Generating psychic powers - Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums
40k Rules Discussion Post any Warhammer 40k rules queries and discussions here.

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 23 (permalink) Old 06-29-12, 04:59 PM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Akhara'Keth's Avatar
Akhara'Keth's Flag is: Germany
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Tübingen/Germany
Posts: 212
Reputation: 2
Default Generating psychic powers

Hey, I'm currently trying to figure out how generating powers for my farseer works, but I just have no clue how to do it...

I know that he has Mastery level 2 with the upgrade (thaht let's him cast 2 per turn). So that would mean he can generate two powers. Am I now still allowed to buy the psychic powers from his codex entry?

Example: Mastery level 2, so I generate two powers, leaving me with "Prescience" and "Hallucination". Can I now still buy "Doom" and "Fortune", so I have a total of 4 psychic powers?

Check out my German 40k Blog!!

http://tausend-tore.blogspot.de/
Akhara'Keth is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 23 (permalink) Old 06-29-12, 05:26 PM
Senior Member
 
Dīnadan's Avatar
Dīnadan's Flag is: Wales
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Wales
Posts: 366
Reputation: 1
Default

The WD article says that Eldar Farseers generate a power from the new disciplines for each power they purchased from the codex (exchanging the purchased power for the randomly gnerated one), so I think that means that you can only have all codex powers or all discipline powers.
Dīnadan is offline  
post #3 of 23 (permalink) Old 06-29-12, 05:56 PM
Senior Member
 
Barnster's Avatar
Barnster's Flag is: United Kingdom
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Hampshire
Posts: 2,122
Reputation: 18
Default

One or the other

Codex or Rule book, personally I think eldar are better with codex entries simply because you can choose the ones you want and tailor your list more rather than relying on random abilities, armies with a focus on offensive magic like chaos are better looking at the rulebook
Barnster is offline  
 
post #4 of 23 (permalink) Old 06-29-12, 05:59 PM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Akhara'Keth's Avatar
Akhara'Keth's Flag is: Germany
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Tübingen/Germany
Posts: 212
Reputation: 2
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Barnster View Post
One or the other

Codex or Rule book, personally I think eldar are better with codex entries simply because you can choose the ones you want and tailor your list more rather than relying on random abilities
So I can buy 1/2/3/4 powers and then switch them out for 1/2/3/4 disciple powers?

Check out my German 40k Blog!!

http://tausend-tore.blogspot.de/
Akhara'Keth is offline  
post #5 of 23 (permalink) Old 06-29-12, 06:17 PM
Grey Knight Converter
 
asianavatar's Avatar
asianavatar's Flag is: Canada
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Toronto
Posts: 2,169
Reputation: 5
Default

Quote:
So I can buy 1/2/3/4 powers and then switch them out for 1/2/3/4 disciple powers
Not really sure. In the rulebook it talks about generating psychic powers. You pick a category and roll on the chart at the start of the battle. Do that for each mastery level you have, (powers can be from different disciplines). It however, doesn't mention anything about the psychic powers from the codices, or how those mix or if they even do.

I used to roll the dice, Feel the fear in my enemy's eyes

Quote:
I'm afraid there's no authoritative source for thinking you're an asshole
Aramoro
asianavatar is offline  
post #6 of 23 (permalink) Old 06-29-12, 06:19 PM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Akhara'Keth's Avatar
Akhara'Keth's Flag is: Germany
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Tübingen/Germany
Posts: 212
Reputation: 2
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by asianavatar View Post
Not really sure. In the rulebook it talks about generating psychic powers. You pick a category and roll on the chart at the start of the battle. Do that for each mastery level you have, (powers can be from different disciplines). It however, doesn't mention anything about the psychic powers from the codices, or how those mix or if they even do.
Maybe, after the FAQ, there are no Codex powers left

Check out my German 40k Blog!!

http://tausend-tore.blogspot.de/
Akhara'Keth is offline  
post #7 of 23 (permalink) Old 06-29-12, 06:23 PM
Grey Knight Converter
 
asianavatar's Avatar
asianavatar's Flag is: Canada
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Toronto
Posts: 2,169
Reputation: 5
Default

There might be mentions of it in the psychic card deck along with what armies can use what powers.

I used to roll the dice, Feel the fear in my enemy's eyes

Quote:
I'm afraid there's no authoritative source for thinking you're an asshole
Aramoro
asianavatar is offline  
post #8 of 23 (permalink) Old 06-30-12, 05:18 PM
Senior Member
 
AngelofHope's Avatar
AngelofHope's Flag is: Grreece
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Athens, Greece
Posts: 438
Reputation: 1
Default

In the WD 6th ed battle report, the Daemon Prince was using BOTH a codex power AND a generated power.

6th Ed. Tournament Log:
Slaanesh Chaos Marines Tourney list 0/0/0
Nurgle Chaos Marines list 0/0/0
Winner of Greek 40K GT 2009 (Chaos Space Marines)


AngelofHope is offline  
post #9 of 23 (permalink) Old 06-30-12, 09:42 PM
Senior Member
 
OMNOMNOMIVORE's Avatar
OMNOMNOMIVORE's Flag is: Israel
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 283
Reputation: 1
Default

a level two psyker can have two powers, either two from the codex OR two from the BRB. you cannot have two from each, as you are limited to two psychic powers.


aperture science-we do what we must because we can
when you say "jesus" backwards it sounds like "sausage"
Quote:
Originally Posted by kaboot View Post
In the enthusiastic brightness of the near future, there is only skipping. tra la la la la
OMNOMNOMIVORE is offline  
post #10 of 23 (permalink) Old 07-01-12, 03:29 AM
Senior Member
 
flankman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 330
Reputation: 1
Default

i find it quite annoying that a 90$ rule book has 0 clarification on this

other wise i'm loving story driven rules they have
flankman is offline  
Reply

  Lower Navigation
Go Back   Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums > Warhammer 40K > 40k Rules Discussion

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome