Specialist Weapon cheese? - Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums
40k Rules Discussion Post any Warhammer 40k rules queries and discussions here.

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 9 (permalink) Old 07-16-12, 12:52 AM Thread Starter
Executive Nitpicker
 
Galahad's Avatar
Galahad's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Tacoma, WA
Posts: 8,276
Reputation: 15
Default Specialist Weapon cheese?

So the rules for Specialist Weapons read as follows:
"A model fighting with this weapon does not receive +l Attack for fighting with two weapons unless both weapons have the Specialist Weapon rule."

It doesn't say they have to be the same weapon.

In a few cases (not many, mind you) a character will have the opportunity to take, say, a Power Fist or Thunder hammer AND a single Lightning claw. Not only is this cheaper than taking a pair of fists or hammers, but it gives you more options while keeping the bonus attack.

You can either strike last and crush terminator armor and high-T creatures, or you can strike at I and reroll wounds (which nets you *almost* as good results as just the higher strength in many cases)

Granted, this option is still usually fairly expensive, generally in the neighborhood of 40 points but it's an interesting one, don't you think?

Technically it feels like beardy cheese...but given the cost, I doubt it'll be seen much.

-=============]xxxxo Galahad oxxxx[=============-
Check out the Heresy Combat Calculator -- MathHammer Made Easy!



Codex: Angels Errant. Read it, please.
Heresy Forum Rules -- Read them, damnit!
Reporting: When/How/Why -- Read that too!
"...remember the Golden Rule: Chill out, they're only plastic spacemen!" -Brother Jazzman
"Galahad is 100% correct in his explanation. Anyone who says otherwise to [him] is vastly mistaken." -The Wraithlord
"You know what? Fuck DC comics." -Robert Downey Junior



Galahad is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 9 (permalink) Old 07-16-12, 01:28 AM
ZOMGZOR CUSTOM USER TITLE
 
scscofield's Avatar
scscofield's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Finger Lakes Region of NY
Posts: 6,195
Reputation: 56
Default

Yah I noticed that too, makes me go hmmm with some of my WGP loadouts.

http://i.imgur.com/aPfHUHy.gif?1




scscofield is offline  
post #3 of 9 (permalink) Old 07-16-12, 01:31 AM
Banned
Magpie_Oz's Flag is: Australia
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Not every shadow, but any shadow
Posts: 7,889
Reputation: 74
Default

Yes and I see another difference is that you are not compelled to attack with a special weapon if you have a special and a normal.

I am looking at giving my DCA a Power Axe and a Power Sword.
Magpie_Oz is offline  
 
post #4 of 9 (permalink) Old 07-16-12, 02:28 AM
Senior Member
 
psactionman's Avatar
psactionman's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Utah, USA
Posts: 287
Reputation: 8
Default

I was quite excited when I saw that. I may mod up a few of my Sternguards to take advantage of that.
psactionman is offline  
post #5 of 9 (permalink) Old 07-16-12, 02:59 AM
Senior Member
 
Azrell's Avatar
Azrell's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Utah, yeah we have 40k here too.....
Posts: 548
Reputation: 2
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by psactionman View Post
I was quite excited when I saw that. I may mod up a few of my Sternguards to take advantage of that.
With bolters and... combi-bolters? I think you are thinking of vanguards, sternguards are the shooty ones.

Im liking the idea of PA/PS combo.... don't SM honor guard get something to that effect but more like relic blade and power axe.... hmmmm might have to look into it.

It takes a pack of Wolves to tree a Lion... here is hopping the new DA codex reflects that.
Azrell is offline  
post #6 of 9 (permalink) Old 07-16-12, 03:15 AM
Senior Member
 
psactionman's Avatar
psactionman's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Utah, USA
Posts: 287
Reputation: 8
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Azrell View Post
With bolters and... combi-bolters? I think you are thinking of vanguards, sternguards are the shooty ones.

Im liking the idea of PA/PS combo.... don't SM honor guard get something to that effect but more like relic blade and power axe.... hmmmm might have to look into it.
Good call. I was thinking Vanguards...now I feel really embarrassed.

Well, maybe not that bad, but still.

Honor guard come with power weapons as their base, so you could do the PA/RB and model it as an axe. Would be cheaper too. 15 points to get the option of AP3 S6 I4 or I1 AP2 S5.
psactionman is offline  
post #7 of 9 (permalink) Old 07-16-12, 03:17 AM Thread Starter
Executive Nitpicker
 
Galahad's Avatar
Galahad's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Tacoma, WA
Posts: 8,276
Reputation: 15
Default

while a decent combo, PS/PA is a little off topic since neither of them are Specialist Weapons

-=============]xxxxo Galahad oxxxx[=============-
Check out the Heresy Combat Calculator -- MathHammer Made Easy!



Codex: Angels Errant. Read it, please.
Heresy Forum Rules -- Read them, damnit!
Reporting: When/How/Why -- Read that too!
"...remember the Golden Rule: Chill out, they're only plastic spacemen!" -Brother Jazzman
"Galahad is 100% correct in his explanation. Anyone who says otherwise to [him] is vastly mistaken." -The Wraithlord
"You know what? Fuck DC comics." -Robert Downey Junior



Galahad is offline  
post #8 of 9 (permalink) Old 07-16-12, 04:02 AM
Senior Member
 
Iron Angel's Avatar
Iron Angel's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 3,271
Reputation: 14
Default

I like how you call 40 points expensive.

Thats the way the rule is written, and I would think it would be a good way to add some versatility to specific models. I would say go for it, I don't think it was an oversight on GW's part or they would have said the weapon had to be an identical pair, not just a pair with the same rule.

Iron Angel is offline  
post #9 of 9 (permalink) Old 07-16-12, 04:13 AM
Banned
Magpie_Oz's Flag is: Australia
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Not every shadow, but any shadow
Posts: 7,889
Reputation: 74
Default

It certainly makes Inquisitor Valeria a slightly more viable option.
Magpie_Oz is offline  
Reply

  Lower Navigation
Go Back   Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums > Warhammer 40K > 40k Rules Discussion

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome