Sorry guys, DR cannot hit flyers. I posted this on Beasts of War earlier today... I hope this makes sense to everyone. It unfortunately requires multiple sections to reveal the rule but at least it shows that sixth really does cover everything, even if in a convoluted manner.
Pg. 81 “Shots resolved at a zooming flyer can ONLY be resolved as snap shots (unless the model or weapon has the skyfire special rule, as described on page 42) – Since we know the deathray doesn’t have skyfire we have to go off the basis the flyer itself has skyfire so let’s check skyfire rules.
Pg. 42 “A model with this special rule, or that is firing a weapon with this special rule fires using its normal ballistic skill when shooting at Flyers, Flying monstrous creatures, and skimmers… (then something about shooting snap shots elsewhere, unimportant)” – Hmm, but the deathray doesn’t use ballistic skill so obviously it can’t benefit from skyfire rules so lets see how snap fire works.
Pg. 13 “If a model is forced to make snap shots rather than shoot normally, then it’s ballistic skill is counted as being 1 for the purposes of those shots” (right now you are saying, who cares, I don’t need a BS to hit with a line!) “Some weapon types, such as Template and Ordinance, or those that have certain special rules, such as a blast, cannot be fired as Snap Shots. It’s important to note that ANY shooting attack that does not use BS (reference Necron Monolith’s Portal) cannot be ‘fired’ as a snap shot.”
So let’s recount, 1. Shots resolved at (not rolled to hit, resolved) can only happen as snap shots without skyfire. 2. Skyfire allows full BS 3. Weapons that don’t use a BS can NEVER be fired as snap shots.
Sorry, I think the same rules will apply to vibro cannon, beam weapons, etc... the only thing I'm a little weary of challenging is the psychic power "crush" because of the wording.