Death Ray and Fliers - Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums
40k Rules Discussion Post any Warhammer 40k rules queries and discussions here.

Closed Thread
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 135 (permalink) Old 07-05-12, 02:08 AM Thread Starter
Banned
MadCowCrazy's Flag is: Aaland
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Burning Depths of Hell
Posts: 2,452
Reputation: 11
Default Death Ray and Fliers

Correct me if I'm wrong but would a Death Ray automatically hit a Flier or Flying MC? It's not really a blast or template weapon but kinda works like one, if anything it works like Beam psychic powers but it's not a psychic power.
MadCowCrazy is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 135 (permalink) Old 07-05-12, 02:27 AM
Senior Member
 
Da Joka's Avatar
Da Joka's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 807
Reputation: 5
Default

This is Correct, the same goes for Imotekh's Staff of the Destroyer, granted his staff will be a long shot to kill anything.

Peace, Love, and Mass Destruction

Necrons in 6th Edition W: 28 L: 9 D: 5
Orks in 6th Edition W:9 L:9 D:3

Quote:
Originally Posted by Vaz View Post
F*** that, Barrel rolling monolith all the way.
Da Joka is offline  
post #3 of 135 (permalink) Old 07-05-12, 02:34 AM
Senior Member
 
Salahaldin's Avatar
Salahaldin's Flag is: Canada
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Georgetown, ON
Posts: 584
Reputation: 2
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MadCowCrazy View Post
Correct me if I'm wrong but would a Death Ray automatically hit a Flier or Flying MC? It's not really a blast or template weapon but kinda works like one, if anything it works like Beam psychic powers but it's not a psychic power.
What type of weapon is it listed as?

"Trying to make some sense of it all,
When I can see it makes no sense at all"

"Fools to the left of me,
Jokers to the right,
Here I am,
Stuck in the middle with you."
Salahaldin is offline  
 
post #4 of 135 (permalink) Old 07-05-12, 02:39 AM
Senior Member
 
Da Joka's Avatar
Da Joka's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 807
Reputation: 5
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Salahaldin View Post
What type of weapon is it listed as?
It does not have a type. It simply states that every model under the line get's hit with a S10 AP 1 hit.

Peace, Love, and Mass Destruction

Necrons in 6th Edition W: 28 L: 9 D: 5
Orks in 6th Edition W:9 L:9 D:3

Quote:
Originally Posted by Vaz View Post
F*** that, Barrel rolling monolith all the way.
Da Joka is offline  
post #5 of 135 (permalink) Old 07-05-12, 02:58 AM
Senior Member
 
Salahaldin's Avatar
Salahaldin's Flag is: Canada
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Georgetown, ON
Posts: 584
Reputation: 2
Default

Then I guess you can hit a flier automatically with it. Same as a beam psychic power.

"Trying to make some sense of it all,
When I can see it makes no sense at all"

"Fools to the left of me,
Jokers to the right,
Here I am,
Stuck in the middle with you."
Salahaldin is offline  
post #6 of 135 (permalink) Old 07-05-12, 04:51 AM
Senior Member
 
Kastle's Avatar
Kastle's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Western PA
Posts: 316
Reputation: 1
Default

umm...i believe you cannot do that...in order to shoot at a flyer you have to take snap shots at it, on pg 13 last line in snap shots mentions "its important to note that any shooting attack that does not use a ballistic skill-such as monoliths exile portal cannot be fired as snap shot."

"When you get to heaven may the Devil be your judge.."
Kastle is offline  
post #7 of 135 (permalink) Old 07-05-12, 04:53 AM
Senior Member
 
Kastle's Avatar
Kastle's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Western PA
Posts: 316
Reputation: 1
Default

but since the doomscythe is a flyer, then you can declare that it is in skyfire mode and then only hit the flying vehicles.

"When you get to heaven may the Devil be your judge.."
Kastle is offline  
post #8 of 135 (permalink) Old 07-05-12, 05:37 AM
Senior Member
 
Da Joka's Avatar
Da Joka's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 807
Reputation: 5
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kastle View Post
umm...i believe you cannot do that...in order to shoot at a flyer you have to take snap shots at it, on pg 13 last line in snap shots mentions "its important to note that any shooting attack that does not use a ballistic skill-such as monoliths exile portal cannot be fired as snap shot."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kastle View Post
but since the doomscythe is a flyer, then you can declare that it is in skyfire mode and then only hit the flying vehicles.
There is a big difference between "Beams" and the Death Ray or Imokekh's Staff of the Destroyer.

The Death Ray and Staff of the Destroyer don't actually target units. They target points on the board.

Peace, Love, and Mass Destruction

Necrons in 6th Edition W: 28 L: 9 D: 5
Orks in 6th Edition W:9 L:9 D:3

Quote:
Originally Posted by Vaz View Post
F*** that, Barrel rolling monolith all the way.
Da Joka is offline  
post #9 of 135 (permalink) Old 07-05-12, 05:54 AM
Senior Member
 
Kastle's Avatar
Kastle's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Western PA
Posts: 316
Reputation: 1
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Da Joka View Post
There is a big difference between "Beams" and the Death Ray or Imokekh's Staff of the Destroyer.

The Death Ray and Staff of the Destroyer don't actually target units. They target points on the board.
right they are all different, but the one thing they have in common is that it does not require a bs skill to hit. unfortunately BRB is quite explicit about it

"When you get to heaven may the Devil be your judge.."
Kastle is offline  
post #10 of 135 (permalink) Old 07-05-12, 05:54 AM
WFB Moderator
 
Tim/Steve's Avatar
Tim/Steve's Flag is: United Kingdom
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Worcestershire, UK
Posts: 8,248
Reputation: 13
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kastle View Post
umm...i believe you cannot do that...in order to shoot at a flyer you have to take snap shots at it, on pg 13 last line in snap shots mentions "its important to note that any shooting attack that does not use a ballistic skill-such as monoliths exile portal cannot be fired as snap shot."
Death ray doesn't "shoot at" anything. It doesn't declare a target... so it can hit fliers without having to fire snap shot.
The BRB is very clear, but it clearly doesn't effect the death ray or beam type weapons: WFB is full of these sorts of rules, with magical blasts being 'placed' anywhere... and since they don't target the units they hit (they target a point, not a unit) certain unit abilities/defences don't activate.


Last edited by Tim/Steve; 07-05-12 at 05:56 AM.
Tim/Steve is offline  
Closed Thread

  Lower Navigation
Go Back   Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums > Warhammer 40K > 40k Rules Discussion

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome