Imotekh and Allies of Convenience - Page 5 - Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums
40k Rules Discussion Post any Warhammer 40k rules queries and discussions here.

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #41 of 51 (permalink) Old 07-23-12, 11:45 PM
Senior Member
 
Taggerung's Avatar
Taggerung's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Washington
Posts: 870
Reputation: 3
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Magpie_Oz View Post
But units that meet a criteria are by definition not random.

and yes they do. I posted the first lot I sent in a week ago. Not sure how "acceptable" the responses are but they do give an umpire's decision.
They are about as acceptable as tournament rules rulings, take them with a grain of salt unless it comes from the writer of the rules. The only thing people will accept is an FAQ.



Check out my DKOK Project Log!

Armies : Raven Lords Chapter, 219th Siege Regiment and Da Grotteef Waaaaghhhh

Currently Painting : 219th Siege Regiment, about 25% done! Last updated 3/7/2013
Taggerung is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #42 of 51 (permalink) Old 07-23-12, 11:49 PM
Banned
Magpie_Oz's Flag is: Australia
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Not every shadow, but any shadow
Posts: 7,889
Reputation: 74
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Taggerung View Post
They are about as acceptable as tournament rules rulings, take them with a grain of salt unless it comes from the writer of the rules. The only thing people will accept is an FAQ.
Sure, we use them in the club and if we run a tourney they are part of the competitors pack so really it fits the bill.

I post them here just as a bit of useful info I guess, take it or leave it.
Magpie_Oz is offline  
post #43 of 51 (permalink) Old 07-24-12, 01:20 AM
Senior Member
 
Azrell's Avatar
Azrell's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Utah, yeah we have 40k here too.....
Posts: 548
Reputation: 2
Default

You can scatter blast templates into allies of C, so i don't see why Immy wouldn't hit them. But Necrons are pretty good right now so i cant see you taking allot of allies anyway...

It takes a pack of Wolves to tree a Lion... here is hopping the new DA codex reflects that.
Azrell is offline  
 
post #44 of 51 (permalink) Old 07-24-12, 06:14 AM
Senior Member
 
Archon Dan's Avatar
Archon Dan's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Columbus, Ohio
Posts: 1,825
Reputation: 17
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Starsplice View Post
What? This isn't how shroud works. Nor it is how Imotekh's power is even worded. It just says all enemies, meaning all enemies. Yes AoC can't be shot at. But he's not shooting, nor is he targeting. Its a board wide AOE which isn't targeting anything.
Okay ... I understand your confusion but I was making a comparison to Magic: The Gathering, hence "Magic" being capitalized in my last post. They both have rules called Shroud(technically Shrouded in 40K). I was merely mentioning that I've seen this type of argument in other games and until there is an FAQ, it will continue. It took the creators of Magic going back and amending a lot of cards to solve their issue. Fortunately, GW just needs to FAQ Imotekh here.

Now that Shrouded has been brought into it though, I do have a question. It's a bit of a re-hash I'm sure, but at what distance is the Lightning considered to originate from? It's occuring during Night Fighting and distance matters in Night Fighting now, in terms of gratning cover. Surely it's not counted as originating from Imotekh, otherwise it could not hit models more than 36" from him at all. But do those hit get Stealth or Shrouded?

"Fetch me another plaything. This one seems to have broken." -Urien Rakarth

Space Marine- "This planet is ours, witch."
Eldar- "No ... This planet is theirs ..."
Archon Dan is offline  
post #45 of 51 (permalink) Old 07-24-12, 06:43 AM
Senior Member
 
Da Joka's Avatar
Da Joka's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 807
Reputation: 5
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Archon Dan View Post
Now that Shrouded has been brought into it though, I do have a question. It's a bit of a re-hash I'm sure, but at what distance is the Lightning considered to originate from? It's occuring during Night Fighting and distance matters in Night Fighting now, in terms of gratning cover. Surely it's not counted as originating from Imotekh, otherwise it could not hit models more than 36" from him at all. But do those hit get Stealth or Shrouded?
Rules wise: It's not a shooting attack. On a Roll of a 6 the unit takes d6 hits. There is no "firer" there for they just take hits

Fluff wise: It's Lightning Bolts they come up form the ground under your boots.

Peace, Love, and Mass Destruction

Necrons in 6th Edition W: 28 L: 9 D: 5
Orks in 6th Edition W:9 L:9 D:3

Quote:
Originally Posted by Vaz View Post
F*** that, Barrel rolling monolith all the way.
Da Joka is offline  
post #46 of 51 (permalink) Old 07-24-12, 06:50 AM
Senior Member
 
Archon Dan's Avatar
Archon Dan's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Columbus, Ohio
Posts: 1,825
Reputation: 17
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Da Joka View Post
Rules wise: It's not a shooting attack. On a Roll of a 6 the unit takes d6 hits. There is no "firer" there for they just take hits

Fluff wise: It's Lightning Bolts they come up form the ground under your boots.
Oh-ho. Somebody actually knows that lightning typically travels up, not down. Bravo. It seems GW missed this as it strikes vehicles on side armor(top) not rear armor(bottom).

"Fetch me another plaything. This one seems to have broken." -Urien Rakarth

Space Marine- "This planet is ours, witch."
Eldar- "No ... This planet is theirs ..."
Archon Dan is offline  
post #47 of 51 (permalink) Old 07-24-12, 06:56 AM
Banned
Magpie_Oz's Flag is: Australia
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Not every shadow, but any shadow
Posts: 7,889
Reputation: 74
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Archon Dan View Post
Oh-ho. Somebody actually knows that lightning typically travels up, not down. Bravo. It seems GW missed this as it strikes vehicles on side armor(top) not rear armor(bottom).
Aeroplanes can be struck by lightning, from any aspect.
Magpie_Oz is offline  
post #48 of 51 (permalink) Old 07-24-12, 07:49 AM
Senior Member
 
Azrell's Avatar
Azrell's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Utah, yeah we have 40k here too.....
Posts: 548
Reputation: 2
Quote:
Originally Posted by Archon Dan View Post
Oh-ho. Somebody actually knows that lightning typically travels up, not down. Bravo. It seems GW missed this as it strikes vehicles on side armor(top) not rear armor(bottom).
o0... Lighting happens when a positive leader meets a negative leader coming form above. But the "lightning" still more or less goes all zappy above in the air where the channels are made,and above the ground where the positive leader is coming up from... so yes vehicle would be hit on the top, not the bottom.

If lightning cam from the ground you would be safer to clime a pole than stand in the open... but i digress, its not really important to how Immys power works.

It takes a pack of Wolves to tree a Lion... here is hopping the new DA codex reflects that.
Azrell is offline  
post #49 of 51 (permalink) Old 07-24-12, 03:46 PM
Senior Member
 
Da Joka's Avatar
Da Joka's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 807
Reputation: 5
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Azrell View Post
o0... Lighting happens when a positive leader meets a negative leader coming form above. But the "lightning" still more or less goes all zappy above in the air where the channels are made,and above the ground where the positive leader is coming up from... so yes vehicle would be hit on the top, not the bottom.

If lightning cam from the ground you would be safer to clime a pole than stand in the open... but i digress, its not really important to how Immys power works.
Yeah, and that's why I said Fluffwise lol

The important thing to remember is that his Lightning Bolts are not a Shooting attack. So in most cases they won't get a cover save.

Peace, Love, and Mass Destruction

Necrons in 6th Edition W: 28 L: 9 D: 5
Orks in 6th Edition W:9 L:9 D:3

Quote:
Originally Posted by Vaz View Post
F*** that, Barrel rolling monolith all the way.
Da Joka is offline  
post #50 of 51 (permalink) Old 07-24-12, 04:15 PM
Senior Member
 
Starsplice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Fort Worth, TX
Posts: 189
Reputation: 1
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Archon Dan View Post
Okay ... I understand your confusion but I was making a comparison to Magic: The Gathering, hence "Magic" being capitalized in my last post. They both have rules called Shroud(technically Shrouded in 40K). I was merely mentioning that I've seen this type of argument in other games and until there is an FAQ, it will continue. It took the creators of Magic going back and amending a lot of cards to solve their issue. Fortunately, GW just needs to FAQ Imotekh here.

Now that Shrouded has been brought into it though, I do have a question. It's a bit of a re-hash I'm sure, but at what distance is the Lightning considered to originate from? It's occuring during Night Fighting and distance matters in Night Fighting now, in terms of gratning cover. Surely it's not counted as originating from Imotekh, otherwise it could not hit models more than 36" from him at all. But do those hit get Stealth or Shrouded?
Ah, ok I gotcha. For a second I was like, what?? shroud doesn't work like that at all.

In regards to the lightning, I would have to say, (based on interpretation purely CYA!) since the rule doesn't specify a starting point. Like a shooting attack for instance, I think the bolts just happen and night fighting doesn't matter. If the rule said that the model shoots lightning that hits all enemies I would say the exact opposite. But because the lightning auto hits all enemies (eat your heart out boys) without coming from a particular source, then boom, no stealth or shroud bonus. I will say this I CAN BE TOTALLY WRONG. So don't come whipping your attempt at being a rules alpha male out to prove you're better than me. Nobody cares for your opinion except for a valid argument. #namedrop

Quote:
Originally Posted by mcmuffin View Post
Oh my sweet fuck, seriously? "I don't think it should work like it is written so let's compromise" is not a valid argument.
Starsplice is offline  
Reply

  Lower Navigation
Go Back   Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums > Warhammer 40K > 40k Rules Discussion

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome