Dark Eldar Grotesque question - Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums
40k Rules Discussion Post any Warhammer 40k rules queries and discussions here.

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 10 (permalink) Old 03-17-07, 06:03 PM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
blkdymnd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 432
Default Dark Eldar Grotesque question

Under the heading in the codex for the Grotesques, it states for their "Terrifying Opponent" rule that "any opponent beaten by them in close combat automatically falls back without a Leadership test being taken."

Does this apply to fearless opponents as well? Would they fall back, or since they are fearless and immune would they just take any extra fearless saves and stay in close combat? There isn't anything on it in the FAQ for the Dark Eldar so I thought I'd check with you all on it.
blkdymnd is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 10 (permalink) Old 03-18-07, 11:22 AM
Senior Member
 
LongBeard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Macclesfield
Posts: 630
Default

Since fearless units NEVER fall back they'd take a cartain number of armour saves relating to how outnumbered they were up to a maximimum of 3 saves.

''I Beard therefore I am!''

LongBeard (AKA Bennetio!)
LongBeard is offline  
post #3 of 10 (permalink) Old 03-18-07, 03:14 PM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
blkdymnd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 432
Default

Thats what I thought, thanks longbeard
blkdymnd is offline  
 
post #4 of 10 (permalink) Old 03-19-07, 12:28 AM
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 801
Default

That's IF they lost the combat. Those saves are only taken in that exact situation. Otherwise, the rules say 'target falls back' and Fearless says 'target never falls back', so they don't.
uberschveinen is offline  
post #5 of 10 (permalink) Old 03-19-07, 08:39 PM
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 29
Default

so basically it doesnt do anything against fearless models.
TheEmperor'sChampion is offline  
post #6 of 10 (permalink) Old 03-19-07, 11:32 PM
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 801
Default

It does Goggles-all against models that are either Fearless, or never fall back.
uberschveinen is offline  
post #7 of 10 (permalink) Old 03-21-07, 01:46 AM
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 34
Default

Just remember though, the fearless/not fall back model would take the armour saves anyway. Just if they were outnumbered less than 2:1 ,as uber says, it does googley-squat.
Barney the Lurker is offline  
post #8 of 10 (permalink) Old 03-21-07, 04:55 PM
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 23
Default

Grotesque also have 2 wounds each, so they outnumber you much quicker than a normal squad would.

I put up the DE Player FAQ and I was questioned about this...

Q: Do Necron gauss weapons wound Grotesques on a 6 even though they’re not S6?
A: Yes, this is covered in the Necron Codex Gauss entry. Only on a 6 however, remove the model hit.

Q: Do sniper rifles wound Grotesques on a 4+ even though they’re not S6?
A: I'd say yes, per the BGB saying regardless of toughness. So, one shot one kill.

Apparently this is not true, per an earlier ruling when grotesque are injured in a raider crash.

They're taken from Chapter Approved pdf's downloaded in third edition but 4th edition shouldn't necessarily change anything seeing as the DE Dex is older.

Q When Grotesques (who need 6 STR to be wounded) take damage on a 4+ (e.g. their Raider crashing) do they:
a) Ignore the damage, as it isn’t STR 6
b) Take one wound, even though a 6 STR should auto-kill them
c) Die a fiery death

a. B

Models with multiple wounds are removed when the unit they are in has taken enough wounds to eliminate one whole model, regardless of whether the casualties were inflicted on different models. The owning player chooses which model falls casualty.

So, which one is it?
Archondragomyr is offline  
post #9 of 10 (permalink) Old 02-01-10, 08:00 PM
Senior Member
 
Keelia's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Lansing, Michigan
Posts: 539
Reputation: 1
Default

Fearless models would have to take their saves if they lost combat.
Sniper and weapons always wounding on a certain die roll will wound....Not insta kill
a raider crashing is a STR3 hit to models inside. Thus they would ignore the rolls. The opponent still rolls as if they could because he could roll to eventually hit the IC attached to the squad and thus hits would have to be saved for him.

My Dark Eldar Tactica WIP https://www.heresy-online.net/forums/...ad.php?t=55046

Jon "Yukface" Regul is a tool.......See it almost rhymes
Keelia is offline  
post #10 of 10 (permalink) Old 02-01-10, 09:01 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 679
Reputation: 1
Default

necromancy! *shudders*
clever handle is offline  
Closed Thread

  Lower Navigation
Go Back   Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums > Warhammer 40K > 40k Rules Discussion

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome