Yet another Turbo Penetrator question. - Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums
40k Rules Discussion Post any Warhammer 40k rules queries and discussions here.

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 7 (permalink) Old 04-20-12, 07:09 PM Thread Starter
Senior Member
Arcane's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 1,811
Reputation: 13
Default Yet another Turbo Penetrator question.

I did a search and couldn't find a definitive answer for this. If a Vindicair fires on a vehicles, it's 4d6 rending (FAQed) but does it also get the str 3? The rule says the armor pen is 4d6 but that isn't the strength, which apears to be 3 due to Sniper.

And to make matters worse, what if it's fired at armor which negates extra D6 for armor pen rolls? If it's just 4d6 and not str 3 + 4d6 then the additional D6 do not seem to be "extra" but the actual strength of the shot.

Turbo Pen has to be the single most confusing weapon in all of 40k, what with it's chicken and egg double wounding.
Arcane is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 7 (permalink) Old 04-20-12, 07:28 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 703
Reputation: 2
Default

It is str 3 but all 4 of the 6 dice are rending. so add +d3 for each 6 you roll.

As for the other, no idea.

Hive Fleet Tarasque/The Black Legion of Khemri
Battles: 13/3
Wins: 8/2
Minor Wins: 0/0
Minor Losses: 1/0
Losses: 4/1


Quote:
Originally Posted by D-A-C View Post
Tzeentch runs GW.
Lord Azune is offline  
post #3 of 7 (permalink) Old 04-20-12, 07:57 PM
Senior Member
 
capnmoe's Avatar
capnmoe's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Illinois
Posts: 169
Reputation: 2
Default

Firing at vehicles like Wave Serpents that have the Energy Field rule only allow you to use 1 D6 for pen so its useless for the Vindicare unless he's shooting its back armor. I guess he could possible rend up to a 12 and glance but its unlikely.
capnmoe is offline  
 
post #4 of 7 (permalink) Old 04-20-12, 09:10 PM
Senior Member
ItsPug's Flag is: United Kingdom
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Enniskillen, Northern Ireland
Posts: 1,115
Reputation: 4
Default

you wouldn't be able to rend as that involves rolling extra dice.

Overall Tournament Game Results W:78 D:22 L:32
ItsPug is offline  
post #5 of 7 (permalink) Old 04-20-12, 10:46 PM
Senior Member
 
capnmoe's Avatar
capnmoe's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Illinois
Posts: 169
Reputation: 2
Default

Touche' salesman.
capnmoe is offline  
post #6 of 7 (permalink) Old 04-21-12, 08:30 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 423
Reputation: 7
Default

As the Exitus weapons are both Sniper weapons, they count as strength 3 against vehicles, they simply role 4 dice for armor pen rather than the normal 1. And with the rending rule, they have a maximum armor penetration role of .... 39

And yes, the wording on that rule is reeeaally bad

The Grey Knights: Because Huzzah for Blind Faith and Unreasonable Hatred!

Last edited by Routine; 04-21-12 at 08:35 AM.
Routine is offline  
post #7 of 7 (permalink) Old 04-21-12, 02:15 PM
Senior Moderator
 
DeathKlokk's Avatar
DeathKlokk's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Nashville, TN
Posts: 5,719
Reputation: 20
Default

Yes, That's what she calls it.

Strange, but not a Stranger.
DeathKlokk is offline  
Reply

  Lower Navigation
Go Back   Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums > Warhammer 40K > 40k Rules Discussion

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome