6th Edition: Firing part of a unit question? - Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums
40k Rules Discussion Post any Warhammer 40k rules queries and discussions here.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 12 (permalink) Old 07-11-12, 05:59 PM Thread Starter

Default 6th Edition: Firing part of a unit question?

I am fairly new to playing 40k. I played a little 5th edition and just started reading the 6th edition rules and I think a rule might have changed regarding how shooting works. In the shooting section, it says when declaring shots, not all members of a unit need to shoot. I thought in 5th edition if your unit chose to shoot, you had to shoot with all the members of the unit that could shoot. This creates a interesting change when you read how cover works I think. Your target gets a cover save if any of your firing models draws a line through the cover. So could you now choose to not fire from the members of the squad that draw a line of fire through the cover? You would get less shots but you would deny the unit cover saves.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 12 (permalink) Old 07-11-12, 06:08 PM

Capussa's Flag is: United Kingdom

The option to not shoot some models was available in 5th, if this haddn't been the case then why put a flamer in a unit of guardsmen or a tactical squad, the flamer's short range means to maximise the effect you need to be ontop of the enemy but if all your other weapons are rapid fire you are unable to assault
post #3 of 12 (permalink) Old 07-11-12, 06:15 PM

Obinhi's Flag is: USA

The main thrust of the new rule is that if you dont move your heavy weapon, it can still fire at full BS even if the rest of the unit moved. This means in a 5 man Tac squad if you keep the missile launcher still and move the other guys around him the missile still fires as if he had not shot.