Dante's power axe - Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums
40k Rules Discussion Post any Warhammer 40k rules queries and discussions here.

Closed Thread
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 199 (permalink) Old 07-07-12, 05:52 AM Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 77
Reputation: 1
Default Dante's power axe

In the blood angels codex, Dante has the "axe of moraki" but the description says to treat it as a power weapon. Should his attacks go last like an axe or normal like a power weapon? Personally I lean to normal since there is a distinction in the wolves codex between frost blade and frost and it's the older book.

shaggy is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 199 (permalink) Old 07-07-12, 06:07 AM
Senior Member
 
normtheunsavoury's Avatar
normtheunsavoury's Flag is: England
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Rochester, Medway, Kent.
Posts: 5,116
Reputation: 44
Default

Dante's Axe Mortalis is a master crafted power weapon, so, following the rules as I understand them it would be treated as a power axe, because that's what it is.

Quote:
Also, Ewoks eat people.
Never forget that.
Ewoks. Eat. People.
Galahad.

Black Serpent Sun

FILE 18
normtheunsavoury is offline  
post #3 of 199 (permalink) Old 07-07-12, 06:42 AM
WFB Moderator
 
Tim/Steve's Avatar
Tim/Steve's Flag is: United Kingdom
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Worcestershire, UK
Posts: 8,248
Reputation: 13
Default

Treat like a power weapon: open rules to power weapons, find there are 4 sub-categories... one of which is power axe.
Power axes follow the rules for power weapons.


Last edited by Tim/Steve; 07-07-12 at 06:45 AM.
Tim/Steve is offline  
 
post #4 of 199 (permalink) Old 07-07-12, 06:47 AM
Senior Member
 
normtheunsavoury's Avatar
normtheunsavoury's Flag is: England
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Rochester, Medway, Kent.
Posts: 5,116
Reputation: 44
Default

Where does it say that it is treated as a power weapon? All I can find is that it is a master crafted power weapon, no mention of it being treated as anything other than what it is.

Quote:
Also, Ewoks eat people.
Never forget that.
Ewoks. Eat. People.
Galahad.

Black Serpent Sun

FILE 18
normtheunsavoury is offline  
post #5 of 199 (permalink) Old 07-07-12, 06:49 AM
Member
 
Arlex's Avatar
Arlex's Flag is: Canada
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 71
Reputation: 1
Default

As it is an older 'dex the rule has not been updated. A power WEAPON is broken up into four subcategories. Which category a weapon falls into is based on it's appearance (and in this case it's name) so Dante's axe would logically be a power axe, which is a kind of power weapon.

My Armies-
Orks- 3000 pts
Bretonnia- 2500
Raven Guard- 500ish
Skaven- 500ish
Dwarves- 500ish
High Elves- 500ish
Imperial Guard- Starting

Been playing 40k since I was 9, still so much to learn.

Lists-
Raven Guard 3rd Company- 0-0-0
Catachan II- Airbourne- 1-0-0
Muster of Castle Vez- 0-0-0
Arlex is offline  
post #6 of 199 (permalink) Old 07-07-12, 10:55 AM
Senior Member
 
Rems's Avatar
Rems's Flag is: Australia
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Australia
Posts: 1,717
Reputation: 19
Default

The rules on page 61 say "if a model's wargear says it has a power weapon which has no further special rules, look at the model to tell which type of power weapon it has".

The Axe of Mortalis is simply a master crafter power weapon. Thus it follows the above procedure. It additionally has the master crafted rule on page 39 of the rulebook, allowing the re-roll of one missed attack.

The Axe Mortalis is therefore a master crafted power axe. So it gives Dante plus 1 strength, strikes at initiative one is ap 2 and re-rolls one miss a turn.

Rems is offline  
post #7 of 199 (permalink) Old 07-07-12, 12:08 PM
Senior Member
 
Azrell's Avatar
Azrell's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Utah, yeah we have 40k here too.....
Posts: 548
Reputation: 2
Default

The Axe of Mortalis is unique hence that is a piece of wargear called ... suprise! "the axe of mortalis" It therefore follows the unique power weapons special rule. same with sang guard weapons. plus you answered your own question... its master crafted, thats additional rules beyond just being a power weapon!

This is kinda like how mephiston is not just a buff libby but a unique model or "named".

It takes a pack of Wolves to tree a Lion... here is hopping the new DA codex reflects that.
Azrell is offline  
post #8 of 199 (permalink) Old 07-07-12, 12:13 PM
Senior Member
 
Aramoro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 7,314
Reputation: 5
Default

the axe of mortalis is just an unusual power weapon as it has no unique rules associated with it. It becomes a Master-crafted Power Axe.

Aramoro

"Violence isn't the answer, I just like getting it wrong on purpose"

Sally Forth! - My Gaming Blog
Aramoro is offline  
post #9 of 199 (permalink) Old 07-07-12, 01:14 PM Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 77
Reputation: 1
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rems View Post
The rules on page 61 say
I was actually looking for someone to cite the book and prove me wrong. Thanks for being specific

shaggy is offline  
post #10 of 199 (permalink) Old 07-07-12, 01:36 PM
Senior Moderator
 
DeathKlokk's Avatar
DeathKlokk's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Nashville, TN
Posts: 5,719
Reputation: 20
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Azrell View Post
The Axe of Mortalis is unique hence that is a piece of wargear called ... suprise! "the axe of mortalis" It therefore follows the unique power weapons special rule. same with sang guard weapons. plus you answered your own question... its master crafted, thats additional rules beyond just being a power weapon!

This is kinda like how mephiston is not just a buff libby but a unique model or "named".
This is a common misconception. My group is currently debating this very issue as well. It is based on misreading the unusual power weapons rule and mixing up the terminology (as Azrell and Aramoro have done).

First, it's unusual power weapons, not unique. Unique makes you assume that it works for any named weapon out there. It does not.

Secondly it is any power weapon with unique rules not just unusual characteristics. Unique means not like any other. Having a special rule like master crafted doesn't count as unique, only different from a regular PW.

Specifically Dante's axe has no rules that are unique to it. So it is treated as a PW of its type (axe) with the special rule master crafted. As has been stated.

The main thing to remember is the distinction between unique and different.

Strange, but not a Stranger.
DeathKlokk is offline  
Closed Thread

  Lower Navigation
Go Back   Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums > Warhammer 40K > 40k Rules Discussion

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome