Slow and purposeful and move through cover - Page 2 - Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums
40k Rules Discussion Post any Warhammer 40k rules queries and discussions here.

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #11 of 30 (permalink) Old 04-25-12, 04:41 AM
Banned
Magpie_Oz's Flag is: Australia
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Not every shadow, but any shadow
Posts: 7,889
Reputation: 74
Default

Where is the rule that says a unit that can't get on the board is destroyed, I can't find it?
Magpie_Oz is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #12 of 30 (permalink) Old 04-25-12, 04:42 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 679
Reputation: 1
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lord Azune View Post
Aright, fair enough Don but now just for laughs, post a rule that "could" stop it from moving, other than slow and purposeful.
Chaos dreadnoughts Crazed rule prevents the dreadnought from moving on the roll of a 1.
clever handle is offline  
post #13 of 30 (permalink) Old 04-25-12, 05:02 AM
Senior Member
 
Scythes's Avatar
Scythes's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Sunny Southern California
Posts: 748
Reputation: 1
Default

Wouldn't only Ghazzy be killed, in reserves and deep striking any models that cannoy be placed are destroyed, not the entire unit. If you roll snake eyes snikrot and his kommandos should be able to come on the table, just not Ghazzy since he's not all the way on the table. Or am I way off on that one?


"Some people spend an entire lifetime wondering if they've made a difference in the world. Marines don't have that problem."
-Ronald Reagan
Scythes is offline  
 
post #14 of 30 (permalink) Old 04-25-12, 05:07 AM
Senior Member
 
don_mondo's Avatar
don_mondo's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Woodbridge, VA
Posts: 1,822
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Magpie_Oz View Post
Where is the rule that says a unit that can't get on the board is destroyed, I can't find it?
main rules FAQ:
Q: What happens when a unit arrives from reserves but
is unable to completely move onto the board? (p94)
A: The unit is destroyed and removed from play.

Don "MONDO"
don_mondo is offline  
post #15 of 30 (permalink) Old 04-25-12, 05:12 AM
Senior Member
 
don_mondo's Avatar
don_mondo's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Woodbridge, VA
Posts: 1,822
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Scythes View Post
Wouldn't only Ghazzy be killed, in reserves and deep striking any models that cannoy be placed are destroyed, not the entire unit. If you roll snake eyes snikrot and his kommandos should be able to come on the table, just not Ghazzy since he's not all the way on the table. Or am I way off on that one?
Say what? You're a bit off. If you are unable to place models in a deep-striking unit, the entire UNIT mishaps and if they get a destroyed result, the entire unit is destroyed. You're thinking of disembarking from a vehicle, that's when any models unable to be placed are destroyed.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lord Azune View Post
Aright, fair enough Don but now just for laughs, post a rule that "could" stop it from moving, other than slow and purposeful.
Quote:
Originally Posted by clever handle View Post
Chaos dreadnoughts Crazed rule prevents the dreadnought from moving on the roll of a 1.
Yep. Also Wraithsight, Servitor Mindlock, don't recall if BA turbocharged engines still do so or not. I'm sure there are others that I can't recall right now.

Don "MONDO"
don_mondo is offline  
post #16 of 30 (permalink) Old 04-25-12, 05:19 AM
Senior Member
 
Scythes's Avatar
Scythes's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Sunny Southern California
Posts: 748
Reputation: 1
Default

Ok, you're right, I was mixing up rules. Looks like you're screwed becuase the unit would lose MtC due to Ghazzy, and because of him if you roll snake eyes they all die. He's a bit of a liability but it can't be all that often you roll snake eyes. Calculated risk I guess.


"Some people spend an entire lifetime wondering if they've made a difference in the world. Marines don't have that problem."
-Ronald Reagan
Scythes is offline  
post #17 of 30 (permalink) Old 04-25-12, 12:58 PM
Senior Member
 
brianlynchmob's Avatar
brianlynchmob's Flag is: Canada
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: London, ON
Posts: 192
Reputation: 3
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Scythes View Post
Ok, you're right, I was mixing up rules. Looks like you're screwed becuase the unit would lose MtC due to Ghazzy, and because of him if you roll snake eyes they all die. He's a bit of a liability but it can't be all that often you roll snake eyes. Calculated risk I guess.
tripple ones, you get 3d6 when ghazzy moves with commandos.
brianlynchmob is offline  
post #18 of 30 (permalink) Old 04-25-12, 12:59 PM
Senior Moderator
 
DeathKlokk's Avatar
DeathKlokk's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Nashville, TN
Posts: 5,719
Reputation: 20
Default

Also, Snikrot is on a 40mm base as well so the unit doesn't even have to have Ghaz to suffer a "mishap". It just needs to enter play through terrain and roll the three 1s.

Strange, but not a Stranger.
DeathKlokk is offline  
post #19 of 30 (permalink) Old 04-25-12, 01:19 PM
Senior Member
ItsPug's Flag is: United Kingdom
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Enniskillen, Northern Ireland
Posts: 1,115
Reputation: 4
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by don_mondo View Post
Yep. Also Wraithsight, Servitor Mindlock, don't recall if BA turbocharged engines still do so or not. I'm sure there are others that I can't recall right now.
BA vehicles are just plain fast now, but IG Salamanders still use the old turbo-charged rule.

Overall Tournament Game Results W:78 D:22 L:32
ItsPug is offline  
post #20 of 30 (permalink) Old 04-25-12, 01:40 PM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
CGall10's Avatar
CGall10's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 150
Reputation: 1
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DeathKlokk View Post
Also, Snikrot is on a 40mm base as well so the unit doesn't even have to have Ghaz to suffer a "mishap". It just needs to enter play through terrain and roll the three 1s.
The point is that they are always moving through terrain, even when in open ground. (I'm assuming you understand this and just misspoke. Only bringing it up for clarity sake)
CGall10 is offline  
Reply

  Lower Navigation
Go Back   Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums > Warhammer 40K > 40k Rules Discussion

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome