Malys vs. Veil of Tears - Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums
40k Rules Discussion Post any Warhammer 40k rules queries and discussions here.

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 7 (permalink) Old 07-20-12, 08:37 PM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Sworn Radical's Avatar
Sworn Radical's Flag is: Germany
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Heavily Spanking Saint Celestine
Posts: 721
Reputation: 5
Default Malys vs. Veil of Tears

This came up in the local store t'day .... what exactly happens when Lady Malys joins a unit of Harlequins with a Shadow Seer ?

- The unit is immune to enemy psychic attacks, but VoT ceases to work ?
- The unit is immune to enemy psychic attacks, VoT works normally since the power theoretically affects the enemy units (but by RAW bestows Stealth & Shrouded on the Harlequins) ?
- Any other suggestions ?

Looking forward to hear your input !

40k Armies: Dark Eldar / Adepta Sororitas
WHFB Armies: Vampire Counts / Empire / various Elves
Horus Heresy: Alpha Legion / Warp Cult
Sworn Radical is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 7 (permalink) Old 07-21-12, 07:40 AM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Sworn Radical's Avatar
Sworn Radical's Flag is: Germany
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Heavily Spanking Saint Celestine
Posts: 721
Reputation: 5
Default

What an abundance of replies ...

40k Armies: Dark Eldar / Adepta Sororitas
WHFB Armies: Vampire Counts / Empire / various Elves
Horus Heresy: Alpha Legion / Warp Cult
Sworn Radical is offline  
post #3 of 7 (permalink) Old 07-21-12, 07:50 AM
Senior Member
 
Styro-J's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 1,709
Reputation: 6
Default

Well, even though Veil of Tears is a special rule for the Shadowseer it is still considered to be a Psychic Power that effects that unit. Lady Malys makes the unit she is in immune to all effects of Psychic Powers, so the unit would lose the effects of VoT while she is a part of it.
Styro-J is offline  
 
post #4 of 7 (permalink) Old 07-22-12, 08:10 AM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Sworn Radical's Avatar
Sworn Radical's Flag is: Germany
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Heavily Spanking Saint Celestine
Posts: 721
Reputation: 5
Default

That's exactly the point that was debated to no end, with the argument being that the VoT power actually affects enemy shooting. Seems like there will be no clear consent at this time.

40k Armies: Dark Eldar / Adepta Sororitas
WHFB Armies: Vampire Counts / Empire / various Elves
Horus Heresy: Alpha Legion / Warp Cult
Sworn Radical is offline  
post #5 of 7 (permalink) Old 07-22-12, 08:47 AM
Senior Member
 
your master's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 374
Reputation: 1
Default

It says she is completely immune to psychic powers so she wouldn't benifit but the squad would as it doesn't say it gets nullified. So technically she could Benifit from it by being part of the unit but if a sniper or ic targeted her she wouldn't however I'm not sure how this would work for measuring distance

[SIGPIC]
your master is offline  
post #6 of 7 (permalink) Old 07-22-12, 09:25 AM
Banned
Magpie_Oz's Flag is: Australia
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Not every shadow, but any shadow
Posts: 7,889
Reputation: 74
Default

I've recently asked GW a similar question in regards of the Null Rod.

In short the answer was that the unit with the rod gets no benefit from any psychic power so if a Librarian casts "Sanctuary" (a similar power to veil) then the holder of the Null Rod does not get the benefit.

My call would be that the Lady's Heart nullifies the Veil for her and the unit she is attached to.
Magpie_Oz is offline  
post #7 of 7 (permalink) Old 07-24-12, 07:51 AM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Sworn Radical's Avatar
Sworn Radical's Flag is: Germany
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Heavily Spanking Saint Celestine
Posts: 721
Reputation: 5
Default

After more lengthy discussions about that topic, we decided to simply play it that way as well, at least until some FAQ pops up. Harlequins are in need of one anyways, psychic powers or not.

40k Armies: Dark Eldar / Adepta Sororitas
WHFB Armies: Vampire Counts / Empire / various Elves
Horus Heresy: Alpha Legion / Warp Cult
Sworn Radical is offline  
Reply

  Lower Navigation
Go Back   Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums > Warhammer 40K > 40k Rules Discussion

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome