New FAQs are Up! - Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums
40k Rules Discussion Post any Warhammer 40k rules queries and discussions here.

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 27 (permalink) Old 09-07-12, 05:44 PM Thread Starter
Token Trans Mod
 
Zion's Avatar
Zion's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: On the internet.
Posts: 6,385
Reputation: 103
Default New FAQs are Up!

Here they are!

My personal favorite since it solves this little question (From the Sisters FAQ):
Quote:
Q: When firing an exorcist launcher, what point on the weapon is
considered to be the ‘barrel’ of the weapon for measuring purposes?
(p100)
A: Any of the pipes of the organ.
Not all of my questions there got answered but at least the Sisters have more than a single page FAQ.

EDIT: And from the Blood Angels FAQ:

Quote:
Page 53 – Commander Dante, The Axe Mortalis.
Replace the entry with the “The Axe Mortalis is a power axe
with the Master-crafted special rule.”
Quote:
Page 45 – Astorath the Grim, The Executioner’s Axe.
Replace the first sentence with the following profile:
Range S AP Type -
- 6 2 Melee, Two-handed, Unwieldy
Tyranid FAQ:

Quote:
Q: Are Zooming Flyers or Swooping Flying Monstrous Creatures
affected by Mawloc’s Terror From the Deep special rule? (p51)
A: No. However, if the Mawloc cannot be placed because a
Zooming Flyer or a Swooping Flying Monstrous Creature is in
the way, move the obstructing model by the shortest distance so
that they are 1" away from the Mawloc when it is placed.
Chaos Marine FAQ:
Quote:
Page 48 – Khârn the Betrayer, Gorechild.
Replace the last sentence with the following profile:
Range S AP Type
Gorechild - +1 2 Melee, Armourbane, Unwieldy
Big Book FAQ:
Quote:
Page 49 – Flying Monstrous Creatures, Grounded Tests.
Change the second sentence of the third paragraph to read “A
Grounded Flying Monstrous Creature is treated as if it is in
Glide mode with immediate effect, and can therefore be
targeted normally and charged in the following Assault phase.
Furthermore, the model automatically loses the Jink special
rule (if it had it), but can otherwise revert to Swoop mode
again in its next turn.”
Quote:
Q: How do maelstroms, novas and beams – or indeed any weapon
that doesn’t need to roll To Hit or hits automatically – interact with
Zooming Flyers and Gliding Flying Monstrous Creatures? (p13)
A: Only Snap Shots can hit Zooming Flyers and Gliding
Flying Monstrous Creatures. Therefore, any attacks that use
blast markers, templates, create a line of/area of effect or
otherwise don’t roll to hit cannot target them. This includes
weapons such as the Necron Doom Scythe’s death ray or the
Deathstrike missile of the Imperial Guard, and psychic
powers that follow the rule for maelstroms, beams, and
novas.
Quote:
Q: Can a Swooping Flying Monstrous Creature make a Vector Strike
against a Zooming Flyer? (p49)
A: Yes.
Quote:
Q: Do hits by Tau markerlights, or other items of wargear that cause
hits but do not inflict damage, require a Swooping Flying Monstrous
Creature to take a Grounded test. (p49)
A: Yes.
Quote:
Q: If a Psyker uses a beam power on an Infantry unit in front of
him and the beam proceeds to pass over the base of a Zooming Flyer
or Swooping Flying Monstrous Creature, is it also hit by the attack?
(p69)
A: No.
Quote:
Q: Which missile launchers have access to flakk missiles? (p57/415)
A: Only those that specifically have an option to take them as
an upgrade in their army list.
That should solve some arguments I think.

Last edited by Zion; 09-07-12 at 06:13 PM.
Zion is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 27 (permalink) Old 09-07-12, 11:52 PM
Banned
Magpie_Oz's Flag is: Australia
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Not every shadow, but any shadow
Posts: 7,889
Reputation: 74
Default

Fame at last ! My Animus Speculum question made it in !

Nice to see the Grave Chute/Shadow Skies/Skies of Blood have been brought back into alignment as suspected they should be as well as we've resolved the Challenge wounds question.

Look out Sir has had a big change too.

And my all time favourite

Quote:
Q: Does a model with an weapon at its normal
Initiative step and then fight at Initiative step 1? (p22/23)
A: No – it Piles In and fights at Initiative step 1.
POOP! Paladins aren't characters anymore !

Last edited by Magpie_Oz; 09-08-12 at 12:11 AM.
Magpie_Oz is offline  
post #3 of 27 (permalink) Old 09-08-12, 01:26 AM
Senior Moderator
 
DeathKlokk's Avatar
DeathKlokk's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Nashville, TN
Posts: 5,719
Reputation: 20
Default

Quote:
Q: Does a weapon that hits automatically, still hit automatically when
making a Snap Shot? (p13)
A: Yes.
Quote:
Q: How do mmaaeellssttrroommss, nnoovvaassand bbeeaammss– or indeed any weapon
that doesn’t need to roll To Hit or hits automatically – interact with
Zooming FFllyyeerrssand GGlliiddiinngg FFllyyiinngg MMoonnssttrroouuss CCrreeaattuurreess? (p13)
A: Only Snap Shots can hit Zooming Flyers and Gliding
Flying Monstrous Creatures. Therefore, any attacks that use
blast markers, templates, create a line of/area of effect or
otherwise don’t roll to hit
cannot target them. This includes
weapons such as the Necron Doom Scythe’s death ray or the
Deathstrike missile of the Imperial Guard, and psychic
powers that follow the rule for maelstroms, beams, and
novas.
WTF?

Strange, but not a Stranger.
DeathKlokk is offline  
 
post #4 of 27 (permalink) Old 09-08-12, 01:32 AM
Senior Member
 
Iron_Freak220's Avatar
Iron_Freak220's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Houston
Posts: 1,727
Reputation: 9
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DeathKlokk View Post
WTF?
I believe the thought behind that ruling is the weapons are so accurate that they miss entirely. Makes sense to me.

Chaos Space Marines: Stay Spikey

Codex: The Ascended (Malice) WIP

Forging the Corruptor


Forum Formula Forever!

Iron_Freak220 is offline  
post #5 of 27 (permalink) Old 09-08-12, 01:38 AM
Senior Moderator
 
DeathKlokk's Avatar
DeathKlokk's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Nashville, TN
Posts: 5,719
Reputation: 20
Default

Whaaaaaat?!

Strange, but not a Stranger.
DeathKlokk is offline  
post #6 of 27 (permalink) Old 09-08-12, 01:49 AM
Nectar of the Gods!
 
shampawnya's Avatar
shampawnya's Flag is: Canada
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Lloydminster, SK CANADA
Posts: 58
Reputation: 1
Default

Finally a ruling on Dante's Axe... Not what I was hoping for but at least closure! Thanks for posting the link!
shampawnya is offline  
post #7 of 27 (permalink) Old 09-08-12, 02:04 AM
Jeep's and Harley's
 
OIIIIIIO's Avatar
OIIIIIIO's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Sparta
Posts: 1,997
Reputation: 10
Default

Not only a ruling on Dante but a proper fucking of the BA codex .... Astorath's Axe was a PRIME example of an unusual PW .... WTF happened there?
OIIIIIIO is offline  
post #8 of 27 (permalink) Old 09-08-12, 02:49 AM
Autarch of Heresy
 
Ragewind's Avatar
Ragewind's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 886
Reputation: 20
Default

The Eldar FAQ makes me cry

I'm with Deathklokk on
Quote:
Q: Does a weapon that hits automatically, still hit automatically when
making a Snap Shot? (p13)
A: Yes.
Quote:
Q: How do mmaaeellssttrroommss, nnoovvaassand bbeeaammss– or indeed any weapon
that doesn’t need to roll To Hit or hits automatically – interact with
Zooming FFllyyeerrssand GGlliiddiinngg FFllyyiinngg MMoonnssttrroouuss CCrreeaattuurreess? (p13)
A: Only Snap Shots can hit Zooming Flyers and Gliding
Flying Monstrous Creatures. Therefore, any attacks that use
blast markers, templates, create a line of/area of effect or
otherwise don’t roll to hit cannot target them. This includes
weapons such as the Necron Doom Scythe’s death ray or the
Deathstrike missile of the Imperial Guard, and psychic
powers that follow the rule for maelstroms, beams, and
novas.

The Eldar, more than any other army, should not only look at the output of each unit individually, but the synergy of multiple units together and their role in the force as a whole. - Fable

Ragewind is offline  
post #9 of 27 (permalink) Old 09-08-12, 04:04 AM
Senior Moderator
 
DeathKlokk's Avatar
DeathKlokk's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Nashville, TN
Posts: 5,719
Reputation: 20
Default

Rage, what changed for the worse for the Eldar? Intercept actually does something now! (I just bought two boxes of Hawks last week!)

Strange, but not a Stranger.
DeathKlokk is offline  
post #10 of 27 (permalink) Old 09-08-12, 04:46 AM
Senior Member
 
Fallen's Avatar
Fallen's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Ohio
Posts: 3,689
Reputation: 19
Default

i guess all of the psy auto hitting powers only go high enough to NOT hit flying units

Quote:
Originally Posted by neilbatte
if you squint the Sigmar stuff doesn't all look like the love children from a Necron and Blood Angel orgy.
Fallen is offline  
Reply

  Lower Navigation
Go Back   Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums > Warhammer 40K > 40k Rules Discussion

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome