Eldar Pathfinders & Precision shooting - Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums
40k Rules Discussion Post any Warhammer 40k rules queries and discussions here.

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 7 (permalink) Old 07-17-12, 06:47 PM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
the_barwn's Avatar
the_barwn's Flag is: Great Britain
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Maidstone
Posts: 393
Reputation: 4
Eldar Pathfinders & Precision shooting

I have looked to see if this question was raised earlier but cannot see it, sorry if this has already been asked.

In the C:E it states that Pathfinders would cause a critical hit on 5+ instead of the usual 6+. In 6ed does this mean they have Precision shots at 5+?
the_barwn is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 7 (permalink) Old 07-17-12, 07:01 PM
Senior Member
 
Desolatemm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 1,195
Reputation: 2
Default

No, its an entirely separate rule from the Precision shot rule. Pathfinders get AP1 on a to-hit roll of 5 or 6. The Precision shot is only on the 6s.

So,
A to-hit roll of 5 becomes AP1 and wounds on a 4+ with rending on a to-wound roll of 6. Allocate as normal, but you choose when it is allocated because of the different AP value, this is also true when you Rend because it makes a round AP2, if it was not AP1 already.

A to-hit roll of a 6 becomes AP1 and wounds on a 4+ with rending on a to-wound roll of 6. Because of precision shot, you can allocate this hit to a model of you choosing which is in LoS in the same unit you fired at.

"Bide your time and hold out hope"
-The Count of Monte Cristo

Last edited by Desolatemm; 07-17-12 at 07:04 PM.
Desolatemm is offline  
post #3 of 7 (permalink) Old 07-17-12, 07:02 PM
Senior Member
 
Archaon18's Avatar
Archaon18's Flag is: England
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Teabagging your corpse!
Posts: 622
Reputation: 1
Default

The shots are AP2 on 5+. The rule does not say, unless FAQed, that this alters Precision Shots, only the Ranger/Pathfinder only AP2 rule.

Lasguns- You can never have too little firepower
My Tactics Blog - ChaosTactica

Quote:
Originally Posted by KingOfCheese View Post
"Hey babe, want me to Power Fist your Pink Horror?"

"Is it ok if my Old One Eye penetrates your Devilfish?"
Archaon18 is offline  
 
post #4 of 7 (permalink) Old 07-17-12, 07:03 PM
Senior Member
 
Sworn Radical's Avatar
Sworn Radical's Flag is: Germany
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Heavily Spanking Saint Celestine
Posts: 721
Reputation: 5
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by the_barwn View Post
I have looked to see if this question was raised earlier but cannot see it, sorry if this has already been asked.

In the C:E it states that Pathfinders would cause a critical hit on 5+ instead of the usual 6+. In 6ed does this mean they have Precision shots at 5+?
Doubtful. The way I'm reading it, is that 'to hit' rolls of 5+ would sure give you AP1, but only actual rolls of 6 would qualify for wound allocation. They're still pretty good though ...

Mmm .... double-ninja'd ...

40k Armies: Dark Eldar / Adepta Sororitas
WHFB Armies: Vampire Counts / Empire / various Elves
Horus Heresy: Alpha Legion / Warp Cult
Sworn Radical is offline  
post #5 of 7 (permalink) Old 07-17-12, 07:22 PM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
the_barwn's Avatar
the_barwn's Flag is: Great Britain
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Maidstone
Posts: 393
Reputation: 4
Default

Thank you for the swift replies,
I have an additional question though in the 6ed BRB it states the RLR is Heavy1, Sniper, Pinning.
Under the Sniper special rules it states that a roll of 6+ is a precision shot. Does this become 5+ for Pathfinders??? Or do they Ignore these rules & still operate under the C:E ruleset??
the_barwn is offline  
post #6 of 7 (permalink) Old 07-17-12, 07:29 PM
Senior Member
 
Archaon18's Avatar
Archaon18's Flag is: England
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Teabagging your corpse!
Posts: 622
Reputation: 1
Default

Precision shot is the 'Eye of Vengeance'allocation. NOT the AP1 rule at the C:E have. This only happens on 6's.

In final summary. They are AP1 on a 5+ to hit, with precision shots on 6's

Lasguns- You can never have too little firepower
My Tactics Blog - ChaosTactica

Quote:
Originally Posted by KingOfCheese View Post
"Hey babe, want me to Power Fist your Pink Horror?"

"Is it ok if my Old One Eye penetrates your Devilfish?"
Archaon18 is offline  
post #7 of 7 (permalink) Old 07-17-12, 07:57 PM
Senior Member
 
Desolatemm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 1,195
Reputation: 2
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by the_barwn View Post
Thank you for the swift replies,
I have an additional question though in the 6ed BRB it states the RLR is Heavy1, Sniper, Pinning.
Under the Sniper special rules it states that a roll of 6+ is a precision shot. Does this become 5+ for Pathfinders??? Or do they Ignore these rules & still operate under the C:E ruleset?
Pathfinders have a weapon with the Sniper rule. They ALSO have their own rule which gives them a better AP value on a to-hit of 5+. They are not related, both apply, nothing complicated. Its a Sniper Rifle (per BRB) that has a chance to become AP1 in addition to the fun stuff from the "Sniper" rules.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Archaon18 View Post
In final summary. They are AP1 on a 5+ to hit, with precision shots on 6's
This

"Bide your time and hold out hope"
-The Count of Monte Cristo
Desolatemm is offline  
Reply

  Lower Navigation
Go Back   Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums > Warhammer 40K > 40k Rules Discussion

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome