BLOOD ANGELS FAQ question - Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums
40k Rules Discussion Post any Warhammer 40k rules queries and discussions here.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 4 (permalink) Old 05-14-12, 12:14 AM Thread Starter
Senior Member
kickboxerdog's Avatar
kickboxerdog's Flag is: England
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: wiltshire
Posts: 1,415
Reputation: 50
Default BLOOD ANGELS FAQ question

hi all just reading throught the FAQ now and came apone sumthing, one of the questions on it is

Q: Can you take a Drop Pod with a 10-man squad and
then put a combat squad in it, deploying the other
combat squad on the table, or leave it in reserve but
not in the Drop Pod? (p32)
A: No, because squads that are placed in reserve may
not break down into combat squads.

sounds simple, but then futher up the page i founf this

Q: When a unit of 10 Space Marines with the Combat
Squad special rule arrives from reserve as two combat
squads, can they move on from, or Deep Strike onto,
two different locations? (p23)
A: Yes.

do these counter eachother as one is saying u cannot split a squad in reserve into combat squads, yet the next question is asking about bring a squad on from reserve as combat squads and deploying sepratly to which the answear is yes, shouldnt the answear be the same as the first question as u cant split a reserve squad into combat squads?
kickboxerdog is offline  
Sponsored Links
post #2 of 4 (permalink) Old 05-14-12, 12:22 AM
I Piss in your Cheerios
TheKingElessar's Avatar
TheKingElessar's Flag is: United Kingdom
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Northern Ireland
Posts: 7,370
Reputation: 2

Quite simply - a unit cannot be half in Reserve, or half in one type of Reserve, or half in a Transport, in Reserve.

A unit can, however, arrive from Reserves as one unit (as in, you roll a single die) and split at the point where it is Deployed (as usual) because a unit is Deployed in arriving from Reserve. For example, a unit of 10 Blood Angel Assault Marines choose to Deep Strike via Jump Pack. You roll one dice for Reserves (re-rolling, via Descent of Angels, if desired) and upon the success you opt to Deep Strike them as Combat Squads in two separate locations on the table, following the normal process for both, now individual, units.

EDIT: Sorry for the interminable delay in answering.
TheKingElessar is offline  
post #3 of 4 (permalink) Old 05-14-12, 12:28 AM Thread Starter
Senior Member
kickboxerdog's Avatar
kickboxerdog's Flag is: England
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: wiltshire
Posts: 1,415
Reputation: 50

aww ok thanks that clears that up for me i did wonder why both the questions were in there.
kickboxerdog is offline  
post #4 of 4 (permalink) Old 05-14-12, 09:57 AM
Senior Member
Archon Dan's Avatar
Archon Dan's Flag is: USA
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Columbus, Ohio
Posts: 1,825
Reputation: 17

The second question you posted is from the most recent FAQ update. But TKE has it right. They aren't split while in reserves but may split at the point where reserves becomes deploying. Another example would be a Tactical squad arriving by Drop Pod and breaking into combat squads, exiting the Drop Pod on opposite sides. One thing you could not do is have half an Assault squad walk-on while the other half deep strikes as you declare how the unit as a whole will arrive when reserving.

"Fetch me another plaything. This one seems to have broken." -Urien Rakarth

Space Marine- "This planet is ours, witch."
Eldar- "No ... This planet is theirs ..."
Archon Dan is offline  

  Lower Navigation
Go Back   Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums > Warhammer 40K > 40k Rules Discussion

Quick Reply

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:


Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome