Flying off the board with flyers, where do they come in? - Page 2 - Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums
40k Rules Discussion Post any Warhammer 40k rules queries and discussions here.

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #11 of 22 (permalink) Old 07-10-12, 09:17 PM
Senior Member
 
Desolatemm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 1,195
Reputation: 2
Default

well the Eldar Nightwing has the deepstrike special rule via the Forgeworld FAQ regarding 6th ed, so I have to assume that it does count or else it could never use that ability.

"Bide your time and hold out hope"
-The Count of Monte Cristo
Desolatemm is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #12 of 22 (permalink) Old 07-10-12, 10:42 PM
Senior Member
 
psactionman's Avatar
psactionman's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Utah, USA
Posts: 287
Reputation: 8
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MadCowCrazy View Post
What I mean is that there seems to be no negative to doing it, just zoom off the board and enter on your side next turn going after whatever needs killing.
Well remember anything with the interceptor rule gets one free shot at them when they come on the board. Granted right now that is limited to Fortification Guns, but still.
psactionman is offline  
post #13 of 22 (permalink) Old 07-10-12, 11:37 PM
ZOMGZOR CUSTOM USER TITLE
 
scscofield's Avatar
scscofield's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Finger Lakes Region of NY
Posts: 6,195
Reputation: 56
Default

If you could come back onto the side you left it would be more broken as Sakura pointed out MCC. The whole ability to leave the board is what is making the flyers so strong at this point. The bs1 to shoot them wouldn't be as horrible if they stayed on the board in range of guns.

http://i.imgur.com/aPfHUHy.gif?1




scscofield is offline  
 
post #14 of 22 (permalink) Old 07-11-12, 05:56 AM
Senior Member
 
Archon Dan's Avatar
Archon Dan's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Columbus, Ohio
Posts: 1,825
Reputation: 17
Default

It does say they enter Reserves and re-enter according to reserve rules. So you enter from your board edge or by deep-strike if it has the deepstrike rule. Deep striking still says you count as moving at cruising speed, so flyers do move their minimum of 18 inches as cruising is greater than 18 inches. Given the speed of Flyers, you'll likely always be in range, even if coming from your board edge, just not getting rear armour very often. I'm actually waiting for the first Flyer to get Outflank, not that they need it except in the second deployment map.

"Fetch me another plaything. This one seems to have broken." -Urien Rakarth

Space Marine- "This planet is ours, witch."
Eldar- "No ... This planet is theirs ..."
Archon Dan is offline  
post #15 of 22 (permalink) Old 07-11-12, 01:20 PM
Junior Member
 
AresXero's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 25
Reputation: 1
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Archon Dan View Post
I'm actually waiting for the first Flyer to get Outflank, not that they need it except in the second deployment map.
do valks and vendettas not already have it due to scout?
AresXero is offline  
post #16 of 22 (permalink) Old 07-11-12, 01:38 PM
Senior Member
 
Partybear's Avatar
Partybear's Flag is: United Kingdom
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 143
Reputation: 1
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Archon Dan View Post
I'm actually waiting for the first Flyer to get Outflank, not that they need it except in the second deployment map.
A stormTalon can outflank if you use the escort special rule on scout or scout bikes!
Would that allow you to outflank again when zooming off the board or would it just be upon 1st entry?

Play the Game Fool!!
Partybear is offline  
post #17 of 22 (permalink) Old 07-11-12, 09:27 PM
Senior Member
 
Archon Dan's Avatar
Archon Dan's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Columbus, Ohio
Posts: 1,825
Reputation: 17
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by AresXero View Post
do valks and vendettas not already have it due to scout?
I didn't realize that. I really should pay more attention to the Imperial Guard. Yes, Scouts confers Outflank.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Partybear View Post
A stormTalon can outflank if you use the escort special rule on scout or scout bikes!
Would that allow you to outflank again when zooming off the board or would it just be upon 1st entry?
That's an interesting question. Furthermore, would you be able to escort something else still in Reserves? I would say no to both but it's still some interesting thoughts.

"Fetch me another plaything. This one seems to have broken." -Urien Rakarth

Space Marine- "This planet is ours, witch."
Eldar- "No ... This planet is theirs ..."
Archon Dan is offline  
post #18 of 22 (permalink) Old 07-11-12, 09:42 PM
Tzeentch laughs at likely
 
Dave T Hobbit's Avatar
Dave T Hobbit's Flag is: Europe
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Inside my Head, Bristol, UK
Posts: 8,550
Reputation: 44
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Archon Dan View Post
Furthermore, would you be able to escort something else still in Reserves?.
As the flyer goes into ongoing reserves I think it is no longer in reserve for the purposes of escorting.
Dave T Hobbit is offline  
post #19 of 22 (permalink) Old 07-11-12, 10:07 PM
Senior Moderator
 
DeathKlokk's Avatar
DeathKlokk's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Nashville, TN
Posts: 5,719
Reputation: 20
Default

Or the purposes of special deployment like Outflank or Deep Strike.

Strange, but not a Stranger.
DeathKlokk is offline  
post #20 of 22 (permalink) Old 07-11-12, 10:15 PM
Banned
Magpie_Oz's Flag is: Australia
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Not every shadow, but any shadow
Posts: 7,889
Reputation: 74
Default

The rule for Outflank specifically excludes arriving from Ongoing Reserve. (Pg 40)

For Escorting the rule says "if a Stormtalon Gunship is kept in reserve".(WD390 Pg66) I'd say that precludes allocating it to Escort from Ongoing Reserve. The notion being that it is allocated to Escort a unit during deployment.

In a similar vein my gut feel is that you cannot return from ongoing reserve via Deep Strike as the intention to deploy via deep strike is nominated during the deployment phase and can't be changed later.
Magpie_Oz is offline  
Reply

  Lower Navigation
Go Back   Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums > Warhammer 40K > 40k Rules Discussion

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome