Psychic Overwatch? - Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums
40k Rules Discussion Post any Warhammer 40k rules queries and discussions here.

Closed Thread
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 57 (permalink) Old 07-03-12, 10:32 PM Thread Starter
Ancient Relic
 
mcmuffin's Avatar
mcmuffin's Flag is: Ireland
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Waking up from my tomb world
Posts: 2,430
Reputation: 7
Default Psychic Overwatch?

So, a question came up today, can Witchfire attacks be used to overwatch? pretty simple, but it doesnt say whether you can or cannot (from my reading anyway) so I assume you can. The joy of murderous hurricane wiping out a charging squad would be too much.

Quote:
Originally Posted by McMuffin's Law
As an online discussion about 40k grows longer, the probability of a comparison involving Squats approaches 1.
Quote:
Originally Posted by DeathKlokk View Post
Keep in mind you are arguing "realism" about an army of genetically-altered supermen that are able to shrug off rocket propelled explosive bullets because someone is waving around a cup full of blood that reminds them of their long lost Super Daddy that was killed by there Extra Special-Super Uncle.
Space Wolves Tournament Results W:24 D:8 L:8
Jaws-ing my way to victory
mcmuffin is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 57 (permalink) Old 07-03-12, 10:38 PM
Senior Member
 
Dīnadan's Avatar
Dīnadan's Flag is: Wales
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Wales
Posts: 366
Reputation: 1
Default

Don't think so - p69 says Witchfire powers are used in the caster's Shooting Phase, whereas Overwatch is described on p21 as a shooting attack done in the opponant's Assult Phase.
Dīnadan is offline  
post #3 of 57 (permalink) Old 07-04-12, 06:07 AM
Senior Member
 
Salahaldin's Avatar
Salahaldin's Flag is: Canada
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Georgetown, ON
Posts: 584
Reputation: 2
Default

Dinadan is right. Firing a weapon is allowed in the assault phase for the purposes of Overwatch. But expending a warp point and taking a test for a witchfire power is not.

"Trying to make some sense of it all,
When I can see it makes no sense at all"

"Fools to the left of me,
Jokers to the right,
Here I am,
Stuck in the middle with you."
Salahaldin is offline  
 
post #4 of 57 (permalink) Old 07-04-12, 06:41 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 152
Reputation: 1
Default

What about psychic powers from the codices? Like Murderous Hurricane is listed as a 'psychic shooting attack', nowhere does it say when to use it. Overwatch is stated as being resolved like a normal shooting attack. Does this mean that it can be used on Overwatch? This would suck greatly as it auto hits so it doesn't even need a 6 to hit and would make my orks assaulting through difficult and dangerous terrain. Initially I would say no, but I can see a case being made for it.
shmabadu is offline  
post #5 of 57 (permalink) Old 07-04-12, 07:13 AM
Senior Member
 
pantat's Avatar
pantat's Flag is: United Kingdom
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Derbyshire
Posts: 408
Reputation: 1
Default

But if you are only allowed to overwatch weapons that are allowed to snap fire and i dont think it says you can snap fire a psychic shooting attack. Unless of course you need a double 6 to pass the psychic test but in that case you have failed it anyway. So i would say no, you're not allowed.
pantat is offline  
post #6 of 57 (permalink) Old 07-04-12, 07:26 AM
Senior Member
 
Salahaldin's Avatar
Salahaldin's Flag is: Canada
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Georgetown, ON
Posts: 584
Reputation: 2
Default

You are not allowed. Overwatch allows you to make a shooting attack in the opponent's assault phase. It does not allow you to expend a warp point and take a test for a psychic shooting attack in the opponent's assault phase.

"Trying to make some sense of it all,
When I can see it makes no sense at all"

"Fools to the left of me,
Jokers to the right,
Here I am,
Stuck in the middle with you."
Salahaldin is offline  
post #7 of 57 (permalink) Old 07-04-12, 07:33 AM
Senior Member
 
Kelann08's Avatar
Kelann08's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 332
Reputation: 1
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by pantat View Post
Unless of course you need a double 6 to pass the psychic test but in that case you have failed it anyway. So i would say no, you're not allowed.

Even if you were allowed, if it were a psychic shooting attack, you'd roll to see if it worked then roll to hit. The psychic test is not the test to hit if its a shooting attack.

Either way, I'd say no to all of it.

~600 points of Necrons - Phase 1
1500 points of Imperial Fists - Pictures Coming Soon

Do you live in the Dallas, TX area and love tabletop tactica? Check out Dallas Area Wargamers on Facebook.
We are working to become a community of wargamers from all over the area as well as a resource for those looking to enter wargaming for the first time.


The Emperor commands us. Dorn guides us. Honour shields us.
Fear our name, for it is vengeance.

Kelann08 is offline  
post #8 of 57 (permalink) Old 07-04-12, 11:21 AM
Vaz
Senior Member
 
Vaz's Avatar
Vaz's Flag is: United Kingdom
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Manchester, UK.
Posts: 12,830
Reputation: 79
Default

As said it is because they are maifested during the shooting phase, while the overwatch is a shooting attack in the enemies assault phase.



100% free webcam site! | Awesome chicks and it is absolutely free! | Watch free live sex cam - easy as 1-2-3

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bindi Baji View Post
It's not a black and white question really, there are different shades of anal probing,
a rectum spectrum, if you will
Vaz is offline  
post #9 of 57 (permalink) Old 07-04-12, 03:52 PM
Senior Moderator
 
DeathKlokk's Avatar
DeathKlokk's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Nashville, TN
Posts: 5,719
Reputation: 20
Default

But firing weapons in general is done in the shooting phase. Overwatch is an exception to the rule, with a list of fire options that do network as Snap Fire.

I'm not arguing for it, I'm just saying the "it's done in the shooting phase" argument is very weak.

Also, any attack that doesn't use BS cannot be Snap Fired anyway.

Strange, but not a Stranger.

Last edited by DeathKlokk; 07-04-12 at 03:59 PM.
DeathKlokk is offline  
post #10 of 57 (permalink) Old 07-04-12, 04:41 PM
Senior Member
 
pantat's Avatar
pantat's Flag is: United Kingdom
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Derbyshire
Posts: 408
Reputation: 1
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DeathKlokk View Post
But firing weapons in general is done in the shooting phase. Overwatch is an exception to the rule, with a list of fire options that do network as Snap Fire.

I'm not arguing for it, I'm just saying the "it's done in the shooting phase" argument is very weak.

Also, any attack that doesn't use BS cannot be Snap Fired anyway.
Totally agree, but with the exception of flamers
pantat is offline  
Closed Thread

  Lower Navigation
Go Back   Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums > Warhammer 40K > 40k Rules Discussion

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome