Psychic shooting - Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums
40k Rules Discussion Post any Warhammer 40k rules queries and discussions here.

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 7 (permalink) Old 06-04-12, 02:22 PM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
kaboot's Avatar
kaboot's Flag is: Canada
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Canada
Posts: 201
Reputation: 3
Default Psychic shooting

So played a game with a friend yesterday, and we got stumped on this.

I have a psychic mastery 2 IC, and I was using 2 psychic shooting attacks when I could (after both test were passed). We decided that I could not fire my weapon after.

My question is, was I wrong to fire BOTH shooting attacks, or could I have shot my weapon along with the mention psychic powers?

Any clarification would help.

Thanks
kaboot is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 7 (permalink) Old 06-04-12, 02:34 PM
I Piss in your Cheerios
 
TheKingElessar's Avatar
TheKingElessar's Flag is: United Kingdom
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Northern Ireland
Posts: 7,370
Reputation: 2
Default

Only Monstrous Creatures may use multiple Psychic Shooting Attacks, or certain exceptions like in the Daemons Codex.

I remember no such exception for Grey Knights, though I could be wrong?
TheKingElessar is offline  
post #3 of 7 (permalink) Old 06-04-12, 02:48 PM
WFB Moderator
 
Tim/Steve's Avatar
Tim/Steve's Flag is: United Kingdom
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Worcestershire, UK
Posts: 8,248
Reputation: 13
Default

Psychic shooting attacks are treated as shooting attacks... and you can only make a single shooting attack per shooting phase. Hence, normal models can make a single psychic shooting attack but then cannot fire any other weapons they are carrying.

Exceptions:
As TKE said MCs can fire 2 weapons instead of 1, so can use 2 psychic shooting attacks (if they have 2 different PSA and can use 2 psychic powers) or 1 PSA and a normal gun.
Ahriman can use multiple psychic shooting attacks due to his own special rules

.. I imagine there are more exceptions, but they are few and far between: the vast majority of psychers can't.


Last edited by Tim/Steve; 06-04-12 at 04:47 PM.
Tim/Steve is offline  
 
post #4 of 7 (permalink) Old 06-04-12, 04:02 PM
Member
 
Ryao's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 84
Reputation: 1
Default

Though the Psyker mastery level determines how many psychic powers a charicter may use a turn, it does not say psychic shooting attacks. So your stuck with 1 shooting attack, unless i am mistaken.
Ryao is offline  
post #5 of 7 (permalink) Old 06-04-12, 04:13 PM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
kaboot's Avatar
kaboot's Flag is: Canada
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Canada
Posts: 201
Reputation: 3
Default

awesome, thanks folks!
kaboot is offline  
post #6 of 7 (permalink) Old 06-04-12, 09:01 PM
Senior Member
 
Da Joka's Avatar
Da Joka's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 807
Reputation: 5
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tim/Steve View Post
Exceptions:
As TKE said MCs can fire 2 weapons instead of 1, so can use 2 psychic shooting attacks (if they have 2 different PSA and can use 2 psychic powers) or 1 PSA and a normal gun.
Just two? I thought MCs could fire all of their weapons? Granted two might be the limit as to the number that any MC gets, but still.

Peace, Love, and Mass Destruction

Necrons in 6th Edition W: 28 L: 9 D: 5
Orks in 6th Edition W:9 L:9 D:3

Quote:
Originally Posted by Vaz View Post
F*** that, Barrel rolling monolith all the way.
Da Joka is offline  
post #7 of 7 (permalink) Old 06-04-12, 11:25 PM
Senior Member
 
don_mondo's Avatar
don_mondo's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Woodbridge, VA
Posts: 1,822
Default

Yes, just 2. Page 51, main rulebook.

Don "MONDO"
don_mondo is offline  
Reply

  Lower Navigation
Go Back   Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums > Warhammer 40K > 40k Rules Discussion

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome