skyshield and non-hover Flyers - Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums
40k Rules Discussion Post any Warhammer 40k rules queries and discussions here.

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 14 (permalink) Old 07-26-12, 01:24 PM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Creon's Avatar
Creon's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Alexandria, VA
Posts: 4,166
Reputation: 16
Default skyshield and non-hover Flyers

Can a Flyer without hover mode land on a Skyshield?
Creon is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 14 (permalink) Old 07-26-12, 01:33 PM
Senior Member
 
darklove's Avatar
darklove's Flag is: United Kingdom
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Hampshire
Posts: 3,648
Reputation: 2
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Creon View Post
Can a Flyer without hover mode land on a Skyshield?
As I see it, in order to land a Flier must enter Hover mode - Zooming Fliers ignore all terrain and terrain effects.

All that is important is known.
Praxis
darklove is offline  
post #3 of 14 (permalink) Old 07-26-12, 05:46 PM
Senior Member
 
Taggerung's Avatar
Taggerung's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Washington
Posts: 870
Reputation: 3
Default

I imagine it can...but only as a flaming wreck when it lands lol



Check out my DKOK Project Log!

Armies : Raven Lords Chapter, 219th Siege Regiment and Da Grotteef Waaaaghhhh

Currently Painting : 219th Siege Regiment, about 25% done! Last updated 3/7/2013
Taggerung is offline  
 
post #4 of 14 (permalink) Old 07-26-12, 07:10 PM
Senior Member
 
Starsplice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Fort Worth, TX
Posts: 189
Reputation: 1
Default

no it can't. gotta move 18" minimum or suffer bad things.

Quote:
Originally Posted by mcmuffin View Post
Oh my sweet fuck, seriously? "I don't think it should work like it is written so let's compromise" is not a valid argument.
Starsplice is offline  
post #5 of 14 (permalink) Old 07-26-12, 10:42 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 199
Reputation: 1
Default

Yea, that's not a flyer, it is a lander ;)
Emperors Knights is offline  
post #6 of 14 (permalink) Old 07-26-12, 11:16 PM
Senior Moderator
 
DeathKlokk's Avatar
DeathKlokk's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Nashville, TN
Posts: 5,719
Reputation: 20
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Starsplice View Post
no it can't. gotta move 18" minimum or suffer bad things.
But it can move 18" and end it's move on top of the Pad.

Strange, but not a Stranger.
DeathKlokk is offline  
post #7 of 14 (permalink) Old 07-26-12, 11:23 PM
ZOMGZOR CUSTOM USER TITLE
 
scscofield's Avatar
scscofield's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Finger Lakes Region of NY
Posts: 6,195
Reputation: 56
Default

It isn't on it though, it is 'over' it.

http://i.imgur.com/aPfHUHy.gif?1




scscofield is offline  
post #8 of 14 (permalink) Old 07-26-12, 11:27 PM
Senior Moderator
 
DeathKlokk's Avatar
DeathKlokk's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Nashville, TN
Posts: 5,719
Reputation: 20
Default

Nothing in the rules supports that. It may be placed on terrain exactly like a Skimmer. are yo usaying Skimmers cannot gain the Skyshield save?

Strange, but not a Stranger.
DeathKlokk is offline  
post #9 of 14 (permalink) Old 07-26-12, 11:30 PM
ZOMGZOR CUSTOM USER TITLE
 
scscofield's Avatar
scscofield's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Finger Lakes Region of NY
Posts: 6,195
Reputation: 56
Default

Hmm very true now that I look over the rules again, guess that would be a good way to get a save.

http://i.imgur.com/aPfHUHy.gif?1




scscofield is offline  
post #10 of 14 (permalink) Old 07-27-12, 01:41 AM
Senior Member
 
Starsplice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Fort Worth, TX
Posts: 189
Reputation: 1
Default

This is a great example of actual rules and fluff being added by people, even myself. I figured that you have to "land" the flier to get the 4+ save. However when reading the rules nothing says anything about "landing". The rules just say "units on top of a shielded Skyshield Landing Pad have a 4+ invuln."

Since when a flier stops they can indeed be over terrain including the Skyshield, I would think they do indeed get the 4+. I for some reason thought you have to go into hover mode to "land" on the pad. well I'm wrong. I would say that you just gotta be on top like the rules say, even though it makes no sense that a moving flier gets a save on a landing pad. But that doesn't matter, rules don't support that logic so too bad.

Quote:
Originally Posted by mcmuffin View Post
Oh my sweet fuck, seriously? "I don't think it should work like it is written so let's compromise" is not a valid argument.
Starsplice is offline  
Reply

  Lower Navigation
Go Back   Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums > Warhammer 40K > 40k Rules Discussion

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome