Imotekh and Allies of Convenience - Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums
40k Rules Discussion Post any Warhammer 40k rules queries and discussions here.

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 51 (permalink) Old 07-21-12, 01:29 AM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 423
Reputation: 7
Default Imotekh and Allies of Convenience

Simply put, does Imotekh's Lightning affect the Main detachment if he is part of an allied detachment taken as Allies of convenience?

The Grey Knights: Because Huzzah for Blind Faith and Unreasonable Hatred!

Last edited by Routine; 07-21-12 at 01:40 AM.
Routine is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 51 (permalink) Old 07-21-12, 01:53 AM
Senior Member
 
CattleBruiser's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 491
Reputation: 10
Default

I believe it does as allies of convenience are considered enemies that you can't shoot or assault and Imotekh's lightning spell affects enemy units.

We do not fear the flame,though it burns us,
We do not fear the fire, though it consumes us,
And we do not fear it's light,
Though it reveals the darkness of our souls,
For therein lies our power
CattleBruiser is offline  
post #3 of 51 (permalink) Old 07-21-12, 08:55 AM
Senior Member
 
Pandora's Avatar
Pandora's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Ohio
Posts: 160
Reputation: 3
Default

I don't think the Lightning would affect Allies of Convenience. I don't play Necrons but the rulebook says that Allies of Convenience cannot be shot. I now the lightning is unconventional but it is still shooting.

Evil is like shadow. It hides in the tiny cracks, biding its time until the Light fades.
Pandora is offline  
 
post #4 of 51 (permalink) Old 07-21-12, 05:00 PM
Senior Member
 
Starsplice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Fort Worth, TX
Posts: 189
Reputation: 1
Default

How is the power worded. I just had this discussion and since my Necron friend didn't have his codex handy we couldn't answer the question. But we agreed, if the wording says it's a shot against all enemies then no because you can't shoot your allies that are considered enemies. Oh Games Workshop.....
But if the text says it just hits all enemies, well your "allies" of convenience will also take a hit.

Of course he said Crons really don't need allies, they already have a solid codex. So no worries for him.
Starsplice is offline  
post #5 of 51 (permalink) Old 07-21-12, 06:37 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 66
Reputation: 1
Default

With 6th Edition Rules - Imotekh the stormlord is a pointless model. The nightfighting rules now just screws everything up and just makes his ability to turn the game into nightfight now affect you seriously! And then his lighting attacks is only on the roll of a 6 on a D6. His model is now pointless
Sinsinaty is offline  
post #6 of 51 (permalink) Old 07-21-12, 08:00 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 703
Reputation: 2
Default

Sinsinaty, the ability to make all nightfighting doesn't screw over Necron. We, for the most part, are short to mid range shooters. Against guard artillery and most long range fighters, we'd get screwed if it weren't for night fighting.

Hive Fleet Tarasque/The Black Legion of Khemri
Battles: 13/3
Wins: 8/2
Minor Wins: 0/0
Minor Losses: 1/0
Losses: 4/1


Quote:
Originally Posted by D-A-C View Post
Tzeentch runs GW.
Lord Azune is offline  
post #7 of 51 (permalink) Old 07-21-12, 10:01 PM
Senior Member
 
Archon Dan's Avatar
Archon Dan's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Columbus, Ohio
Posts: 1,825
Reputation: 17
Default

Night Fighting screwing with Necrons? We have 2 units that can shoot over 24". And it makes us virtually invisible to enemies with longer range weapons until we decide to step forward and shoot them. If it really bothers you, take Solar Pulses to cancel the Night Fighting on your turn.

As for the original question, the important part of the rule is as follows.
" ... whilst the Night Fighting rules remain in play, roll a D6 for each unengaged enemy unit on the battlefield ..." (Page 55, Codex: Necrons)
This would indicate that even Allies of Convenience or Desperate Allies can be struck. This is in fitting with Necrons though and how they view all other life. They don't care if you survive the battle, so long as they win. Of course, some players could have the misfortune of striking their allies but not the enemies.

"Fetch me another plaything. This one seems to have broken." -Urien Rakarth

Space Marine- "This planet is ours, witch."
Eldar- "No ... This planet is theirs ..."
Archon Dan is offline  
post #8 of 51 (permalink) Old 07-21-12, 11:15 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 66
Reputation: 1
Default

Only 2 units that can only shoot over 24"?

Doomsday Cannon - 72"
Heavy Gauss Cannon - 36"
Tachyon Arrow - Infinite Range
Eldritch Lance - 36"
Harp of Dissnance - Infinite Range
Tremorstave - 36"

2 Units? thought not.

Nightfight with 5th Edition rules, made the opponent to shoot 2D6 x 3 = Range. 36" maximum range, now people can shoot and not even need to roll, that was Imotekh's special power for FREE! He's 225 Points for no warscythe and 1 weapon that can shoot one which is only 12" maximum. Before in 5th Edition you could not move and shoot with heavy weapons and stuff etc, with 6th Edition rules you can now do that. For nightfighting it's now made most tactics stupid! He's only 225 Points worth for that Strength 8 AP5 D6 weapon, which is only good in nightfight, which is not rubbish.
Sinsinaty is offline  
post #9 of 51 (permalink) Old 07-21-12, 11:16 PM
Senior Member
 
Da Joka's Avatar
Da Joka's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 807
Reputation: 5
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sinsinaty View Post
With 6th Edition Rules - Imotekh the stormlord is a pointless model. The nightfighting rules now just screws everything up and just makes his ability to turn the game into nightfight now affect you seriously! And then his lighting attacks is only on the roll of a 6 on a D6. His model is now pointless
I don't know what your smokin boy, but you're crazy.

Night Fighting is still awesome for Necrons as they only have like 6 things that have a range greater then 24" So it still Messes with your opponent waaaay more then it does for you.

He allows you to seizes the Initiative on a 4+. He has a sweet Staff that can fire a S6 AP1 line into COMBAT! He has 2+ and 3++ saves. And his Humiliating Defeat rule makes him a Boss for challenges.

Peace, Love, and Mass Destruction

Necrons in 6th Edition W: 28 L: 9 D: 5
Orks in 6th Edition W:9 L:9 D:3

Quote:
Originally Posted by Vaz View Post
F*** that, Barrel rolling monolith all the way.
Da Joka is offline  
post #10 of 51 (permalink) Old 07-21-12, 11:50 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 66
Reputation: 1
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Da Joka View Post
I don't know what your smokin boy, but you're crazy.

Night Fighting is still awesome for Necrons as they only have like 6 things that have a range greater then 24" So it still Messes with your opponent waaaay more then it does for you.

He allows you to seizes the Initiative on a 4+. He has a sweet Staff that can fire a S6 AP1 line into COMBAT! He has 2+ and 3++ saves. And his Humiliating Defeat rule makes him a Boss for challenges.
How is he a "boss for challenges" he sucks!
Sinsinaty is offline  
Reply

  Lower Navigation
Go Back   Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums > Warhammer 40K > 40k Rules Discussion

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome