Charges and intervening models - Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums
40k Rules Discussion Post any Warhammer 40k rules queries and discussions here.

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 7 (permalink) Old 11-18-12, 03:28 PM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Igni Ferroque's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 218
Reputation: 2
Default Charges and intervening models

Cutting to the chase:

I have a friendly MC that wants to tear a tank to shreds roughly 6-8 inches away. Between the tinned food and the super friendly MC, I have a string of friendly troops standing there.

My question is, and this might sound stupid, but does the friendly squad inbetween the MC and the tank prevent the MC from making a charge attempt against the vehicle? I can understand an enemy squad causing bother, but I cant find anywhere in the rules that suggests that friendly units prevent charges.

Thanks in advance!

Even though you walk through the valley of the shadow of death, I'm there waiting... and your not coming out alive!
Igni Ferroque is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 7 (permalink) Old 11-18-12, 04:07 PM
Senior Member
 
ntaw's Avatar
ntaw's Flag is: Canada
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Mississauga, Canada
Posts: 6,323
Reputation: 99
Default

Totally had to rescind my original comment. "Charging models still cannot move through friendly or enemy models, cannot pass through gaps narrower than their base, and cannot move into contact with enemy units they aren't charging.". You gotta go around, as per the second paragraph, 'move initial charger' section. pg.21

Last edited by ntaw; 11-18-12 at 04:13 PM.
ntaw is offline  
post #3 of 7 (permalink) Old 11-18-12, 04:14 PM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Igni Ferroque's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 218
Reputation: 2
Default

Wait nm, you edited while I asked lol. Cheers bud! I feel like an idiot now, completely missed that. Thanks for the clarification!

Even though you walk through the valley of the shadow of death, I'm there waiting... and your not coming out alive!

Last edited by Igni Ferroque; 11-18-12 at 04:16 PM.
Igni Ferroque is offline  
 
post #4 of 7 (permalink) Old 11-18-12, 04:22 PM
Senior Member
 
ntaw's Avatar
ntaw's Flag is: Canada
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Mississauga, Canada
Posts: 6,323
Reputation: 99
Default

haha yeah, TOTALLY opposite initial assumption. I sometimes forget I have .pdf's of the rulebook and my 'dex on my phone.
ntaw is offline  
post #5 of 7 (permalink) Old 11-18-12, 10:07 PM
Banned
Magpie_Oz's Flag is: Australia
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Not every shadow, but any shadow
Posts: 7,889
Reputation: 74
Default

Note what the rule says, you cannot move through enemy/friendly MODELS.

So long as you can fit between the models, or between the models and the terrain (i.e. there is a gap equal to or larger than your base) you are good to go.

Is the MC's base 40mm? if so you should be able to fit through. 60mm bases would work tho'

Last edited by Magpie_Oz; 11-19-12 at 12:42 AM.
Magpie_Oz is offline  
post #6 of 7 (permalink) Old 11-18-12, 11:59 PM
Senior Member
 
ntaw's Avatar
ntaw's Flag is: Canada
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Mississauga, Canada
Posts: 6,323
Reputation: 99
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Magpie_Oz View Post
MODELS
Crucial word.
ntaw is offline  
post #7 of 7 (permalink) Old 11-19-12, 12:38 AM
Banned
Magpie_Oz's Flag is: Australia
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Not every shadow, but any shadow
Posts: 7,889
Reputation: 74
Default

That's right so therefore so long as you don't move through the space occupied by another model there is no problem.
Magpie_Oz is offline  
Reply

  Lower Navigation
Go Back   Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums > Warhammer 40K > 40k Rules Discussion

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome