6th Ed. Wound Allocation Question - Page 2 - Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums
40k Rules Discussion Post any Warhammer 40k rules queries and discussions here.

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #11 of 54 (permalink) Old 08-02-12, 01:54 AM
ZOMGZOR CUSTOM USER TITLE
 
scscofield's Avatar
scscofield's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Finger Lakes Region of NY
Posts: 6,195
Reputation: 56
Default

The thing is, you have 4 failed saves, these the libby can reroll. I am thinking you have to los before he makes his reroll. Otherwise you are rerolling a failed save, failing it, then 'rerolling the reroll' with los.

http://i.imgur.com/aPfHUHy.gif?1




scscofield is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #12 of 54 (permalink) Old 08-02-12, 02:04 AM
Banned
Magpie_Oz's Flag is: Australia
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Not every shadow, but any shadow
Posts: 7,889
Reputation: 74
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by scscofield View Post
I don't think that works, by doing Look Out Sir you are in essence rerolling a reroll.....?
I don't think so, not sure, but I look at it more like a FNP roll, you are just taking a test to see if you can divert the wound some other way.

If it was a re-roll the parameters would be the same but FNP you need 5+ and LoS you need 2+ for the Libby but other characters are 4+ so it is a whole new process not a re-roll
Magpie_Oz is offline  
post #13 of 54 (permalink) Old 08-02-12, 02:18 AM
Senior Member
 
ohiocat110's Avatar
ohiocat110's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 383
Reputation: 1
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Magpie_Oz View Post
With the example you quote they all have a 2+ save of some form so what I'd do is roll all the saves, get the unsaved ones and then have the libby re-roll one by one until he dies then pass the wounds onto the next character.

I don't see that rolling save/re-roll/save/re-roll makes any practical difference to rolling them all then re-rolling the ones that are not saved.

He can of course Look Out Sir in amongst all that too.....
I concur with this.

All saves are 2+ so you roll them all at once. Then start allocating wounds with the nearest model (the Libby), and take your re-rolls one by one until either he's dead or you run out of wounds. Then if you fail the re-roll you can Look Out Sir.

Look Out Sir is not a re-roll. It's a separate rule that allows a character to transfer a wound, if available.
ohiocat110 is offline  
 
post #14 of 54 (permalink) Old 08-02-12, 02:20 AM
ZOMGZOR CUSTOM USER TITLE
 
scscofield's Avatar
scscofield's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Finger Lakes Region of NY
Posts: 6,195
Reputation: 56
Default

Read the rules again and have to agree with you guys, just seems so broken to me is why I always question it I guess.

http://i.imgur.com/aPfHUHy.gif?1




scscofield is offline  
post #15 of 54 (permalink) Old 08-02-12, 02:22 AM
Senior Member
 
PlagueMarineXenon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Buffalo, NY
Posts: 196
Reputation: 1
Default

Oh it's cheesy alright as in that scenario it's nearly impossible to wound the librarian.
PlagueMarineXenon is offline  
post #16 of 54 (permalink) Old 08-02-12, 02:25 AM
Banned
Magpie_Oz's Flag is: Australia
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Not every shadow, but any shadow
Posts: 7,889
Reputation: 74
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by scscofield View Post
Read the rules again and have to agree with you guys, just seems so broken to me is why I always question it I guess.
I kinda agree. Any rule that is so way out there in terms of reality always grates a bit on me. I mean really ....

Dakka Dakka Dakka Dakka Dakka Dakka

ping, ping,

Owwww Crap! that smarts

"I give my life for thee my Captain arrrrrrr"

Ping

"look out my liege that bullet is going to get through your armour.. permit me"
"be my guest mate "
"Arrrrgh"

Ping
Magpie_Oz is offline  
post #17 of 54 (permalink) Old 08-02-12, 02:28 AM
ZOMGZOR CUSTOM USER TITLE
 
scscofield's Avatar
scscofield's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Finger Lakes Region of NY
Posts: 6,195
Reputation: 56
Default

I am cool with the rule but the fact that you can fail a save, then toss it away is what annoys me. I feel that it should have been a 'before the save roll' thing.

http://i.imgur.com/aPfHUHy.gif?1




scscofield is offline  
post #18 of 54 (permalink) Old 08-02-12, 09:39 AM
Senior Member
 
Aramoro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 7,314
Reputation: 5
Default

If the Armour saves in the target unit are all the same then you roll them all together so the Libby will not get to re-roll his save as he's not had a hits allocated to him. You'll roll all your saves at the same time, then assign unsaved wounds, then make Look Out Sir rolls.

Aramoro

"Violence isn't the answer, I just like getting it wrong on purpose"

Sally Forth! - My Gaming Blog
Aramoro is offline  
post #19 of 54 (permalink) Old 08-02-12, 11:35 AM
Tzeentch laughs at likely
 
Dave T Hobbit's Avatar
Dave T Hobbit's Flag is: Europe
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Inside my Head, Bristol, UK
Posts: 8,553
Reputation: 44
Default

The alleged shenanigan with LoS and rerolls is due to assuming the short-cut is the rule.

The basic wound process is:
(1.1) allocate first wound
(1.2) take (or don't) LoS
(1.3) roll save of model upon which wound now rests
(1.4) remove any casualty
(2.1) Allocate second wound

The short-cut of rolling more thna one wound at a time is stated to be a way of speeding it up where the effect is the same; e.g. it not mattering statistically whether you roll the LoS before or after as the chance of success is either (1.2)x(1.3) or (1.3)x(1.2). Where the chance is not the same the short-cut does not apply.

Last edited by Dave T Hobbit; 08-02-12 at 11:38 AM.
Dave T Hobbit is offline  
post #20 of 54 (permalink) Old 08-02-12, 11:42 AM
Senior Member
 
Aramoro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 7,314
Reputation: 5
Default

It's actually slightly different from that, not a short cut as such and takes us into the realm of 'best armour save' again.

If the unit all has the same armour save, wounds are not allocated to models until after all they saves have been taken. Then you can take your LoS rolls on those unsaved woulds. So everyone has a 2+ save you roll 2+ saves against all the wounds caused, then allocate the unsaved wounds as per wound allocation. The saves are not rolled by the models but the units so if one model has a reroll he doesn't get to use it.

That said if you resolved every attack as if the target unit had mixed armour saves you get the same result really, but without an uncertain number of LoS's to make.

Now is a 2+ rerollable armour save the same as a 2+ save? I think so but I'm sure some people will disagree.

Aramoro

"Violence isn't the answer, I just like getting it wrong on purpose"

Sally Forth! - My Gaming Blog

Last edited by Aramoro; 08-02-12 at 11:44 AM.
Aramoro is offline  
Reply

  Lower Navigation
Go Back   Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums > Warhammer 40K > 40k Rules Discussion

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome