Some questions about fliers - Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums
40k Rules Discussion Post any Warhammer 40k rules queries and discussions here.

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 21 (permalink) Old 07-31-12, 02:20 AM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
ntaw's Avatar
ntaw's Flag is: Canada
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Mississauga, Canada
Posts: 6,323
Reputation: 99
Default Some questions about fliers

In the BRB under fliers, it says that a zooming flier can shoot up to four of its weapons at full BS. The very next paragraph says that all shots against a zooming flier must be resolved as snap shots. Forgive me if this is a total noob question....but if one flier shoots at another flier does it use its own BS or is it a snap shot?

Also, can a flier still elect to zoom after a unit has disembarked? It says models cannot embark or disembark from a zooming flier, but the decision for it to zoom comes after that decision to disembark. I get that people can't jump into (or out of) a flier that's zooming across the battlefield, but the idea that a flier could zoom in, have its units disembark, then zoom away makes sense in the logical part of my mind. I feel like that's what storm ravens (in my particular instance) are meant to do.

These were some things that came up in a recent game, and since my friend and I are both new to 6th and the dudes at the local GW often offer poor advice I thought I'd shoot it out to the forum and see what comes back. I'd appreciate any help with these conundrums!
ntaw is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 21 (permalink) Old 07-31-12, 02:22 AM
ZOMGZOR CUSTOM USER TITLE
 
scscofield's Avatar
scscofield's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Finger Lakes Region of NY
Posts: 6,195
Reputation: 56
Default

Further in I think on the next page it states that Flyers can elect to have Skyfire for that turn.

http://i.imgur.com/aPfHUHy.gif?1




scscofield is offline  
post #3 of 21 (permalink) Old 07-31-12, 03:19 AM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
ntaw's Avatar
ntaw's Flag is: Canada
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Mississauga, Canada
Posts: 6,323
Reputation: 99
Default

Thanks scscofield, sometimes you just don't see the answer even when you're staring at it! Any light on the second issue there or is it just a moot argument? It seems like a sweet little loop hole if you can zoom on the board one turn, disembark units (before moving) and then decide to zoom the following.
ntaw is offline  
 
post #4 of 21 (permalink) Old 07-31-12, 04:59 AM
Senior Moderator
 
DeathKlokk's Avatar
DeathKlokk's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Nashville, TN
Posts: 5,719
Reputation: 20
Default

For the second one, Zooming seems to be the default movement for Flyers so it would be assumed to be zooming until you declare that it is Hovering. Then you could embark/disembark passengers.

Strange, but not a Stranger.
DeathKlokk is offline  
post #5 of 21 (permalink) Old 07-31-12, 05:09 AM
ZOMGZOR CUSTOM USER TITLE
 
scscofield's Avatar
scscofield's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Finger Lakes Region of NY
Posts: 6,195
Reputation: 56
Default

Am at work so can't verify but I want to say the hover box in the bottom right corner of the second page on flyers states you have to declare zoom/ hover at the start of your turn. Again at work so I can't verify.

http://i.imgur.com/aPfHUHy.gif?1




scscofield is offline  
post #6 of 21 (permalink) Old 07-31-12, 05:31 AM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
ntaw's Avatar
ntaw's Flag is: Canada
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Mississauga, Canada
Posts: 6,323
Reputation: 99
Default

The book says it must state whether or not it's hovering or zooming before it moves in the movement phase. In the disembarking section, it says that if a squad disembarks from a transport before it moves it can move as normal, as if nothing happened. Since you don't have to declare it's move at all before the disembarkation...couldn't I drop off troops and then declare that the flyer is going to zoom? Honestly, if I've got this backwards I wouldn't be surprised. Just seems like it should work.
ntaw is offline  
post #7 of 21 (permalink) Old 07-31-12, 05:35 AM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
ntaw's Avatar
ntaw's Flag is: Canada
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Mississauga, Canada
Posts: 6,323
Reputation: 99
Default

I guess in the fliers section it says that no unit can embark/disembark from a zooming flier, but if it's neither at the beginning of your movement phase and you embark can the rule retroactively make something you just did illegal? This game's all about the order in which you do things, and this would be a huge boon to fliers that are also transports.
ntaw is offline  
post #8 of 21 (permalink) Old 07-31-12, 05:46 AM
Senior Member
 
Taggerung's Avatar
Taggerung's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Washington
Posts: 870
Reputation: 3
Default

It's considered a zooming flyer until you enter hover mode.



Check out my DKOK Project Log!

Armies : Raven Lords Chapter, 219th Siege Regiment and Da Grotteef Waaaaghhhh

Currently Painting : 219th Siege Regiment, about 25% done! Last updated 3/7/2013
Taggerung is offline  
post #9 of 21 (permalink) Old 07-31-12, 06:02 AM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
ntaw's Avatar
ntaw's Flag is: Canada
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Mississauga, Canada
Posts: 6,323
Reputation: 99
Default

Got it. Thank you!
ntaw is offline  
post #10 of 21 (permalink) Old 07-31-12, 06:07 AM
ZOMGZOR CUSTOM USER TITLE
 
scscofield's Avatar
scscofield's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Finger Lakes Region of NY
Posts: 6,195
Reputation: 56
Default

What he said, I would say you can zoom after they disembark, but it would have to be in Hover from the prior turn. Not sure what others think of that thought process.

http://i.imgur.com/aPfHUHy.gif?1




scscofield is offline  
Reply

  Lower Navigation
Go Back   Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums > Warhammer 40K > 40k Rules Discussion

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome