Area Terrain - Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums
40k Rules Discussion Post any Warhammer 40k rules queries and discussions here.

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 22 (permalink) Old 03-13-07, 09:53 AM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
jigplums's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 2,602
Reputation: 5
Default Area Terrain

Right i was speaking to my store manager who is also an offical events judge and he went to a briefing a few weekends ago and was told that you cannot see through more than 6" of terrain INCLUDING the one you are in.

Help me to explain to him why this is so Wrong, using rulebook ref's etc.

Check out my gamer Blog
http://gamergeekery.blogspot.co.uk/2...rs-in-40k.html

Jezlad "I actually commented that Jigplums list was the least scary list I faced. Then took a pasting"
http://www.coolminiornot.com/artist/jigplums
http://www.coolminiornot.com/160095
jigplums is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 22 (permalink) Old 03-13-07, 10:02 AM
Powered by Squig Tea
 
Viscount Vash's Avatar
Viscount Vash's Flag is: England
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: In da Toolz cupboard in da Mekshop
Posts: 7,589
Reputation: 53
Default

Im a bit confused by your question Jigplums,
what type of terrian?
Woods, buildings etc or is he going on about Cities of Death?

Bring back WYSWIG is what I say and end the confusion.
Viscount Vash is offline  
post #3 of 22 (permalink) Old 03-13-07, 10:37 AM
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 333
Default

Probably the bit where it says about seeing 6" into AND out of area terrain IIRC?
Oh and WYSIWYG is rubbish IMO as its mostly down to opinions, penalises creative modelling and causes no end of arguments. Area all the way.
anathema is offline  
 
post #4 of 22 (permalink) Old 03-13-07, 10:54 AM
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 801
Default

Models cannot see other models if they are over 6" into terrain. It makes ense, therefore, that models cannot see 6" through terrain at all.
uberschveinen is offline  
post #5 of 22 (permalink) Old 03-13-07, 11:30 AM
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 131
Default

I think he means cumulativeely adding terrain like fantasy - i.e. a squad in 5" of terrain shooting at another squad 5" into terrain can't because that adds up to 10" of terrain. I've run into this one before and there is absolutely no precedent for it in the rulebook at all.
stompzilla is offline  
post #6 of 22 (permalink) Old 03-13-07, 11:37 AM
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 333
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by uberschveinen
Models cannot see other models if they are over 6" into terrain. It makes ense, therefore, that models cannot see 6" through terrain at all.
Que? What's that got to do with the question? I agree that you can't see through terrain pieces unless you are one size class bigger, no matter how narrow they are. However
the point is that the manager is saying that you can see 6" into or you can see 6" out of terrain, but you can't do both. This is balls, quite frankly.
anathema is offline  
post #7 of 22 (permalink) Old 03-13-07, 12:36 PM
Ex Mod.
 
cccp's Avatar
cccp's Flag is: Great Britain
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Essex, UK
Posts: 4,245
Reputation: 1
Default

iv never played the game using the cumulative terrain thing. it seems pretty stupid.
cccp is offline  
post #8 of 22 (permalink) Old 03-13-07, 01:35 PM
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 801
Default

I'm not saying it's the rule. I'm just saying that it's a logical progression.
uberschveinen is offline  
post #9 of 22 (permalink) Old 03-13-07, 01:46 PM
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 333
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by uberschveinen
I'm not saying it's the rule. I'm just saying that it's a logical progression.
:?
anathema is offline  
post #10 of 22 (permalink) Old 03-13-07, 07:35 PM
Senior Member
 
don_mondo's Avatar
don_mondo's Flag is: USA
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Woodbridge, VA
Posts: 1,822
Default Re: Area Terrain

Quote:
Originally Posted by jigplums
Right i was speaking to my store manager who is also an offical events judge and he went to a briefing a few weekends ago and was told that you cannot see through more than 6" of terrain INCLUDING the one you are in.

Help me to explain to him why this is so Wrong, using rulebook ref's etc.
Geee, I wish we had "official events judge"s here in the US. Anyways, unless they actually FAQ it, he's wrong. The only time you would be limited to a total of 6" is when you are both in the same piece of area terrain. They wouldn't need to qualify that if it was 6" combined. And while I'm not "official", I did run the Baltimore Games Day tourneys for the last three years...................

Don "MONDO"
don_mondo is offline  
Reply

  Lower Navigation
Go Back   Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums > Warhammer 40K > 40k Rules Discussion

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Wargaming Forum and Wargamer Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome