Power weapons - Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums
40k Rules Discussion Post any Warhammer 40k rules queries and discussions here.

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 11 (permalink) Old 07-19-12, 08:17 AM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
alasdair's Avatar
alasdair's Flag is: United Kingdom
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 811
Reputation: 12
Default Power weapons

Hey

I just want to clear a query up about power weapons in 6th. I know there are the different types and they can operate differently, but I have heard different views on who can take what. I was originally told, that any model that could take a power weapon can choose any of the power weapons available, specifically taking power lances on death company (my original idea) but I have now heard that they are limited to what they are supposed to come with, in this case power swords.

Can any of you clear this up?

Thanks in advance
Alasdair
alasdair is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 11 (permalink) Old 07-19-12, 08:32 AM
ZOMGZOR CUSTOM USER TITLE
 
scscofield's Avatar
scscofield's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Finger Lakes Region of NY
Posts: 6,195
Reputation: 56
Default

Does the cidex entry say power weapon or power sword. If it says weapon you can pretty much pick and choose.

http://i.imgur.com/aPfHUHy.gif?1




scscofield is offline  
post #3 of 11 (permalink) Old 07-19-12, 08:36 AM
Token Trans Mod
 
Zion's Avatar
Zion's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: On the internet.
Posts: 6,385
Reputation: 103
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by scscofield View Post
Does the cidex entry say power weapon or power sword. If it says weapon you can pretty much pick and choose.
On that note, be sure to check the FAQ. A lot of "Power Swords" were changed into "Power Weapons" to let units take advantage of the new rules.
Zion is offline  
 
post #4 of 11 (permalink) Old 07-19-12, 09:06 AM
Senior Member
 
Shady ed's Avatar
Shady ed's Flag is: Australia
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Australia
Posts: 305
Reputation: 2
Default

You know what will suck? When I model a tonne of models with a power maul for example and the new codex comes out saying they can only have power swords or power axes.
Shady ed is offline  
post #5 of 11 (permalink) Old 07-19-12, 09:09 AM
ZOMGZOR CUSTOM USER TITLE
 
scscofield's Avatar
scscofield's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Finger Lakes Region of NY
Posts: 6,195
Reputation: 56
Default

Magnets are your friends.

http://i.imgur.com/aPfHUHy.gif?1




scscofield is offline  
post #6 of 11 (permalink) Old 07-19-12, 09:10 AM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
alasdair's Avatar
alasdair's Flag is: United Kingdom
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 811
Reputation: 12
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Shady ed View Post
You know what will suck? When I model a tonne of models with a power maul for example and the new codex comes out saying they can only have power swords or power axes.
Yeah I know what you mean, thats why im trying to restrain modelling anything until i have fully grasped the FAQ and this rule in general.
alasdair is offline  
post #7 of 11 (permalink) Old 07-19-12, 09:27 AM
Senior Member
HOGGLORD's Flag is: United Kingdom
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: That place, you know. That place you went to that one time, surely you remember?
Posts: 891
Reputation: 6
Default

With the Chaos Lord Daemon Weapon, If you get the standard one, then model it as a mace, would that make it S7 D6+3 attack AP4 weapon?

HOGGLORD is offline  
post #8 of 11 (permalink) Old 07-19-12, 09:30 AM
ZOMGZOR CUSTOM USER TITLE
 
scscofield's Avatar
scscofield's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Finger Lakes Region of NY
Posts: 6,195
Reputation: 56
Default

Wouldn't the d6+3 bit make it a unusual pw?

http://i.imgur.com/aPfHUHy.gif?1




scscofield is offline  
post #9 of 11 (permalink) Old 07-19-12, 09:35 AM
Senior Member
HOGGLORD's Flag is: United Kingdom
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: That place, you know. That place you went to that one time, surely you remember?
Posts: 891
Reputation: 6
Default

Ah, yes. It probably would. Oh well, there goes my plans of ultra thunder hammer mace and wraithlord killing slaaneshi spear...


Do frost blades count as special?


Last edited by HOGGLORD; 07-19-12 at 09:55 AM.
HOGGLORD is offline  
post #10 of 11 (permalink) Old 07-19-12, 06:25 PM
Banned
VanquisherMBT's Flag is: England
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: england
Posts: 351
Reputation: 1
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by HOGGLORD View Post
Do frost blades count as special?
http://www.games-workshop.com/gws/co...400019&start=2
VanquisherMBT is offline  
Reply

  Lower Navigation
Go Back   Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums > Warhammer 40K > 40k Rules Discussion

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome