Vector strike and the Black mace - Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums
40k Rules Discussion Post any Warhammer 40k rules queries and discussions here.

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 6 (permalink) Old 11-04-12, 02:29 PM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Lord Rahl's Avatar
Lord Rahl's Flag is: United Kingdom
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 632
Reputation: 1
Default Vector strike and the Black mace

So quick rules question, Can the Black mace 'Cursed' ability be used after a vector strike has been performed.

The Cursed rule states it is activated at the end of ANY PHASE the mace has caused a wound. End of move phase in which a vector strike was performed.

Vector strike does not specify whether the models weapons are used. Also does it benefit from the 'Fleshbane' rule.

Thanx in advance

All mon-keigh must die
We who are about to die, Salute you!

http://www.facebook.com/prettypreciousjewellery
Lord Rahl is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 6 (permalink) Old 11-04-12, 05:06 PM
Senior Member
 
Taggerung's Avatar
Taggerung's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Washington
Posts: 870
Reputation: 3
Default

I would say no, but that's because it states unmodified strength and already has an AP of 3, which to me means it's not using any wargear and simply just hitting it, much like hammer of wrath.



Check out my DKOK Project Log!

Armies : Raven Lords Chapter, 219th Siege Regiment and Da Grotteef Waaaaghhhh

Currently Painting : 219th Siege Regiment, about 25% done! Last updated 3/7/2013
Taggerung is offline  
post #3 of 6 (permalink) Old 11-05-12, 02:57 AM
Banned
Magpie_Oz's Flag is: Australia
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Not every shadow, but any shadow
Posts: 7,889
Reputation: 74
Default

Have another read of the Black maul rule mate, you'll see it isn't ANY phase but A phase so rather than opening up the power of the maul to any phase it is just citing the normal case of "a phase where the maul causes a wound".

As a melee weapon the phases in which it can cause a wound are pretty well laid out and do not include the movement phase in the usual instance.

Also, as Tag says, the Vector Stirke is a specifically defined attack so it, like familiars and Hammer of Wrath won't benefit from any special weapons and abilities that apply to the usual attack of the model.

Last edited by Magpie_Oz; 11-05-12 at 09:16 AM.
Magpie_Oz is offline  
 
post #4 of 6 (permalink) Old 11-05-12, 03:43 AM
Senior Member
 
Iron_Freak220's Avatar
Iron_Freak220's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Houston
Posts: 1,727
Reputation: 9
Default

From the BRB FAQ:

Q: When a model makes a Vector Strike or Hammer of Wrath, do
these attacks benefit from any special rules (such as Furious Charge,
Poisoned or Rending), or any weapons or other wargear it is
equipped with? (p37/43)
A: No.

Chaos Space Marines: Stay Spikey

Codex: The Ascended (Malice) WIP

Forging the Corruptor


Forum Formula Forever!

Iron_Freak220 is offline  
post #5 of 6 (permalink) Old 11-05-12, 04:26 AM
Senior Member
 
Taggerung's Avatar
Taggerung's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Washington
Posts: 870
Reputation: 3
Default

Well there you go. Nice find Iron Freak.



Check out my DKOK Project Log!

Armies : Raven Lords Chapter, 219th Siege Regiment and Da Grotteef Waaaaghhhh

Currently Painting : 219th Siege Regiment, about 25% done! Last updated 3/7/2013
Taggerung is offline  
post #6 of 6 (permalink) Old 11-07-12, 04:06 PM
Senior Member
 
Iron_Freak220's Avatar
Iron_Freak220's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Houston
Posts: 1,727
Reputation: 9
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Taggerung View Post
Well there you go. Nice find Iron Freak.
I actually wish I hadn't found it It would have been a pretty sweet combo.

Chaos Space Marines: Stay Spikey

Codex: The Ascended (Malice) WIP

Forging the Corruptor


Forum Formula Forever!

Iron_Freak220 is offline  
Reply

  Lower Navigation
Go Back   Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums > Warhammer 40K > 40k Rules Discussion

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome