Vulkan benefits Allies ? - Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums
40k Rules Discussion Post any Warhammer 40k rules queries and discussions here.

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 13 (permalink) Old 07-13-12, 10:54 AM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Bogg's Avatar
Bogg's Flag is: Norway
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Oslo, Norway
Posts: 615
Reputation: 1
Default Vulkan benefits Allies ?

If I have Salamanders, and take Vulkan in my army, then use some Dark Angels as allies , will/can they benefit from the twinlinked flame/melta speacial rule Vulkan gives?

They are battle brothers, and it does say on p.112 that they are counted as friendly units, for psy powers, abilities and SO ON... lol

What do you think ??


Orks - Salamanders - IG -Tau - Necron - Csm - Nids - Dark Eldar
Bogg is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 13 (permalink) Old 07-13-12, 10:56 AM
Senior Member
 
Captain Stillios's Avatar
Captain Stillios's Flag is: United Kingdom
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Newcastle
Posts: 948
Reputation: 1
Default

No as Vulkans rule replaces Combat Tactics which the Dark Angels dont have*

(I think*)

Cappy

Quote:
Originally Posted by Stella Cadente View Post
chill out?...CHILL OUT!!!!!!!, THIS IS WARHAMMER, THERE IS NO TIME FOR "CHILLING OUT", WHAT DO YOU THINK THIS IS?, SOME KIND OF GAME?, THIS ARE SERIOUS BUSINESS!!!!
Quote:
Originally Posted by xNoPityx View Post
The downside to a medium that allows the unlimited exchange of ideas, some people have some really stupid ideas.
Captain Stillios is offline  
post #3 of 13 (permalink) Old 07-13-12, 11:03 AM
Banned
Magpie_Oz's Flag is: Australia
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Not every shadow, but any shadow
Posts: 7,889
Reputation: 74
Default

No as SM Character special abilities are limited to forces from the SM Codex, check the SM FAQ
Magpie_Oz is offline  
 
post #4 of 13 (permalink) Old 07-13-12, 11:07 AM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Bogg's Avatar
Bogg's Flag is: Norway
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Oslo, Norway
Posts: 615
Reputation: 1
Default

so, another SM allies will work then ?


Orks - Salamanders - IG -Tau - Necron - Csm - Nids - Dark Eldar
Bogg is offline  
post #5 of 13 (permalink) Old 07-13-12, 11:11 AM
Banned
Magpie_Oz's Flag is: Australia
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Not every shadow, but any shadow
Posts: 7,889
Reputation: 74
Default

Not it won't work on allies at all, only units from the SM Codex.
Magpie_Oz is offline  
post #6 of 13 (permalink) Old 07-13-12, 11:15 AM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Bogg's Avatar
Bogg's Flag is: Norway
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Oslo, Norway
Posts: 615
Reputation: 1
Default

yes as I said, allies chosen from Space MArine Codex, that must surly work.


Orks - Salamanders - IG -Tau - Necron - Csm - Nids - Dark Eldar
Bogg is offline  
post #7 of 13 (permalink) Old 07-13-12, 11:17 AM
Token Trans Mod
 
Zion's Avatar
Zion's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: On the internet.
Posts: 6,385
Reputation: 103
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bogg View Post
yes as I said, allies chosen from Space MArine Codex, that must surly work.
Are you saying ally a Codex: Space Marine army with another Codex: Space Marine army? Because you can't do that.

If you mean allying Codex: Space Marines to another army, then anything that Codex: Space Marines get that comes about from replacing the Chapter Tactics rule doesn't carry over to other codexes.

Either way I highly recommend looking at the FAQ, it's pretty helpful on this kind of stuff.
Zion is offline  
post #8 of 13 (permalink) Old 07-13-12, 11:19 AM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Bogg's Avatar
Bogg's Flag is: Norway
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Oslo, Norway
Posts: 615
Reputation: 1
Default

hmm, I forgot to mention, i am playing a 2 vs 2 game later today, and my teammate will also be playing SPace marines..


Orks - Salamanders - IG -Tau - Necron - Csm - Nids - Dark Eldar
Bogg is offline  
post #9 of 13 (permalink) Old 07-13-12, 11:20 AM
Senior Member
 
Aramoro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 7,314
Reputation: 5
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bogg View Post
yes as I said, allies chosen from Space MArine Codex, that must surly work.
You can't choose Allies from your own codex, why would you want to anyway?

Aramoro

"Violence isn't the answer, I just like getting it wrong on purpose"

Sally Forth! - My Gaming Blog
Aramoro is offline  
post #10 of 13 (permalink) Old 07-13-12, 11:27 AM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Bogg's Avatar
Bogg's Flag is: Norway
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Oslo, Norway
Posts: 615
Reputation: 1
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Aramoro View Post
You can't choose Allies from your own codex, why would you want to anyway?

To get an Extra HQ , Troop, choice ;)


Orks - Salamanders - IG -Tau - Necron - Csm - Nids - Dark Eldar
Bogg is offline  
Reply

  Lower Navigation
Go Back   Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums > Warhammer 40K > 40k Rules Discussion

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome