5
Default

Rulebook page 67, Declare Targets:

Quote:
...
Unless otherwise stated, the Psyker must have Line of Sight to his target. This means that a Psyker embarked on a Transport can only target himself, his vehicle or another unit embarked on the same vehicle as the Psyker.
...
If said transport vehicle has Fire Points, then you would be allowed to use witchfire / psychic shooting attacks from within (can be found on page 78).


As for your second question ... a 'Crew Stunned' result has an effect on the transports passengers as well in that they cannot shoot in their shooting phase. So, I reckon, no witchfire powers could be used either.
Models could still disembark though.

40k Armies: Dark Eldar / Adepta Sororitas
WHFB Armies: Vampire Counts / Empire / various Elves
Horus Heresy: Alpha Legion / Warp Cult

Last edited by Sworn Radical; 12-01-12 at 11:04 AM. Reason: EDIT: Spelling
Sworn Radical is offline  
post #3 of 12 (permalink) Old 12-01-12, 04:56 PM
Autarch of Heresy
 
Ragewind's Avatar
Ragewind's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 886
Reputation: 20
Default

Fire Points only matter for the psychic shooting attacks, otherwise nothing else needs LOS, simply measure from the hull of the tank to affect a unit.

The Eldar, more than any other army, should not only look at the output of each unit individually, but the synergy of multiple units together and their role in the force as a whole. - Fable

Ragewind is offline  
 
post #4 of 12 (permalink) Old 12-01-12, 06:02 PM
Senior Member
 
Azrell's Avatar
Azrell's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Utah, yeah we have 40k here too.....
Posts: 548
Reputation: 2
Default

1. Eldar codex psychic powers have their own rules covered in the codex, one being not requiring line of sight for some. Ones that require a target still need LOS just like a shooting attack.

Standard book psychic power require LOS if the power has a target and cannot be use through a fire point on a vehicle, the exception being a PSA that is treated as an assault weapon and can be.

2. Disembarking does not remove the effects of crew shaken or stunned from the models that were embarked. So passengers that are "crew stunned" can not fire in their next shooting phase regardless of disembarking or not. This does however not stop them from using psychic power only PSAs.

It takes a pack of Wolves to tree a Lion... here is hopping the new DA codex reflects that.
Azrell is offline  
post #5 of 12 (permalink) Old 12-01-12, 06:14 PM
Autarch of Heresy
 
Ragewind's Avatar
Ragewind's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 886
Reputation: 20
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Azrell View Post
1. Eldar codex psychic powers have their own rules covered in the codex, one being not requiring line of sight for some. Ones that require a target still need LOS just like a shooting attack.

Standard book psychic power require LOS if the power has a target and cannot be use through a fire point on a vehicle, the exception being a PSA that is treated as an assault weapon and can be.

2. Disembarking does not remove the effects of crew shaken or stunned from the models that were embarked. So passengers that are "crew stunned" can not fire in their next shooting phase regardless of disembarking or not. This does however not stop them from using psychic power only PSAs.
Clever Girl.jpg

I'm so used to the Eldar powers not needing LOS i had to go recheck the whole thing page 67 is quite clear after all, here have some Rep.

The Eldar, more than any other army, should not only look at the output of each unit individually, but the synergy of multiple units together and their role in the force as a whole. - Fable

Ragewind is offline  
post #6 of 12 (permalink) Old 12-02-12, 07:26 AM
Senior Member
 
Sworn Radical's Avatar
Sworn Radical's Flag is: Germany
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Heavily Spanking Saint Celestine
Posts: 721
Reputation: 5
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Azrell View Post
1. Eldar codex psychic powers have their own rules covered in the codex, one being not requiring line of sight for some. Ones that require a target still need LOS just like a shooting attack.
Yes, and specificaly in the case of Eldar psychic powers this means that
a.) Destructor, Eldritch Storm and Mind war are psychic shooting attacks and need LOS.
b.) Fortune, Guide and Doom can be used as stated in their codex description (for now).

Quote:
2. Disembarking does not remove the effects of crew shaken or stunned from the models that were embarked. So passengers that are "crew stunned" can not fire in their next shooting phase regardless of disembarking or not. This does however not stop them from using psychic power only PSAs.
Exactly what I wrote.
And if you come to think about it, non-PSA powers would still be used at the beginning of the movement phase, and thus before the disembarktion, so they would be covered under question 1 again.

40k Armies: Dark Eldar / Adepta Sororitas
WHFB Armies: Vampire Counts / Empire / various Elves
Horus Heresy: Alpha Legion / Warp Cult
Sworn Radical is offline  
post #7 of 12 (permalink) Old 12-02-12, 09:32 PM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
CellteX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 8
Reputation: 2
Default

Thank you all for the responses.

So do i have this down???

Fire Points only matter for the psychic shooting attacks, otherwise nothing else needs LOS, simply measure from the hull of the tank to affect a unit.
Destructor, Eldritch Storm and Mind war are psychic shooting attacks and need LOS.
Fortune, Guide and Doom can don't need LOS.

So units inside a tank that is stunned can disembark and use Non shooting pshyic attacks

But if he remains inside he can still use non shooting attacks, but can never use the ones that require LOS as it has no fire points.

Last edited by CellteX; 12-02-12 at 10:10 PM.
CellteX is offline  
post #8 of 12 (permalink) Old 12-02-12, 10:26 PM
Banned
Magpie_Oz's Flag is: Australia
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Not every shadow, but any shadow
Posts: 7,889
Reputation: 74
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by CellteX View Post
Thank you all for the responses.

So do i have this down???

Fire Points only matter for the psychic shooting attacks, otherwise nothing else needs LOS, simply measure from the hull of the tank to affect a unit.
Destructor, Eldritch Storm and Mind war are psychic shooting attacks and need LOS.
Fortune, Guide and Doom can don't need LOS.

So units inside a tank that is stunned can disembark and use Non shooting pshyic attacks

But if he remains inside he can still use non shooting attacks, but can never use the ones that require LOS as it has no fire points.
No that 's not right at all.

Check the rules on Page 67

If the power requires a target you must have LOS. The only powers that can use Fire Points are Witchfires, any other Psychic Power that targets a unit cannot use fire points.

Doom would not be able to be done from a vehicle as it "targets a non-vehicle unit within 24""
Magpie_Oz is offline  
post #9 of 12 (permalink) Old 12-02-12, 11:47 PM
Autarch of Heresy
 
Ragewind's Avatar
Ragewind's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 886
Reputation: 20
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Magpie_Oz View Post
No that 's not right at all.

Check the rules on Page 67

If the power requires a target you must have LOS. The only powers that can use Fire Points are Witchfires, any other Psychic Power that targets a unit cannot use fire points.

Doom would not be able to be done from a vehicle as it "targets a non-vehicle unit within 24""
This is very strange as none of the Eldar powers ever needed LOS before. I'm looking through the FAQ which used to expclitey say we did not need LOS and cannot find it.

The Eldar, more than any other army, should not only look at the output of each unit individually, but the synergy of multiple units together and their role in the force as a whole. - Fable

Ragewind is offline  
post #10 of 12 (permalink) Old 12-03-12, 12:00 AM
Banned
Magpie_Oz's Flag is: Australia
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Not every shadow, but any shadow
Posts: 7,889
Reputation: 74
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ragewind View Post
This is very strange as none of the Eldar powers ever needed LOS before. I'm looking through the FAQ which used to expclitey say we did not need LOS and cannot find it.
NOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO !!!!!

LOL

I was going off Doom saying "it targets"?
Magpie_Oz is offline  
Reply

  Lower Navigation
Go Back   Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums > Warhammer 40K > 40k Rules Discussion

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome