Generating psychic powers - Page 2 - Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums
40k Rules Discussion Post any Warhammer 40k rules queries and discussions here.

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #11 of 23 (permalink) Old 07-01-12, 04:49 AM
Senior Member
 
flankman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 330
Reputation: 1
Default

welp just read the faq, chaos still needs to spend points to unlock new spells unlike the libbies

atleast we can just try taking our cheapest spells
flankman is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #12 of 23 (permalink) Old 07-01-12, 10:08 AM
Senior Member
 
Sethis's Avatar
Sethis's Flag is: United Kingdom
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Alston, Cumbria
Posts: 4,190
Reputation: 58
Default

Basically:

Does your Psyker get specific powers (Like Mephiston)? If so, he comes with those powers.
Does your Psyker choose their powers from a list (like Librarians)? If so, you still choose from the list as normal.
Does your Psyker buy powers (like Farseers)? If so, you buy powers as normal.

Once you have completed the above stages, you may replace any single power (individually or all of them) with a single roll on any Psychic Discipline table you have access to.

As an example, Mephiston comes with 3 powers - Jump Pack, S10 and +D3 Attacks. He may swap out any of those for a single roll on Biomancy, Divination, Telekinesis or Telepathy. You could have 1 power from three different disciplines, three rolls on one discipline, or keep the Jump Pack one and roll up a Biomancy and a Telepathy one. Or whatever.

That's how I read it,anyway. The paragraph in the rulebook describing power generation is rather unnecessarily vague.

So at the moment I am experimenting with a Farseer who buys Doom and Guide, and then trades Guide for the Signature Spell in Divination - which is Guide with twice the range and works on melee as well as shooting. Only downside is not being able to do it out of a Tank but given the holofield nerf he might be hanging with a Ranger squad most games anyway.

90% of people think they are above average.

Statistically Improbable. Psychologically Inevitable.
Sethis is offline  
post #13 of 23 (permalink) Old 07-01-12, 10:38 AM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Akhara'Keth's Avatar
Akhara'Keth's Flag is: Germany
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Tübingen/Germany
Posts: 212
Reputation: 2
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by AngelofHope View Post
In the WD 6th ed battle report, the Daemon Prince was using BOTH a codex power AND a generated power.
Quote:
Originally Posted by OMNOMNOMIVORE View Post
a level two psyker can have two powers, either two from the codex OR two from the BRB. you cannot have two from each, as you are limited to two psychic powers.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sethis View Post
Basically:

Does your Psyker get specific powers (Like Mephiston)? If so, he comes with those powers.
Does your Psyker choose their powers from a list (like Librarians)? If so, you still choose from the list as normal.
Does your Psyker buy powers (like Farseers)? If so, you buy powers as normal.

Once you have completed the above stages, you may replace any single power (individually or all of them) with a single roll on any Psychic Discipline table you have access to.

As an example, Mephiston comes with 3 powers - Jump Pack, S10 and +D3 Attacks. He may swap out any of those for a single roll on Biomancy, Divination, Telekinesis or Telepathy. You could have 1 power from three different disciplines, three rolls on one discipline, or keep the Jump Pack one and roll up a Biomancy and a Telepathy one. Or whatever.

That's how I read it,anyway. The paragraph in the rulebook describing power generation is rather unnecessarily vague.

So at the moment I am experimenting with a Farseer who buys Doom and Guide, and then trades Guide for the Signature Spell in Divination - which is Guide with twice the range and works on melee as well as shooting. Only downside is not being able to do it out of a Tank but given the holofield nerf he might be hanging with a Ranger squad most games anyway.
So what now

Check out my German 40k Blog!!

http://tausend-tore.blogspot.de/
Akhara'Keth is offline  
 
post #14 of 23 (permalink) Old 07-01-12, 11:23 AM
Senior Member
bastex's Flag is: Belgium
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: in a pillbox shooting wolfguard
Posts: 164
Reputation: 1
Default

you can have as many psychic powers as u were allowed in 5th but now u can choose what power u use (for example my runepriest has living and chooses in the devination lis)

so basicly what sethis says

well thats my 5 cents

bastex is offline  
post #15 of 23 (permalink) Old 07-01-12, 11:31 AM
Rattlehead
 
MidnightSun's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: New Sheoth
Posts: 6,741
Reputation: 83
Default

Sethis is correct, I think.

The one thing I don't get is Sorcerors for Chaos. Do they have to buy two powers, or one and then get a roll on the table?

Midnight

Creator of Utilitarian Ultramarines Memes - join the XIII on Facebook (no XVII allowed).
MidnightSun is offline  
post #16 of 23 (permalink) Old 07-01-12, 11:55 AM
Senior Member
 
Dīnadan's Avatar
Dīnadan's Flag is: Wales
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Wales
Posts: 366
Reputation: 1
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by flankman View Post
i find it quite annoying that a 90$ rule book has 0 clarification on this
I think the problem is that they've tried to write a new ruleset while still making the old codices applicable. I'd think as new codices are released, they'd need little or no clarification as they'd have been written specifically for 6thed rather than 5th ed (like most of the current codices) or WiP 6th ed, (like the last two or three codicies released). If they'd included crystal clear rules on how to rework the old codices to work with the new rules in the new rulebook, they'd quickly become redundant as new codicies were released.
Dīnadan is offline  
post #17 of 23 (permalink) Old 07-01-12, 02:18 PM
Senior Member
 
falcoso's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 1,384
Reputation: 23
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by AngelofHope View Post
In the WD 6th ed battle report, the Daemon Prince was using BOTH a codex power AND a generated power.
But also in white dwarf the deamon prince flew and did vector strikes and othe flying monstrous creature things, when in the FAQ it says that if a model is given wings it just makes them jump.

Me: To be honest im amazed there isn't a chaos god of not revising or at least chaos god of procrastination

MidnightSun: There will be, when enough people do it. Y'know when the Eldar were all engaging in their hedonism and Slaanesh ripped open the Eye of Terror with his creation? Slaanesh will have NOTHING on the God of Procrastination, and his vile minions will carve the galaxy asunder in a thousand year reign of blood.... Tomorrow
falcoso is offline  
post #18 of 23 (permalink) Old 07-01-12, 02:28 PM
Tzeentch laughs at likely
 
Dave T Hobbit's Avatar
Dave T Hobbit's Flag is: Europe
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Inside my Head, Bristol, UK
Posts: 8,556
Reputation: 44
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by falcoso View Post
But also in white dwarf the deamon prince flew and did vector strikes and othe flying monstrous creature things, when in the FAQ it says that if a model is given wings it just makes them jump.
The FAQ says Chaos Daemon DPs with wings are Flying Monsters.
Dave T Hobbit is offline  
post #19 of 23 (permalink) Old 07-01-12, 02:46 PM
Senior Member
 
capnmoe's Avatar
capnmoe's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Illinois
Posts: 169
Reputation: 2
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dave T Hobbit View Post
The FAQ says Chaos Daemon DPs with wings are Flying Monsters.
Yet the DP in the bat rep is a Chaos Space Marine HQ.
capnmoe is offline  
post #20 of 23 (permalink) Old 07-01-12, 02:47 PM
Senior Member
 
falcoso's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 1,384
Reputation: 23
Default

Thats really odd then, so to make one a flying monstrous creature you need to take it as an ally?... curious...

Me: To be honest im amazed there isn't a chaos god of not revising or at least chaos god of procrastination

MidnightSun: There will be, when enough people do it. Y'know when the Eldar were all engaging in their hedonism and Slaanesh ripped open the Eye of Terror with his creation? Slaanesh will have NOTHING on the God of Procrastination, and his vile minions will carve the galaxy asunder in a thousand year reign of blood.... Tomorrow
falcoso is offline  
Reply

  Lower Navigation
Go Back   Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums > Warhammer 40K > 40k Rules Discussion

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome