Imotekh and Allies of Convenience - Page 3 - Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums
40k Rules Discussion Post any Warhammer 40k rules queries and discussions here.

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #21 of 51 (permalink) Old 07-23-12, 10:04 AM
Banned
Magpie_Oz's Flag is: Australia
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Not every shadow, but any shadow
Posts: 7,889
Reputation: 74
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Archon Dan View Post
Not just for the fact that all Necron Allies could be struck by Lightning.
I'm really starting to think that may not be the case. The lightning bolts are most definitely a shooting type attack that targets things so maybe they wouldn't be allowed to target AoC
Magpie_Oz is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #22 of 51 (permalink) Old 07-23-12, 10:33 AM
Senior Member
 
Aramoro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 7,314
Reputation: 5
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Magpie_Oz View Post
I'm really starting to think that may not be the case. The lightning bolts are most definitely a shooting type attack that targets things so maybe they wouldn't be allowed to target AoC
It's not a shooting attack and it doesn't target, it's an effect which covers an area (the board). Allies of convience will get hit by lightning.

Aramoro

"Violence isn't the answer, I just like getting it wrong on purpose"

Sally Forth! - My Gaming Blog
Aramoro is offline  
post #23 of 51 (permalink) Old 07-23-12, 11:46 AM
Banned
Magpie_Oz's Flag is: Australia
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Not every shadow, but any shadow
Posts: 7,889
Reputation: 74
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Aramoro View Post
It's not a shooting attack and it doesn't target, it's an effect which covers an area (the board). Allies of convience will get hit by lightning.
Maybe but you could also say it is an effect that TARGETS enemy units. Not convinced either way at this point. FAQ time I'd reckon.
Magpie_Oz is offline  
 
post #24 of 51 (permalink) Old 07-23-12, 12:09 PM
Senior Member
 
Aramoro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 7,314
Reputation: 5
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Magpie_Oz View Post
Maybe but you could also say it is an effect that TARGETS enemy units. Not convinced either way at this point. FAQ time I'd reckon.
It doesn't target, do you want me to quote the whole rule for you or do you have a copy?

You simply roll for each unengaged enemy unit on the battlefield. Are Allies of Convenience enemy units? Yes they are. Are they on the Battlefield? Yes. They may change it in the FAQ but right now there's no reason to say it won't hit them.

Aramoro

"Violence isn't the answer, I just like getting it wrong on purpose"

Sally Forth! - My Gaming Blog
Aramoro is offline  
post #25 of 51 (permalink) Old 07-23-12, 12:29 PM
Banned
Magpie_Oz's Flag is: Australia
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Not every shadow, but any shadow
Posts: 7,889
Reputation: 74
Default

No I have a copy thanks.

Just trying to decide how I'm going to play it when I go up against the club Necron guy.
Magpie_Oz is offline  
post #26 of 51 (permalink) Old 07-23-12, 07:58 PM
Senior Member
 
Archon Dan's Avatar
Archon Dan's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Columbus, Ohio
Posts: 1,825
Reputation: 17
Default

I did quote the important part of the rule on the first page. But this is actually looking like the the old arguments in Magic regarding their Shroud rule. It's targeting without targeting/specifically saying it's targeting. But beyond the in game hindrances Imotekh causes to allies, fluff-wise, he's the Necron Overlord least likely to ally with anything.

"Fetch me another plaything. This one seems to have broken." -Urien Rakarth

Space Marine- "This planet is ours, witch."
Eldar- "No ... This planet is theirs ..."
Archon Dan is offline  
post #27 of 51 (permalink) Old 07-23-12, 08:35 PM
Senior Member
 
Starsplice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Fort Worth, TX
Posts: 189
Reputation: 1
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Archon Dan View Post
I did quote the important part of the rule on the first page. But this is actually looking like the the old arguments in Magic regarding their Shroud rule. It's targeting without targeting/specifically saying it's targeting.
What? This isn't how shroud works. Nor it is how Imotekh's power is even worded. It just says all enemies, meaning all enemies. Yes AoC can't be shot at. But he's not shooting, nor is he targeting. Its a board wide AOE which isn't targeting anything.

Quote:
Originally Posted by mcmuffin View Post
Oh my sweet fuck, seriously? "I don't think it should work like it is written so let's compromise" is not a valid argument.
Starsplice is offline  
post #28 of 51 (permalink) Old 07-23-12, 10:41 PM
Banned
Magpie_Oz's Flag is: Australia
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Not every shadow, but any shadow
Posts: 7,889
Reputation: 74
Default

Targeting to my mind is singling out a particular unit for an attack. So in that vein the lightning (and Aura of Decay and other like it) are in effect targeting particular units while leaving other proximal units untouched.

The rule regarding AoC is written from the stand point that they can only be accidentally targeted.
Magpie_Oz is offline  
post #29 of 51 (permalink) Old 07-23-12, 10:47 PM
Senior Member
 
Aramoro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 7,314
Reputation: 5
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Magpie_Oz View Post
Targeting to my mind is singling out a particular unit for an attack.
This is where you're going wrong, targeting is a rulebook defined thing not a vague feeling.

Aramoro

"Violence isn't the answer, I just like getting it wrong on purpose"

Sally Forth! - My Gaming Blog
Aramoro is offline  
post #30 of 51 (permalink) Old 07-23-12, 10:48 PM
Banned
Magpie_Oz's Flag is: Australia
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Not every shadow, but any shadow
Posts: 7,889
Reputation: 74
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Aramoro View Post
This is where you're going wrong, targeting is a rulebook defined thing not a vague feeling.
Where?
Magpie_Oz is offline  
Reply

  Lower Navigation
Go Back   Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums > Warhammer 40K > 40k Rules Discussion

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome