Flanking confusion - Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums
40k Rules Discussion Post any Warhammer 40k rules queries and discussions here.

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 32 (permalink) Old 06-02-12, 05:02 PM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 16
Reputation: 1
Default Flanking confusion

hi, ive rather embarressingly been completely thrown off by this outflanking that everyone seems to be doing nowadays, especially with IG. Can any unit outflank? or is it only specific units that can perform this?

I'd faced the servants of the Great Enemy more often than I cared to contemplate, and in my experience it was never wise to underestimate them. Particularly a Ten thousand year old madman, who'd been marinating himself in the raw stuff of Chaos for most of that time.

Caiphas Cain
Commisar Crunch is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 32 (permalink) Old 06-02-12, 05:06 PM
Senior Member
 
don_mondo's Avatar
don_mondo's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Woodbridge, VA
Posts: 1,822
Default

There are a variety of ways for units to gain the ability to Outflank. The two most common are by having the Scout or Infiltrate USR. Some armies have special rules/characters that can also grant the ability to Outflank. So no, it is not an 'any unit' thing, but I could easily put together an IG army where the entire army could Outflank.

Don "MONDO"
don_mondo is offline  
post #3 of 32 (permalink) Old 06-02-12, 05:18 PM
Spanner in the works...
 
spanner94ezekiel's Avatar
spanner94ezekiel's Flag is: United Kingdom
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Breaking the Fourth Wall
Posts: 5,349
Reputation: 28
Default

Yup. For the most part, the only units that can outflank are those with the Scouts USR - see the BRB, where it details the use of Outflank for arriving from reserves. There are occasional exceptions e.g. Captain Al'Rahem or Castellan Creed who can grant Outflank to various units.

The Black Typhoons | Dark Angels 3rd Company | Tharrus Draw's Warband | Dark Angels' Corner | Codices: Marvel Heroes and Marvel Villains

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mossy Toes View Post
Spanner's got some great advice as well... Listen to that wise man.

spanner94ezekiel is offline  
 
post #4 of 32 (permalink) Old 06-02-12, 07:53 PM
Senior Member
 
don_mondo's Avatar
don_mondo's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Woodbridge, VA
Posts: 1,822
Default

Actually, Creed grants Scouts USr, which unlocks the ability to Outflank. Slight difference, but same end result if you want to Outflank the unit he gives it to.

Don "MONDO"
don_mondo is offline  
post #5 of 32 (permalink) Old 06-02-12, 08:30 PM
Senior Member
 
Loki1416's Avatar
Loki1416's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Alabama, USA
Posts: 1,024
Reputation: 12
Default

Not to hijack the thread, but gonna throw another question into it. If you space out two 10 man squads along one flank, one inch from the board edge, does that mean anything coming on from that edge becomes destroyed as it cant be placed as it would be within one inch of an enemy model? I've been playing Nids a lot lately, and I'm trying to figure out how to deny them their out flanking. He uses some unit that he gets to pick a specific piece of terrain that they "come out of" but I stop that by covering terrain with units or massed storm bolter coverage. Just that his weight of numbers is kicking my butt.
Loki1416 is offline  
post #6 of 32 (permalink) Old 06-02-12, 08:50 PM
Spanner in the works...
 
spanner94ezekiel's Avatar
spanner94ezekiel's Flag is: United Kingdom
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Breaking the Fourth Wall
Posts: 5,349
Reputation: 28
Default

Unless the outflanking unit is a vehicle, then yes. It works just like moving on from your own edge, from reserves - you can be destroyed if you can't fit on the board. However if you're a vehicle, you can just tank shock.

The Black Typhoons | Dark Angels 3rd Company | Tharrus Draw's Warband | Dark Angels' Corner | Codices: Marvel Heroes and Marvel Villains

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mossy Toes View Post
Spanner's got some great advice as well... Listen to that wise man.

spanner94ezekiel is offline  
post #7 of 32 (permalink) Old 06-02-12, 08:51 PM
WFB Moderator
 
Tim/Steve's Avatar
Tim/Steve's Flag is: United Kingdom
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Worcestershire, UK
Posts: 8,248
Reputation: 13
Default

If you completely block a board edge then anything that can't 'jump' over the line can't enter play.... but its a really really arsy thing to do and not something I suggest. It also doesn't really work if there are nids on the board- if they cause even the smallest hole in your line then the flankers can enter play and you'll have just handed them a free charge.

This sort of thing made the rounds about a year back when someone reserved their whole army against a Tau gunline... only to have kroot infiltrate along their entire board edge and end the game without a single dice being rolled.

Tim/Steve is offline  
post #8 of 32 (permalink) Old 06-02-12, 10:41 PM
Ancient Relic
 
mcmuffin's Avatar
mcmuffin's Flag is: Ireland
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Waking up from my tomb world
Posts: 2,430
Reputation: 7
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Loki1416 View Post
Not to hijack the thread, but gonna throw another question into it. If you space out two 10 man squads along one flank, one inch from the board edge, does that mean anything coming on from that edge becomes destroyed as it cant be placed as it would be within one inch of an enemy model? I've been playing Nids a lot lately, and I'm trying to figure out how to deny them their out flanking. He uses some unit that he gets to pick a specific piece of terrain that they "come out of" but I stop that by covering terrain with units or massed storm bolter coverage. Just that his weight of numbers is kicking my butt.
Perfectly legit as long as you stay in coherency, and indeed a good move. Not arsy either imo, it is a good tactical option to deny their outflanking, plus you have to be able to do it, if youcan't infiltrate it will take you 3-4 turns. When you are doing it, make sure there is only a tiny gap between the units

Quote:
Originally Posted by McMuffin's Law
As an online discussion about 40k grows longer, the probability of a comparison involving Squats approaches 1.
Quote:
Originally Posted by DeathKlokk View Post
Keep in mind you are arguing "realism" about an army of genetically-altered supermen that are able to shrug off rocket propelled explosive bullets because someone is waving around a cup full of blood that reminds them of their long lost Super Daddy that was killed by there Extra Special-Super Uncle.
Space Wolves Tournament Results W:24 D:8 L:8
Jaws-ing my way to victory

Last edited by mcmuffin; 06-02-12 at 10:45 PM.
mcmuffin is offline  
post #9 of 32 (permalink) Old 06-02-12, 11:11 PM
I Piss in your Cheerios
 
TheKingElessar's Avatar
TheKingElessar's Flag is: United Kingdom
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Northern Ireland
Posts: 7,370
Reputation: 2
Default

If trying to block the board edge, you need to ensure they don't have enough room to fit on in single-file. You need to have your models about 1.8" from each edge, and the full 2" from each other. Obviously you have 2" either side to table edges and between units, it's just easier for arguments on people inexperienced enough to identify this in advance.
TheKingElessar is offline  
post #10 of 32 (permalink) Old 06-03-12, 06:20 AM
Senior Member
 
Archon Dan's Avatar
Archon Dan's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Columbus, Ohio
Posts: 1,825
Reputation: 17
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tim/Steve View Post
If you completely block a board edge then anything that can't 'jump' over the line can't enter play.... but its a really really arsy thing to do and not something I suggest. It also doesn't really work if there are nids on the board- if they cause even the smallest hole in your line then the flankers can enter play and you'll have just handed them a free charge.

This sort of thing made the rounds about a year back when someone reserved their whole army against a Tau gunline... only to have kroot infiltrate along their entire board edge and end the game without a single dice being rolled.
That is a really crazy situation. Amazing.

"Fetch me another plaything. This one seems to have broken." -Urien Rakarth

Space Marine- "This planet is ours, witch."
Eldar- "No ... This planet is theirs ..."
Archon Dan is offline  
Reply

  Lower Navigation
Go Back   Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums > Warhammer 40K > 40k Rules Discussion

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome