firing through own unit & line of sight - Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums
40k Rules Discussion Post any Warhammer 40k rules queries and discussions here.

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 11 (permalink) Old 05-13-12, 07:57 AM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
fatmantis's Avatar
fatmantis's Flag is: New Zealand
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Shenzhen china
Posts: 1,755
Reputation: 47
Default firing through own unit & line of sight

so on pg 16 it say Rules for line of sight under own unit "firing models CAN always draw line of sight through their own unit"
now my question is if i have a tac squad disembark then move the rhino sideways infront of them to give them cover, can i still fire through it? but i would give a 4+cover save? seeing how its my own unit? and the rule states above?
just a little confused or am i looking for something thats just not there?
fatmantis is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 11 (permalink) Old 05-13-12, 08:01 AM
Senior Member
 
Archaon18's Avatar
Archaon18's Flag is: England
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Teabagging your corpse!
Posts: 622
Reputation: 1
Default

No, as they become separate units.
The rule is meant to signify adopting firing positions, anyway so you still would never be able to shoot through a rhino. Imagine if you will. You can't.

Lasguns- You can never have too little firepower
My Tactics Blog - ChaosTactica

Quote:
Originally Posted by KingOfCheese View Post
"Hey babe, want me to Power Fist your Pink Horror?"

"Is it ok if my Old One Eye penetrates your Devilfish?"
Archaon18 is offline  
post #3 of 11 (permalink) Old 05-13-12, 08:01 AM
Senior Member
 
khrone forever's Avatar
khrone forever's Flag is: United Kingdom
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: lived on tyran, moved to occulus, then to macragge.DAMN THE TYRANIDS!!! (near derby)
Posts: 2,187
Reputation: 8
Default

no, only models in the units that they are part of can fire though themselves, their transport is a different unit. the same way that it is a different killpoint

40Kprayers and benedictions

see my guard army here

see my Empire army
khrone forever is offline  
 
post #4 of 11 (permalink) Old 05-13-12, 08:06 AM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
fatmantis's Avatar
fatmantis's Flag is: New Zealand
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Shenzhen china
Posts: 1,755
Reputation: 47
Default

well thats what i was thinking, how stupid would it be that you could shoot through a tank haha
fatmantis is offline  
post #5 of 11 (permalink) Old 05-13-12, 08:52 AM
Banned
Magpie_Oz's Flag is: Australia
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Not every shadow, but any shadow
Posts: 7,889
Reputation: 74
Default

You can do it with Purgation Squads but that is entirely different.

You'd be better off staying in the vehicle wouldn't you?
Magpie_Oz is offline  
post #6 of 11 (permalink) Old 05-13-12, 08:53 AM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
fatmantis's Avatar
fatmantis's Flag is: New Zealand
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Shenzhen china
Posts: 1,755
Reputation: 47
Default

im really just trying to find better ways to use especially my tac squads in more efficient ways, and just saw that and wondered
fatmantis is offline  
post #7 of 11 (permalink) Old 05-13-12, 08:59 AM
Banned
Magpie_Oz's Flag is: Australia
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Not every shadow, but any shadow
Posts: 7,889
Reputation: 74
Default

What you can do is put them one behind the other and get a 4+ cover save for the one behind, of course it means a 4+ hindrance if they shoot too.
Magpie_Oz is offline  
post #8 of 11 (permalink) Old 05-13-12, 10:07 AM
Senior Member
 
Archon Dan's Avatar
Archon Dan's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Columbus, Ohio
Posts: 1,825
Reputation: 17
Default

Interestingly enough, TLOS can block a model or two from shooting without granting a cover save at all. Say I have 3 Tactical Marines firing at a single Dark Eldar Wych but there is a Terminator Chaplain(not joined to Tactical unit) between the two units. It is possible to have the models positioned in such a way that one of the Tactical Marines cannot see the target Wych. Therefore only 2 get to shoot but over 50% of the unit can see the target, with no hindrance, so there is no cover.

"Fetch me another plaything. This one seems to have broken." -Urien Rakarth

Space Marine- "This planet is ours, witch."
Eldar- "No ... This planet is theirs ..."
Archon Dan is offline  
post #9 of 11 (permalink) Old 05-13-12, 10:12 AM
Banned
Magpie_Oz's Flag is: Australia
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Not every shadow, but any shadow
Posts: 7,889
Reputation: 74
Default

Moral: 3 men cannot hide behind 1
Magpie_Oz is offline  
post #10 of 11 (permalink) Old 05-13-12, 03:01 PM
Senior Member
 
don_mondo's Avatar
don_mondo's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Woodbridge, VA
Posts: 1,822
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Archon Dan View Post
Therefore only 2 get to shoot but over 50% of the unit can see the target, with no hindrance, so there is no cover.
Also, bear in mind that you only use the firing models to determine numbers/percentages for determination of cover. So if a model can't even see the target unit, just declare it is not firing. Or if half+ the unit would give cover due to something blocking LOS, just declare the 'clear' half plus one fewer than the 'clear' half from the 'obscured half, and voila, no cover.

Don "MONDO"

Last edited by don_mondo; 05-13-12 at 03:03 PM.
don_mondo is offline  
Reply

  Lower Navigation
Go Back   Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums > Warhammer 40K > 40k Rules Discussion

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome