Inquisitor Coteaz and Transports - Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums
40k Rules Discussion Post any Warhammer 40k rules queries and discussions here.

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 8 (permalink) Old 04-14-12, 05:55 AM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 423
Reputation: 7
Default Inquisitor Coteaz and Transports

If Coteaz is embarked on a transport such as a Chimera, is his "I've been expecting you" range measured from anywhere on the hull of the vehicle?

The Grey Knights: Because Huzzah for Blind Faith and Unreasonable Hatred!
Routine is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 8 (permalink) Old 04-14-12, 06:03 AM
Banned
Magpie_Oz's Flag is: Australia
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Not every shadow, but any shadow
Posts: 7,889
Reputation: 74
Default

No you measure from the fire points of the vehicle

But the FAQ say that you cannot use the vehicle fire points to draw LOS for special abilities and it might be said that the "been expecting you" special ability requires an LOS to be traced independent of the shooting attack.

Last edited by Magpie_Oz; 04-14-12 at 06:34 AM.
Magpie_Oz is offline  
post #3 of 8 (permalink) Old 04-15-12, 02:39 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 358
Reputation: 3
Default

Dude dont answer questions unless you have quotes because chances are if your just telling how you think it is then your wrong just like now.


Quote:
Embarking
A unit can embark onto a vehicle by moving each
model to within 2" of its access points in the
Movement phase. The whole unit must be able to
embark – if some models are out of range, the unit
must stay outside. When the unit embarks, it is
removed from the table and placed aside, making a
note or otherwise marking that the unit is being
transported (we find that placing one of the unit’s
models on top of the transport works well!). If the
players need to measure a range involving the
embarked unit (except for its shooting), this range is
measured to or from the vehicle’s hull.

• If the vehicle moved before its passengers got
aboard, it may not move any further (including
pivoting on the spot).
• If the vehicle has not moved before its passengers
got aboard, it can move as normal.
Pg 66

All abilities that measure how far you are from a model are measured from any point on the hull when your embarked on a vehichle.
So before the recent GK FAQ, ive been expecting you was measured from the hull of the tank. You needed fire points to shoot out of and a fire point to measure line of sight to coteaz but it worked.

Unfortunately the Rulebook FAQ said...

Quote:
Q: Can models embarked upon a vehicle use its fire
points to draw line of sight to a unit to use special
rules or wargear (other than shooting)? (p66)
A: No.
This means that Ive been expecing you is still measured from the hull but the firepoints cannot be used to draw line of sight so you cannot use the ability.
If it was an open topped transport i think it would be a different story but GKs cant get one.

So short answer is yes but you cant do it any more.
paddlepop lion is offline  
 
post #4 of 8 (permalink) Old 04-15-12, 03:08 AM
Banned
Magpie_Oz's Flag is: Australia
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Not every shadow, but any shadow
Posts: 7,889
Reputation: 74
Default

I actually thought he was meaning the range of the shooting bit, I read the question wrong, my bad. Either way the whole thing is irrelevant as you can't do it at all.

Which seems a bit daft given you can do Psychic Powers from a vehicle.

I have seen it debated that even OT vehicles don't allow you too as well which seems even dafter

Last edited by Magpie_Oz; 04-15-12 at 03:32 AM.
Magpie_Oz is offline  
post #5 of 8 (permalink) Old 04-15-12, 04:20 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 358
Reputation: 3
Default

Yea i think its kind of random that it doesnt work. I cant think of an ability that req line of sight that isnt a shooting power that is broken enough to warrent nerfing it inside a vehichle.
Psyker battle squads are pretty good but there better out of a tank.
paddlepop lion is offline  
post #6 of 8 (permalink) Old 04-20-12, 05:01 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 398
Reputation: 2
Default

I guess I don't understand why Coteaz can't do the I've been expecting you rule, even after reading the above.

If you measure from the hull to determine if the rule is used. Then you use the firepoint to shoot (which is allowed), why would you need to draw any form of LOS for any other reason???

Wife: "How much do you have invested in these ... miniatures?"

Me: "I don't think invested is the right word."
Suijin is offline  
post #7 of 8 (permalink) Old 04-20-12, 05:23 PM
Senior Member
 
Aramoro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 7,314
Reputation: 5
Default

Because the wording of the rule is you must be in range AND within his Line of Sight which you can never be if you're embarked in a vehicle.

Aramoro

"Violence isn't the answer, I just like getting it wrong on purpose"

Sally Forth! - My Gaming Blog
Aramoro is offline  
post #8 of 8 (permalink) Old 04-20-12, 05:45 PM
Banned
VanquisherMBT's Flag is: England
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: england
Posts: 351
Reputation: 1
Default

I guess he sits in the dark enclosed vehicle....just sitting....twirling his thumbs...then when the chaos terminators start ripping the back door off, dragging it from its hinges with power fists and throwing it 20 feet away they ask "expect us?" His reply is simply......."fuck, didn't see that coming"
VanquisherMBT is offline  
Reply

  Lower Navigation
Go Back   Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums > Warhammer 40K > 40k Rules Discussion

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome