Twin-linked Flamers and Overwatch - Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums
40k Rules Discussion Post any Warhammer 40k rules queries and discussions here.

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 10 (permalink) Old 07-22-12, 10:54 PM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Iron_Freak220's Avatar
Iron_Freak220's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Houston
Posts: 1,727
Reputation: 9
Default Twin-linked Flamers and Overwatch

Does anybody think that twin-linked flamers would get to re-roll the D3 for their Overwatch hits? Or just the to-wound rolls?

I know 5th (and I assume 6th ((no rulebook on me)) said that twin-linked flamers got to re-roll to wounds because there were no to hits. But with Overwatch, now there are hits involved with flamers.

Chaos Space Marines: Stay Spikey

Codex: The Ascended (Malice) WIP

Forging the Corruptor


Forum Formula Forever!

Iron_Freak220 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 10 (permalink) Old 07-22-12, 10:57 PM
Senior Member
 
Aramoro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 7,314
Reputation: 5
Default

Just the wounds because that what Twin-linked flamers do.

Aramoro

"Violence isn't the answer, I just like getting it wrong on purpose"

Sally Forth! - My Gaming Blog
Aramoro is offline  
post #3 of 10 (permalink) Old 07-22-12, 11:02 PM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Iron_Freak220's Avatar
Iron_Freak220's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Houston
Posts: 1,727
Reputation: 9
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Aramoro View Post
Just the wounds because that what Twin-linked flamers do.
Woulda been cool though.

Chaos Space Marines: Stay Spikey

Codex: The Ascended (Malice) WIP

Forging the Corruptor


Forum Formula Forever!

Iron_Freak220 is offline  
 
post #4 of 10 (permalink) Old 07-22-12, 11:04 PM
Senior Member
 
ntaw's Avatar
ntaw's Flag is: Canada
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Mississauga, Canada
Posts: 6,323
Reputation: 99
Default

p. 21: Any shots fired as overwatch can only be fired as snap shots

Template weapons cannot fire overwatch. That bit's in the one paragraph that details Snap Shots on p. 13.
ntaw is offline  
post #5 of 10 (permalink) Old 07-22-12, 11:10 PM
Senior Moderator
 
DeathKlokk's Avatar
DeathKlokk's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Nashville, TN
Posts: 5,719
Reputation: 20
Default

Template weapons get D3 hits on the assaulting unit, ntaw.

The D3 is not a to-hit it's just how many enemy get hit so it'd still just be the re-roll on to-wound.

Strange, but not a Stranger.
DeathKlokk is offline  
post #6 of 10 (permalink) Old 07-22-12, 11:29 PM
Banned
Magpie_Oz's Flag is: Australia
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Not every shadow, but any shadow
Posts: 7,889
Reputation: 74
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ntaw View Post
p. 21: Any shots fired as overwatch can only be fired as snap shots

Template weapons cannot fire overwatch. That bit's in the one paragraph that details Snap Shots on p. 13.
Have a look at "Wall of Death" on Pg 52. Make sure you have a flamer in every back pack.
Magpie_Oz is offline  
post #7 of 10 (permalink) Old 07-22-12, 11:30 PM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Iron_Freak220's Avatar
Iron_Freak220's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Houston
Posts: 1,727
Reputation: 9
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Magpie_Oz View Post
Have a look at "Wall of Death" on Pg 52. Make sure you have a flamer in every back pack.
Or five.

Chaos Space Marines: Stay Spikey

Codex: The Ascended (Malice) WIP

Forging the Corruptor


Forum Formula Forever!

Iron_Freak220 is offline  
post #8 of 10 (permalink) Old 07-22-12, 11:32 PM
Banned
Magpie_Oz's Flag is: Australia
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Not every shadow, but any shadow
Posts: 7,889
Reputation: 74
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Iron_Freak220 View Post
Or five.
I am warmed (pun intended) when I think of how I ignored the derision and shouts of "Nooooob" when I armed my Sternguard Squads with 5 Combi-flamers.
Magpie_Oz is offline  
post #9 of 10 (permalink) Old 07-22-12, 11:43 PM
Senior Member
 
Azrell's Avatar
Azrell's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Utah, yeah we have 40k here too.....
Posts: 548
Reputation: 2
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Magpie_Oz View Post
I am warmed (pun intended) when I think of how I ignored the derision and shouts of "Nooooob" when I armed my Sternguard Squads with 5 Combi-flamers.
priceless vs the influx of new nid players iv been seeing.

It takes a pack of Wolves to tree a Lion... here is hopping the new DA codex reflects that.
Azrell is offline  
post #10 of 10 (permalink) Old 07-23-12, 04:18 PM
Senior Member
 
ntaw's Avatar
ntaw's Flag is: Canada
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Mississauga, Canada
Posts: 6,323
Reputation: 99
Default

hahah friggin' GW. Make a rule in the middle of the book that embellishes a rule from the beginning of the book, whos statement is totally contradicted towards the end of the book. Next time I will read closer, thanks for pointing that out to me!
ntaw is offline  
Reply

  Lower Navigation
Go Back   Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums > Warhammer 40K > 40k Rules Discussion

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome