Necron Night Scythe the worst transport in the game? - Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums
40k Rules Discussion Post any Warhammer 40k rules queries and discussions here.

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 37 (permalink) Old 07-05-12, 09:22 PM Thread Starter
Banned
MadCowCrazy's Flag is: Aaland
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Burning Depths of Hell
Posts: 2,452
Reputation: 11
Default Necron Night Scythe the worst transport in the game?

I'm playing a game tomorrow against nids, I figured I'd make a Overlord with warscythe and 5 lords with flame gauntlets and put them in a Nightscythe.

However none of these can take it as a dedicated transport.

The Nightscythe is a Flier and Transport, it can NOT Hover.
This means it's only movement is Zoom p.80
"Finally, models cannot embark upon, or disernbark from, a Zooming Flyer."

This means you can not embark upon the Nightscythe as you cannot do that with zooming fliers and the Nightscythe can only Zoom.

Nightscythe Transport rule:
TRANSPORT: The Night Scythe has a transport capacity
of 15. It can carry jump infantry (each model takes up two
points of transport capacity) and Jetbikes (each model takes
up three points of transport capacity). If the Night Scythe is
destroyed, the embarked unit is not allowed to disembark,
but instead enters reserve (when they arrive, they cannot
Deep Strike).

Tomb Blades cannot take a Nightscythe as a dedicated transport which means they can NOT embark upon one.

Wraits, Destroyers and Triarch Praetorians can't either so no Jump Infantry in the codex can use the Nightscythe as a dedicated transport.


So correct me if I'm wrong but the Nightscythe is basically the worst transport in the game, a few units can take it but once they jump out no unit can ever embark on it again?

Please correct me, please tell me I'm wrong!!!

All the FAQ did was add:
"Invasion Beams: A unit that begins its Movement phase embarked upon a Night Scythe can disembark before or after the vehicle has moved....."
Without this rule you wouldn't be able to exit the vehicle...

On page 121 it says a dedicated transport can only be used by the unit it was selected with plus any ICs with it during deployment, once they have exited other units can use it. Fliers ALWAYS start in reserve so this means the Night Scythe can never be used by any other unit than the one it was bought for...

Last edited by MadCowCrazy; 07-05-12 at 09:30 PM.
MadCowCrazy is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 37 (permalink) Old 07-05-12, 09:42 PM
Banned
Sakura_ninja's Flag is: England
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 616
Reputation: 1
Default

I actually laughed at how retarded that is, no really I did.


Don't be a Dick, Sakura.

-DK

Last edited by DeathKlokk; 07-06-12 at 05:11 AM.
Sakura_ninja is offline  
post #3 of 37 (permalink) Old 07-05-12, 10:18 PM
Senior Member
 
Hellgore's Avatar
Hellgore's Flag is: Germany
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Coburg - Germany
Posts: 385
Reputation: 1
Default

edit: forget what I wrote, I misread some rules...

Last edited by Hellgore; 07-05-12 at 10:35 PM.
Hellgore is offline  
 
post #4 of 37 (permalink) Old 07-05-12, 10:24 PM
ZOMGZOR CUSTOM USER TITLE
 
scscofield's Avatar
scscofield's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Finger Lakes Region of NY
Posts: 6,195
Reputation: 56
Default

I think the issue is the thing can only zoom around the board, so it is impossible for units on the board to get on it.

http://i.imgur.com/aPfHUHy.gif?1




scscofield is offline  
post #5 of 37 (permalink) Old 07-05-12, 10:29 PM
Senior Member
 
The Sturk's Avatar
The Sturk's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 959
Reputation: 9
Default

You seem to be forgetting the fact that when it gets killed, the units on it won't be taking that Str 10 hit. And the reserves issue is easily countered by a well placed Monolith, which is actually a bit more survivable now thanks to Jink.
The Sturk is offline  
post #6 of 37 (permalink) Old 07-05-12, 10:33 PM
Senior Member
 
LukeValantine's Avatar
LukeValantine's Flag is: Canada
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Regina, Sask, Canada
Posts: 4,277
Reputation: 21
Default

Even if madcowcrazy is right I will still be using my night scythes as for me they have only one goal and that is to dump my units deep in the enemy deployment zone where voltaic staffs can kill all of the enemies armour. What the 3 scythes I use do after this is irrelevant to my battle plan.


Medusa: "I'm a witch, its my job to blaspheme against Gods."

Two Slaanesh daemons on the first go...hmm I guess the fates have spoken emperors children here I come
LukeValantine is offline  
post #7 of 37 (permalink) Old 07-05-12, 10:48 PM
Banned
Sakura_ninja's Flag is: England
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 616
Reputation: 1
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by LukeValantine View Post
Even if madcowcrazy is right I will still be using my night scythes as for me they have only one goal and that is to dump my units deep in the enemy deployment zone
How when you can't get out?
Sakura_ninja is offline  
post #8 of 37 (permalink) Old 07-05-12, 10:48 PM
ZOMGZOR CUSTOM USER TITLE
 
scscofield's Avatar
scscofield's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Finger Lakes Region of NY
Posts: 6,195
Reputation: 56
Default

All the FAQ did was add:
"Invasion Beams: A unit that begins its Movement phase embarked upon a Night Scythe can disembark before or after the vehicle has moved....."
Without this rule you wouldn't be able to exit the vehicle...

http://i.imgur.com/aPfHUHy.gif?1




scscofield is offline  
post #9 of 37 (permalink) Old 07-05-12, 10:56 PM
Senior Member
 
LukeValantine's Avatar
LukeValantine's Flag is: Canada
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Regina, Sask, Canada
Posts: 4,277
Reputation: 21
Default

Yah so GW didn't completely screw up....just mostly. Well it looks like another year long wait till the realize that according to RaW the night scythe can only transport immortals and warriors with attached character (And is unable to pick them back up)....despite specifically listing carrying capacity for almost every unit in the codex.


Medusa: "I'm a witch, its my job to blaspheme against Gods."

Two Slaanesh daemons on the first go...hmm I guess the fates have spoken emperors children here I come
LukeValantine is offline  
post #10 of 37 (permalink) Old 07-05-12, 11:05 PM
Ancient Relic
 
mcmuffin's Avatar
mcmuffin's Flag is: Ireland
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Waking up from my tomb world
Posts: 2,430
Reputation: 7
Default

Not worth it, McM

-DK


However, i suspect that the night scythes were not quite designed with this in mind, but it does provide a little bit of balance considering how difficult it is to down them. otherwise we would see you picking up a unit and moving 30 inches, then moving another 30 and dumping them off, it is almost too much speed for the game, being able to move units from one end of the board to the other in 2 turns.

Quote:
Originally Posted by McMuffin's Law
As an online discussion about 40k grows longer, the probability of a comparison involving Squats approaches 1.
Quote:
Originally Posted by DeathKlokk View Post
Keep in mind you are arguing "realism" about an army of genetically-altered supermen that are able to shrug off rocket propelled explosive bullets because someone is waving around a cup full of blood that reminds them of their long lost Super Daddy that was killed by there Extra Special-Super Uncle.
Space Wolves Tournament Results W:24 D:8 L:8
Jaws-ing my way to victory

Last edited by DeathKlokk; 07-06-12 at 05:16 AM.
mcmuffin is offline  
Reply

  Lower Navigation
Go Back   Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums > Warhammer 40K > 40k Rules Discussion

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome