Mawloc vs Zooming Flyers - Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums
40k Rules Discussion Post any Warhammer 40k rules queries and discussions here.

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 72 (permalink) Old 07-14-12, 05:45 PM Thread Starter
Token Trans Mod
 
Zion's Avatar
Zion's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: On the internet.
Posts: 6,385
Reputation: 103
Default Mawloc vs Zooming Flyers

I've been putting some thought into this because it seems like really big thing for GW not to notice and I've come to a conclusion:

The Mawloc's Terror from the Deep attack can't hit zooming flyers.

This actually has nothing to do with the "blast marker" being a "blast template" but instead with a couple of rules and a bit from the Tyranid FAQ.

Firstly, what kind of attack is the Mawloc's TFtD? It's a shooting attack? Why? Well let me quote the FAQ first as it's essential to my point of view on this:
Quote:
Q: Can I take cover saves from the Mawloc's Terror From the Deep attack? (pg. 51)
A: Yes
As many may recall, cover saves can only be taken against shooting attacks, not close combat attacks. So since it's a shooting attack we take a look in the main rulebook at the rules for shooting at a flyer:

Quote:
Hard to Hit
Zooming Flyers are incredibly difficult targets for troops without suitably calibrated weapons and scopes. Shots resolved at a Zooming Flyer can only be resolved as Snap Shots (unles the model or weapon has the Skyfire special rule as described on page 42). Template, Blast and Large Blast weapons cannot hit Flyers in Zoom mode.
-Page 81 of the 6th Edition Rulebook
Did you catch that? Shooting attacks that are made by models or with weapons without the Skyfire rule are resolves as Snap Shots. And since the Mawloc doesn't have the Skyfire rule we move onto Snap Shots (don't worry, I'm only going to quote the part related to this whole thing):

Quote:
It's important to note that any shooting attack that does not use a Ballistic Skill - such as the Necron Monolith's portal of exile - cannot be 'fired' as a Snap Shot.
-Except from "Snap Shots", Page 13 of the 6th Edtion Rulebook
So, as the Mawloc does not roll to hit against models that are touching the Large Blast Marker for the Terror From the Deep attack, the Mawloc can not hit Zooming Flyers.

At least this is my understanding of the rules.
Zion is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 72 (permalink) Old 07-14-12, 05:50 PM
Autarch of Heresy
 
Ragewind's Avatar
Ragewind's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 886
Reputation: 20
Default

There is no roll to hit so you would ignore any reference to Ballistic Skill or Snap Shots so yes it will hit a flyer that is under the template, it is also not a "template/blast" weapon and so ignores any relevant rules applying to them. This is just a effect that happens, similar to Yirel's Eye of Wrath.

This is under the same vein as a Necron's Death Ray or a Vibro Cannon's line effect, no roll to hit means flyers auto get gimped. Obviously you get cover saves, that is what Jink is for after all.

The Eldar, more than any other army, should not only look at the output of each unit individually, but the synergy of multiple units together and their role in the force as a whole. - Fable


Last edited by Ragewind; 07-14-12 at 05:53 PM.
Ragewind is offline  
post #3 of 72 (permalink) Old 07-14-12, 05:57 PM Thread Starter
Token Trans Mod
 
Zion's Avatar
Zion's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: On the internet.
Posts: 6,385
Reputation: 103
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ragewind View Post
There is no roll to hit so you would ignore any reference to Ballistic Skill or Snap Shots so yes it will hit a flyer that is under the template, it is also not a "template/blast" weapon and so ignores any relevant rules applying to them. This is just a effect that happens, similar to Yirel's Eye of Wrath.

This is under the same vein as a Necron's Death Ray or a Vibro Cannon's line effect, no roll to hit means flyers auto get gimped. Obviously you get cover saves, that is what Jink is for after all.
Except Snap Shots specifically say shooting attacks that don't us BS can't be snap shot and can't be used against Zooming Flyers (unless you Skyfire them but the Mawloc doesn't have that rule).

As I said, my opinion has nothing to do with the template but with the fact that the attacck doesn't roll to hit and the Mawloc lacking Skyfire. It's an interaction between several rules, not just the Shooting at Flyers rules.

Last edited by Zion; 07-14-12 at 05:59 PM.
Zion is offline  
 
post #4 of 72 (permalink) Old 07-14-12, 06:07 PM
WFB Moderator
 
Tim/Steve's Avatar
Tim/Steve's Flag is: United Kingdom
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Worcestershire, UK
Posts: 8,248
Reputation: 13
Default

"Shots at..."
Terror from the deep isn't a shot and it isn't a blast/large blast weapon: its an untargeted shooting attack. As such it doesn't need to snap fire because it isn't targeting the flier... and unlike other blasts which might scatter onto the flier can still hurt it because it isn't a blast/large blast weapon.

Tim/Steve is offline  
post #5 of 72 (permalink) Old 07-14-12, 06:18 PM
Senior Member
 
Capussa's Avatar
Capussa's Flag is: United Kingdom
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Leeds, England
Posts: 179
Reputation: 3
Default

Fluff wise I agree with Zion's take.

The Mawloc bursts up from the ground causing havoc to those around this point on the ground, therefore it should not be able to hit anything that is not at or near ground level.

As i don't have the tyranid codex I cannot coment on the rules, but it seems wrong to me that an attack that is meant to represent something burstsing from the ground can hit a flyer.
Capussa is offline  
post #6 of 72 (permalink) Old 07-14-12, 06:21 PM Thread Starter
Token Trans Mod
 
Zion's Avatar
Zion's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: On the internet.
Posts: 6,385
Reputation: 103
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tim/Steve View Post
"Shots at..."
Terror from the deep isn't a shot and it isn't a blast/large blast weapon: its an untargeted shooting attack. As such it doesn't need to snap fire because it isn't targeting the flier... and unlike other blasts which might scatter onto the flier can still hurt it because it isn't a blast/large blast weapon.
Again, I never used the template/marker arguement. My entire point can be summed up thusly: Any shooting attacks resolved against a zooming flyer by a model without the Skyfire rule are resolved as Snap Shots, and shooting attacks that auto-hit (such as the Portal of Exile) can't be Snap Shot. Terror From the Deep auto-hits against models touching the marker thus can't affect Zooming Flyers since the Mawloc lacks the Skyfire special rule AND the attack can not be resolved as a snap shot.

Yes the Mawloc should normally auto-hit against everything else but I personally believe that because the way the rules for resolving shooting attacks versus a zooming flyer works it can't hit the zooming flyer.

Now can we stop trying to counter THAT point with a point about it being a "marker" not a "template"? It could be a cheeseburger, the issue is that it doesn't roll to hit, thus can't resolve against the Zooming Flyer.

I'm open to people picking my logic apart, but actually address what I'm saying, not what the conventional arguement is.
Zion is offline  
post #7 of 72 (permalink) Old 07-14-12, 08:20 PM
Senior Member
 
Archaon18's Avatar
Archaon18's Flag is: England
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Teabagging your corpse!
Posts: 622
Reputation: 1
Default

Quote:
Template, Blast and Large Blast weapons cannot hit flyers in zoom mode
There is your answer, It is a L. Blast so cannot hit it. Note this comes after the bit about the 'can only be resolved as snap shots thing'.

Lasguns- You can never have too little firepower
My Tactics Blog - ChaosTactica

Quote:
Originally Posted by KingOfCheese View Post
"Hey babe, want me to Power Fist your Pink Horror?"

"Is it ok if my Old One Eye penetrates your Devilfish?"
Archaon18 is offline  
post #8 of 72 (permalink) Old 07-14-12, 08:49 PM
Autarch of Heresy
 
Ragewind's Avatar
Ragewind's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 886
Reputation: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by Archaon18 View Post
There is your answer, It is a L. Blast so cannot hit it. Note this comes after the bit about the 'can only be resolved as snap shots thing'.
I should point out that the rule "Terror from the Deep" is not a Blast Weapon and is not affected by that rule.

The Eldar, more than any other army, should not only look at the output of each unit individually, but the synergy of multiple units together and their role in the force as a whole. - Fable

Ragewind is offline  
post #9 of 72 (permalink) Old 07-14-12, 08:51 PM
Autarch of Heresy
 
Ragewind's Avatar
Ragewind's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 886
Reputation: 20
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tim/Steve View Post
"Shots at..."
Terror from the deep isn't a shot and it isn't a blast/large blast weapon: its an untargeted shooting attack. As such it doesn't need to snap fire because it isn't targeting the flier... and unlike other blasts which might scatter onto the flier can still hurt it because it isn't a blast/large blast weapon.
This is the correct argument

The Eldar, more than any other army, should not only look at the output of each unit individually, but the synergy of multiple units together and their role in the force as a whole. - Fable

Ragewind is offline  
post #10 of 72 (permalink) Old 07-14-12, 09:05 PM Thread Starter
Token Trans Mod
 
Zion's Avatar
Zion's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: On the internet.
Posts: 6,385
Reputation: 103
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ragewind View Post
This is the correct argument
The Necron Monolith Portal of Exile is also an untargetted shooting attack that affects all models within D6" of the Monolith's door and is forbidden from being used in situations where you would need to snap shot. So I would say, no, it's not.

It's not a matter of if the marker TARGETS the Zooming Flyer but how hits are RESOLVED against it.
Zion is offline  
Reply

  Lower Navigation
Go Back   Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums > Warhammer 40K > 40k Rules Discussion

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome