Dante's power axe - Page 19 - Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums
40k Rules Discussion Post any Warhammer 40k rules queries and discussions here.

Closed Thread
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #181 of 199 (permalink) Old 07-14-12, 01:48 PM
ZOMGZOR CUSTOM USER TITLE
 
scscofield's Avatar
scscofield's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Finger Lakes Region of NY
Posts: 6,195
Reputation: 56
Default


http://i.imgur.com/aPfHUHy.gif?1




scscofield is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #182 of 199 (permalink) Old 07-14-12, 02:33 PM
Token Trans Mod
 
Zion's Avatar
Zion's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: On the internet.
Posts: 6,385
Reputation: 103
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by scscofield View Post
*snip*
No lie. I still can't figure out why someone would to take a good combo like Dante with an Axe and nerf that. Seriously, let's look at the pros and cons for the Axe vs the "Unusual Power Weapon" that we keep seeing:

Axe (Pros):
+ Strength Bonus (+1S) that stacks with Furious Charge to make Dante wound Marines on 2s on the charge
+ AP2, which allows Dante to force Invunerable saves on anyone he smacks
+ Master Crafted so Dante gets to reroll 1 missed hit per turn
+ Doesn't negate Dante's High Initative for Sweeping Advance so he still gets +6 to his Initative check to sweep.

Axe (Cons):
- Dante swings an Initiative 1 (along with almost every other AP1/2 weapon)

Unusual Power Weapon (Pros):
+ AP3 so he can reliably kill Marines
+ Doesn't interfere with his Initiative so he swings on I6
+ Still sweeps at I6
+ Still Master-crafted

Unusual Power Weapon (Cons):
- Dante can't reliably hurt Terminators or anyone in Artificer Armor.
- S4 during combat after the charge

As we clearly see the Axe gives the most actual benefits for forcing wounds. So why give Dante a Wiffle Bat?
Zion is offline  
post #183 of 199 (permalink) Old 07-14-12, 02:46 PM
Jeep's and Harley's
 
OIIIIIIO's Avatar
OIIIIIIO's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Sparta
Posts: 1,997
Reputation: 10
Default

Here is a question along with Dante and Kharn the betrayer ... If you use Dantes special bullshit rule of -1 to WS,Wo,I, and Att ... would that make Kharn go after Dante as the I of both characters is already at one. I know it can not go below one but would this affect Kharn's I in any way? I would say that they go at the same time, but that is just me.
OIIIIIIO is offline  
 
post #184 of 199 (permalink) Old 07-14-12, 02:50 PM
ZOMGZOR CUSTOM USER TITLE
 
scscofield's Avatar
scscofield's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Finger Lakes Region of NY
Posts: 6,195
Reputation: 56
Default

He would go at the same time but he would be a bit less scary because of the rest of the stat line.

http://i.imgur.com/aPfHUHy.gif?1




scscofield is offline  
post #185 of 199 (permalink) Old 07-15-12, 05:44 AM
Senior Member
 
Azrell's Avatar
Azrell's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Utah, yeah we have 40k here too.....
Posts: 548
Reputation: 2
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by OIIIIIIO View Post
Here is a question along with Dante and Kharn the betrayer ... If you use Dantes special bullshit rule of -1 to WS,Wo,I, and Att ... would that make Kharn go after Dante as the I of both characters is already at one. I know it can not go below one but would this affect Kharn's I in any way? I would say that they go at the same time, but that is just me.
I thought karn had a higher I than 2? the unwieldy rule doesn't change your I only at what I level you strike at in CC.

It takes a pack of Wolves to tree a Lion... here is hopping the new DA codex reflects that.
Azrell is offline  
post #186 of 199 (permalink) Old 07-15-12, 05:47 AM
Senior Member
 
Azrell's Avatar
Azrell's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Utah, yeah we have 40k here too.....
Posts: 548
Reputation: 2
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Archon Dan View Post
You do realise you are arguing wording across two editions of the game now. That doesn't really work as the Blood Angel codex was written for 5th edition's rules, not sixth. You might be able to say the GK codex was written with 6th in mind but it was still written with 5th ed's rules. Even the Necron codex recieved errata because of rule changes.

In short, a 5th ed codex that says "unique" cannot be used as evidence for a 6th ed rule. The word did not have the same affect and was not written with the same purpose.
The codex was written by matt ward, 6th ed could very well have been written with the full knowledge that he had called certain weapons unique in other books he had previously written.

It takes a pack of Wolves to tree a Lion... here is hopping the new DA codex reflects that.
Azrell is offline  
post #187 of 199 (permalink) Old 07-15-12, 10:57 AM
Token Trans Mod
 
Zion's Avatar
Zion's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: On the internet.
Posts: 6,385
Reputation: 103
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Azrell View Post
The codex was written by matt ward, 6th ed could very well have been written with the full knowledge that he had called certain weapons unique in other books he had previously written.
Again, the rules don't care if the weapon is unique (or else it'd say that in the rules), but if the rules are. And your interpretation breaks down when you look at weapons you can have multiples of that are not carried by unique models (like the Dark Eldar Agonizer, or the Sisters of Battle Neural Whips, or Daemon Weapons). They suddenly become incapable of being categorized properly (thus violating the rules that they belong to a category) if we say that "Unique" pertains to unit type, not to the fact that the rules are common or not in the game.
Zion is offline  
post #188 of 199 (permalink) Old 07-15-12, 12:26 PM
ZOMGZOR CUSTOM USER TITLE
 
scscofield's Avatar
scscofield's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Finger Lakes Region of NY
Posts: 6,195
Reputation: 56
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Azrell View Post
I thought karn had a higher I than 2? the unwieldy rule doesn't change your I only at what I level you strike at in CC.
Page 43
Unwieldy
'fluff'
A model attacking with this weapon does so at Initiative step 1, unless it is a Monstrous Creature or a Walker.


They both have axes, they both have unwieldy, both strike at I1.

http://i.imgur.com/aPfHUHy.gif?1




scscofield is offline  
post #189 of 199 (permalink) Old 07-15-12, 07:37 PM
Banned
VanquisherMBT's Flag is: England
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: england
Posts: 351
Reputation: 1
Default

Why is Kharn going at initiative 1 or 2?, surely his axe hitting on 2+ makes it unique and so unusual power weapon?

Or was it changed in the faq?, I never checked the chaos one as chaos has no importance in 40k at the moment

Last edited by VanquisherMBT; 07-15-12 at 08:11 PM.
VanquisherMBT is offline  
post #190 of 199 (permalink) Old 07-15-12, 07:50 PM
ZOMGZOR CUSTOM USER TITLE
 
scscofield's Avatar
scscofield's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Finger Lakes Region of NY
Posts: 6,195
Reputation: 56
Default

The FaQ for him says it is treated as a Power Axe.

Edit: Chaos is for every rumor out there atm the next codex and one of the starter set armies. So it's gonna be fairly in the now in terms or 40k.

http://i.imgur.com/aPfHUHy.gif?1




scscofield is offline  
Closed Thread

  Lower Navigation
Go Back   Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums > Warhammer 40K > 40k Rules Discussion

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome