6th Ed. Wound Allocation Question - Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums
40k Rules Discussion Post any Warhammer 40k rules queries and discussions here.

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 54 (permalink) Old 08-01-12, 11:07 PM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 423
Reputation: 7
Default 6th Ed. Wound Allocation Question

If a Terminator Librarian who has successfully cast the Divination power Precognition is in a unit of Terminators, and they get shot at, would the Librarian get the benefit of his re-rollable save? In this case, would the re-rollable 2+ count as a better/different save as opposed to the 2+ save of the Terminators? This came up in a game where the Librarian was the closest model to the shooting unit and my opponent argued that the re-roll didnt make the Libby's save different from that of the Termies, and so all the saves should be taken together. Could I get a ruling?

The Grey Knights: Because Huzzah for Blind Faith and Unreasonable Hatred!
Routine is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 54 (permalink) Old 08-01-12, 11:16 PM
Banned
Magpie_Oz's Flag is: Australia
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Not every shadow, but any shadow
Posts: 7,889
Reputation: 74
Default

I don't think it is really a matter of a specific rule as to whether a save is different or not but more so whether you need to keep the save results identifiable for each mini.

If they all have a vanilla 2+, for example GK Termies one of whom has a Warding Stave, then it doesn't matter because each mini has 2+ and that is that.

With the example you quote they all have a 2+ save of some form so what I'd do is roll all the saves, get the unsaved ones and then have the libby re-roll one by one until he dies then pass the wounds onto the next character.

I don't see that rolling save/re-roll/save/re-roll makes any practical difference to rolling them all then re-rolling the ones that are not saved.

He can of course Look Out Sir in amongst all that too.....
Magpie_Oz is offline  
post #3 of 54 (permalink) Old 08-02-12, 12:17 AM
Senior Member
 
PlagueMarineXenon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Buffalo, NY
Posts: 196
Reputation: 1
Default

They wouldn't necessarily be different. Seeing as the rest of the unit is the same except for the ability to re-roll. You take the wounds, roll your 2+ save. Re-roll any unsaved and allocate like normal. Say you have 8 wounds. First roll leaves you with 4 left. You re-roll and get a rather unlucky outcome and it only took 1 more away. If the librarian has 2 wounds, he dies and the third goes onto the next guy back automatically with no more saves.
PlagueMarineXenon is offline  
 
post #4 of 54 (permalink) Old 08-02-12, 12:33 AM
Banned
Magpie_Oz's Flag is: Australia
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Not every shadow, but any shadow
Posts: 7,889
Reputation: 74
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by PlagueMarineXenon View Post
They wouldn't necessarily be different. Seeing as the rest of the unit is the same except for the ability to re-roll. You take the wounds, roll your 2+ save. Re-roll any unsaved and allocate like normal. Say you have 8 wounds. First roll leaves you with 4 left. You re-roll and get a rather unlucky outcome and it only took 1 more away. If the librarian has 2 wounds, he dies and the third goes onto the next guy back automatically with no more saves.
I don't think that would quite work, you can't re-roll all of the unsaved, only the ones that go to the Libby. So if you re-roll all 8 that means all eight are going on the libby which isn't correct. If he fails the first two re-rolls then the remaining 6 go against the rest of the squad.

So it would have to go something like:

8 wounds from the attack
4 Armour Saves failed
First of the four to the libby, re-roll fail, take a wound
Second of the four, re-roll success,
Thrid of the four, re-roll fail, libby dies
Fourth of the four kills another termie.
Magpie_Oz is offline  
post #5 of 54 (permalink) Old 08-02-12, 12:37 AM
Senior Member
 
PlagueMarineXenon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Buffalo, NY
Posts: 196
Reputation: 1
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Magpie_Oz View Post
I don't think that would quite work, you can't re-roll all of the unsaved, only the ones that go to the Libby. So if you re-roll all 8 that means all eight are going on the libby which isn't correct. If he fails the first two re-rolls then the remaining 6 go against the rest of the squad.

So it would have to go something like:

8 wounds from the attack
4 Armour Saves failed
First of the four to the libby, re-roll fail, take a wound
Second of the four, re-roll success,
Thrid of the four, re-roll fail, libby dies
Fourth of the four kills another termie.
True enough
PlagueMarineXenon is offline  
post #6 of 54 (permalink) Old 08-02-12, 12:37 AM
ZOMGZOR CUSTOM USER TITLE
 
scscofield's Avatar
scscofield's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Finger Lakes Region of NY
Posts: 6,195
Reputation: 56
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Magpie_Oz View Post
I don't think that would quite work, you can't re-roll all of the unsaved, only the ones that go to the Libby. So if you re-roll all 8 that means all eight are going on the libby which isn't correct. If he fails the first two re-rolls then the remaining 6 go against the rest of the squad.

So it would have to go something like:

8 wounds from the attack
4 Armour Saves failed
First of the four to the libby, re-roll fail, take a wound
Second of the four, re-roll success,
Thrid of the four, re-roll fail, libby dies
Fourth of the four kills another termie.

This....

http://i.imgur.com/aPfHUHy.gif?1




scscofield is offline  
post #7 of 54 (permalink) Old 08-02-12, 12:42 AM
Banned
Magpie_Oz's Flag is: Australia
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Not every shadow, but any shadow
Posts: 7,889
Reputation: 74
Default

I don't want to reroute the debate but could it also be:

8 wounds from the attack
4 Armour Saves failed
First of the four to the libby, re-roll fail, (look out sir !, succeed, Termie dies)
Second of the four, re-roll success,
Thrid of the four, re-roll fail, (look out sir, fail) libby takes a wound
Fourth of the four re-roll success,

??????????
Magpie_Oz is offline  
post #8 of 54 (permalink) Old 08-02-12, 12:44 AM
ZOMGZOR CUSTOM USER TITLE
 
scscofield's Avatar
scscofield's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Finger Lakes Region of NY
Posts: 6,195
Reputation: 56
Default

I don't think that works, by doing Look Out Sir you are in essence rerolling a reroll.....?

http://i.imgur.com/aPfHUHy.gif?1




scscofield is offline  
post #9 of 54 (permalink) Old 08-02-12, 12:52 AM
Senior Member
 
PlagueMarineXenon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Buffalo, NY
Posts: 196
Reputation: 1
Default

I would think it's perfectly legit as I don't think there's anything that mentions look out sir! can't be used after a failed re-roll. Even says when a wound (or unsaved wound) is allocated to one of your characters, an attempt can be made.
PlagueMarineXenon is offline  
post #10 of 54 (permalink) Old 08-02-12, 12:54 AM
Senior Member
 
PlagueMarineXenon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Buffalo, NY
Posts: 196
Reputation: 1
Default

I think the question becomes, is your librarian worth sacrificing the rest of the unit of termies to keep?
PlagueMarineXenon is offline  
Reply

  Lower Navigation
Go Back   Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums > Warhammer 40K > 40k Rules Discussion

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome