Flyers with Scout - Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums
40k Rules Discussion Post any Warhammer 40k rules queries and discussions here.

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 8 (permalink) Old 07-31-12, 10:44 PM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
davespil's Avatar
davespil's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Stuck in texas
Posts: 853
Reputation: 2
Default Flyers with Scout

The Vandetta has Scout USR. Does that mean it can deploy on the table and get the 12" move or must it come in from reserves?

Have guns, will travel...
davespil is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 8 (permalink) Old 08-01-12, 12:44 AM
Senior Member
 
Archaon18's Avatar
Archaon18's Flag is: England
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Teabagging your corpse!
Posts: 622
Reputation: 1
Default

It must come in from reserves, being a flyer but because it is off the field it cannot benefit from redeployment.

Lasguns- You can never have too little firepower
My Tactics Blog - ChaosTactica

Quote:
Originally Posted by KingOfCheese View Post
"Hey babe, want me to Power Fist your Pink Horror?"

"Is it ok if my Old One Eye penetrates your Devilfish?"
Archaon18 is offline  
post #3 of 8 (permalink) Old 08-01-12, 12:52 AM
I Piss in your Cheerios
 
TheKingElessar's Avatar
TheKingElessar's Flag is: United Kingdom
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Northern Ireland
Posts: 7,370
Reputation: 2
Default

It is still a Flyer, nothing overrides this.

The only benefit is the ability to Outflank.
TheKingElessar is offline  
 
post #4 of 8 (permalink) Old 08-01-12, 12:59 AM
Senior Member
Arcane's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 1,811
Reputation: 13
Default

Using it to Outflank can be beneficial while zooming since you can optimalize your flight path to take advantage of rear/side armor.
Arcane is offline  
post #5 of 8 (permalink) Old 08-01-12, 06:52 AM
WFB Moderator
 
Tim/Steve's Avatar
Tim/Steve's Flag is: United Kingdom
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Worcestershire, UK
Posts: 8,248
Reputation: 13
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Arcane View Post
Using it to Outflank can be beneficial while zooming since you can optimalize your flight path to take advantage of rear/side armor.
I really disagree with that- getting locked into using a smaller table edge will often hurt, not help. With a 36" move you should at least get side armour of any tank... while entering from from the side a clever opponent can cover their their rear and mebbe their side. Only time I would outflank a flyer is when you play the sideways deployment

Tim/Steve is offline  
post #6 of 8 (permalink) Old 08-02-12, 09:40 AM
Senior Member
 
Azrell's Avatar
Azrell's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Utah, yeah we have 40k here too.....
Posts: 548
Reputation: 2
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tim/Steve View Post
I really disagree with that- getting locked into using a smaller table edge will often hurt, not help. With a 36" move you should at least get side armour of any tank... while entering from from the side a clever opponent can cover their their rear and mebbe their side. Only time I would outflank a flyer is when you play the sideways deployment
but you only get to make one turn before you move... most people point the front armor of vehicles at the side of the board with stuff that's shooting at them.

It takes a pack of Wolves to tree a Lion... here is hopping the new DA codex reflects that.
Azrell is offline  
post #7 of 8 (permalink) Old 08-03-12, 04:22 PM
I Piss in your Cheerios
 
TheKingElessar's Avatar
TheKingElessar's Flag is: United Kingdom
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Northern Ireland
Posts: 7,370
Reputation: 2
Default

Tim/Steve, you only have to move 18, and can then go to Hover mode, it'd be fine with Imperial vehicles.
TheKingElessar is offline  
post #8 of 8 (permalink) Old 08-03-12, 04:49 PM
Senior Member
 
ntaw's Avatar
ntaw's Flag is: Canada
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Mississauga, Canada
Posts: 6,323
Reputation: 99
Default

This one's in the same realm of things, but with a slightly different twist. If you roll for outflank as a warlord trait, and that warlord who can't specifically have a dedicated transport which is what's referenced in the USR section, does it still convey the special rule to the transport he/she is deployed in?
ntaw is offline  
Reply

  Lower Navigation
Go Back   Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums > Warhammer 40K > 40k Rules Discussion

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome