Flying off the board with flyers, where do they come in? - Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums
40k Rules Discussion Post any Warhammer 40k rules queries and discussions here.

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 22 (permalink) Old 07-10-12, 06:25 PM Thread Starter
Banned
MadCowCrazy's Flag is: Aaland
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Burning Depths of Hell
Posts: 2,452
Reputation: 11
Default Flying off the board with flyers, where do they come in?

With fliers it's very easy to end up in a situation where you fly off the board, the rule says you enter Ongoing Reserves which means you come in the next turn, but it doesn't say from where.

If I fly out on the opponents table edge do I come back in from his side or from my deployment zone next turn?
MadCowCrazy is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 22 (permalink) Old 07-10-12, 06:30 PM
Senior Moderator
 
DeathKlokk's Avatar
DeathKlokk's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Nashville, TN
Posts: 5,719
Reputation: 20
Default

Yes. It's in Reserve so it comes in as Reserves dictate.

Strange, but not a Stranger.
DeathKlokk is offline  
post #3 of 22 (permalink) Old 07-10-12, 06:37 PM
Senior Member
 
psactionman's Avatar
psactionman's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Utah, USA
Posts: 287
Reputation: 8
Default

Page 125 under Ongoing Reserves says that they follow the normal rules for reserves.
psactionman is offline  
 
post #4 of 22 (permalink) Old 07-10-12, 06:46 PM
Rattlehead
 
MidnightSun's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: New Sheoth
Posts: 6,741
Reputation: 83
Default

Does it not say in the Flyers entry that they come on from the board edge they left?

I seem to remember reading that somewhere.

Midnight

Creator of Utilitarian Ultramarines Memes - join the XIII on Facebook (no XVII allowed).
MidnightSun is offline  
post #5 of 22 (permalink) Old 07-10-12, 06:52 PM
Senior Member
 
psactionman's Avatar
psactionman's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Utah, USA
Posts: 287
Reputation: 8
Default

The rule for Flyers on page 81 just says that they enter Ongoing Reserves, but they must come back on Zooming they cannot enter back onto the board in Hover mode.
psactionman is offline  
post #6 of 22 (permalink) Old 07-10-12, 07:57 PM Thread Starter
Banned
MadCowCrazy's Flag is: Aaland
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Burning Depths of Hell
Posts: 2,452
Reputation: 11
Default

This is what has me so confused, I can exit anywhere and then have them return from my side next turn? Seems a bit cheesy.
MadCowCrazy is offline  
post #7 of 22 (permalink) Old 07-10-12, 08:10 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 77
Reputation: 1
Default

This isn't fantasy. They do not come back from the exact same spot. It only says they come back following the normal reserve rules, meaning from your board edge. I think of it as they take a broad swooping arc and back to the battlezone instead of spinning arround on the spot (like a wing over manuver) and returning back on the same heading.

shaggy is offline  
post #8 of 22 (permalink) Old 07-10-12, 08:14 PM
Senior Member
 
Desolatemm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 1,195
Reputation: 2
Default

What if your flyer has the Deepstrike Special rule? Can it re-enter via Deepstike?

"Bide your time and hold out hope"
-The Count of Monte Cristo
Desolatemm is offline  
post #9 of 22 (permalink) Old 07-10-12, 08:20 PM
Banned
Sakura_ninja's Flag is: England
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 616
Reputation: 1
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MadCowCrazy View Post
This is what has me so confused, I can exit anywhere and then have them return from my side next turn? Seems a bit cheesy.
The opposite would be cheesy, coming on behind the enemy and exposing the rear armour of vehicles, that more cheesy really

Plus its more fluffy, your not going to hang around behind enemy lines, your gonna bank round, avoiding flak and goodness knows what else.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Desolatemm View Post
What if your flyer has the Deepstrike Special rule? Can it re-enter via Deepstike?
That would depend
Quote:
Originally Posted by psactionman View Post
The rule for Flyers on page 81 just says that they enter Ongoing Reserves, but they must come back on Zooming they cannot enter back onto the board in Hover mode.
if actionman is correct that they must enter zooming, does deep strike count as zooming?, if yes I would say probably, if not then no

Last edited by Sakura_ninja; 07-10-12 at 08:23 PM.
Sakura_ninja is offline  
post #10 of 22 (permalink) Old 07-10-12, 09:07 PM Thread Starter
Banned
MadCowCrazy's Flag is: Aaland
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Burning Depths of Hell
Posts: 2,452
Reputation: 11
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sakura_ninja View Post
The opposite would be cheesy, coming on behind the enemy and exposing the rear armour of vehicles, that more cheesy really
What I mean is that there seems to be no negative to doing it, just zoom off the board and enter on your side next turn going after whatever needs killing.
MadCowCrazy is offline  
Reply

  Lower Navigation
Go Back   Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums > Warhammer 40K > 40k Rules Discussion

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome