Assaultling from Transports - Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums
40k Rules Discussion Post any Warhammer 40k rules queries and discussions here.

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 7 (permalink) Old 07-01-12, 10:07 PM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
capnmoe's Avatar
capnmoe's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Illinois
Posts: 169
Reputation: 2
Default Assaultling from Transports

So am I reading this wrong or what? It looks like you can no longer disembark, move, then assault from transports that haven't moved. This makes little sense to me.

Last edited by capnmoe; 07-01-12 at 10:16 PM.
capnmoe is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 7 (permalink) Old 07-01-12, 10:21 PM
Senior Member
 
Da Joka's Avatar
Da Joka's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 807
Reputation: 5
Default

You're reading it right. Welcome to Wargunner 40k.

Unless the transport is an Assault Vehicle, you may not assault. Open Topped Vehicles are assault Vehicles.

Peace, Love, and Mass Destruction

Necrons in 6th Edition W: 28 L: 9 D: 5
Orks in 6th Edition W:9 L:9 D:3

Quote:
Originally Posted by Vaz View Post
F*** that, Barrel rolling monolith all the way.
Da Joka is offline  
post #3 of 7 (permalink) Old 07-01-12, 10:52 PM
Senior Member
 
HOBO's Avatar
HOBO's Flag is: Australia
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 3,407
Reputation: 1
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Da Joka View Post
You're reading it right. Welcome to Wargunner 40k.

Unless the transport is an Assault Vehicle, you may not assault. Open Topped Vehicles are assault Vehicles.
How are Drop Pods affected...they are upen topped.
HOBO is offline  
 
post #4 of 7 (permalink) Old 07-01-12, 10:57 PM
ZOMGZOR CUSTOM USER TITLE
 
scscofield's Avatar
scscofield's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Finger Lakes Region of NY
Posts: 6,195
Reputation: 56
Default

Stats in the Deep Strike rules they can not assault even if arriving via a transport.

http://i.imgur.com/aPfHUHy.gif?1




scscofield is offline  
post #5 of 7 (permalink) Old 07-01-12, 11:01 PM
Senior Member
 
HOBO's Avatar
HOBO's Flag is: Australia
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 3,407
Reputation: 1
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by scscofield View Post
Stats in the Deep Strike rules they can not assault even if arriving via a transport.
Cool...no change then - I haven't seen the FAQ yet so not up to speed.
HOBO is offline  
post #6 of 7 (permalink) Old 08-06-12, 09:44 AM
Senior Member
 
allisalie's Avatar
allisalie's Flag is: United Kingdom
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: uK
Posts: 447
Reputation: 2
Default

I have had a look in the rule book for assault vehicles and can only see a paragraph on page 33. I would like you know how fare you can move and then assault from, can you move say flat out and then assault or only 6 like someone told me the other day? Also Are these rules the say for all types of vehicles including flyers ie storm eagle?

Thank you

Last edited by allisalie; 08-06-12 at 09:48 AM.
allisalie is offline  
post #7 of 7 (permalink) Old 08-06-12, 10:57 AM
Token Trans Mod
 
Zion's Avatar
Zion's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: On the internet.
Posts: 6,385
Reputation: 103
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by allisalie View Post
I have had a look in the rule book for assault vehicles and can only see a paragraph on page 33. I would like you know how fare you can move and then assault from, can you move say flat out and then assault or only 6 like someone told me the other day? Also Are these rules the say for all types of vehicles including flyers ie storm eagle?

Thank you
You can only disembark if you moved 6" or less, so no more cross-board assaults for Dark Eldar. Flyers get an exception on a case-by-case bases as Invasion Beams (Necrons) can do it on the move, but most flyers need to be Hovering to allow disembark movements.

Currently it's debatable if Grav Chutes and like rules do, but hopefully the next round of FAQs state that they do/don't.
Zion is offline  
Reply

  Lower Navigation
Go Back   Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums > Warhammer 40K > 40k Rules Discussion

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome